We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK budget accommodation”
Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Espana
Ranked #12 of 57 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This is a good choice from the point of view of the location and what you get for the price - we had a smaller room on the ground floor - it was small, but had A/C, TV (which you don't actually need on Galapgos) and nice bathroom - more than engough taking into account that you come to your room only to sleep. The breakfast was terrible - we only ate it once - first they delivered eggs without asking if we want them. Then butter, jam, tea and finally bread! It took about 20 minutes so the eggs were obviously cold. You can have much better breakfast in cafeterias around the city.
Before coming to the islands we called from Guayaquil to book a room there and they gave us a very high price. We thought that it's too much and didn't book it. When we arrived to Puerto Ayora we were looking for accommodation and checking different hotels/hostels and thought we would skip Espana as it is so expensive, but entered and asked a price and they gave us much lower price! On the phone they told us that it's difficult to find accommodation and that we should book and send them money to confirm booking! So they are not really honest... But the hotel itself is nice - cool patio with hammocks, nice location - close to the main street, clean rooms.
I would recommend it in overall.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

Hotel has good rooms, a average ecuadorian continental breakfast and they offer day-tours. So its a decent option in Puerto Ayoro, Galapagos. The female staff is ok but could be a bit more hospitable and friendly.

But the young guy at the reception in the morning is probably the most unfriendly staff we have ever seen. He obviously doesn't like customers and he tried his best for us to dislike him. Everything small thing we asked fir was just; "No no no"
Totally unsuitable for his job, except if his job was to just sit behind his laptop all the time and be very rude to customers.

We would never go to this place again just because of him!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Hotel Espana is a great budget hotel within short walking distance (2 blocks) to the main street of Puerto Ayora. Room was clean, bathroom normal budget style and breakfast was filling. Only gripe was the wifi did not reach the second floor and above and had to go to the mosquito filled lobby to use the internet. Paying extra for air conditioning is definitely worth it as it is obviously nice and cool and drowns out any hallway noises-Room 12 is a good choice.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
Thank travellerLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Luckily, we were only staying here for one night. The first impression wasn't bad; the location was pretty good, and the courtyard at the entrance was nice and relaxing. Our view changed when we got into the room, however. The bathroom wasn't completely walled off from the bedroom, which was strange, and there were problems with the water heater that we hadn't experienced at other hotels in the Galápagos. The room was also not extremely clean, and there were some bugs as well. All in all, there are many other options in Puerto Ayora, and I would not recommend Hotel España.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenandrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Very centrally located, this hotel is the best budget option we found in Puerto Ayora. It is clean and tidy and safe.
We booked in advance and were quoted $40 per night for a double room. When we arrived we found that a non-a/c room is $30 so the staff were happy to switch us. We looked around for better accommodation options in town but found this to be the best so we extended our stay here.
There is satellite tv in each room. Breakfast is $3 - scrambled eggs, instant coffee, croissants and juice concentrate. It's ok but for a little extra you can get a nicer breakfast in one of the cafes.
The rooms were cleaned very well each day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brobens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Nice place in a friendly neighborhood, cool little shops nearby, even a laundry down the street that washed, pressed and packaged our HUGE bag of laundry for $12.00!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADKMAN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We planned a stay at Hotel Espana as a quick overnight stay between arriving on the Galapagos Islands and heading out on a cruise.

We arranged to have a "driver" pick us up at the airport. For the price... you could probably do it yourself and save some good cash, but it was nice not having to struggle to get your luggage on the bus at the airport and have him do it. (Cars don't go onto isla Baltra)

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Esther, the owner who explained all the various amenities (A/C and TV were all we really cared about) and showed us up to our rooms. As a group of 5 we stayed in two rooms - one a triple and one a double. I can only speak to the triple, but it was nice and the A/C worked really well - meaning it was a great escape from the hot humid weather outside. Beds were comfortable. The view - nonexisant, but we didn't book it for the view. It was about a 2 block walk to the "Tourist Strip" of Puerto Ayora where we could wander a bit and enjoy the environment. Esther gave us the helpful tip that we should go AWAY from the tourist strip for a cheaper/good meal. Admittedly, it looked a little scary up the other way, but Puero Ayora is actually a wonderfully safe area of Ecuador!

My one gripe while there was our shower... pressure was good, but when you turned it up, the water started spraying out the SIDES of the shower head, rather than through the nozzle - when we brought this up the next morning, Esther dispatached someone to deal with it. I imagine it was better for the next folks.

The only other problem was pre-booking the hotel. You had to pay by Western Union or Moneygram. Both of these services charge a significant surcharge for their use. It would be REALLY nice if you could use Paypal or even better (but probably unlikely) a regular Credit Card.

On our departure, Esther called the taxi and then made absolutely sure that they sent a bigger truck to take us (and was quite vocal with the company). She was a superb help!

Overall, if I were staying multiple days in Puerto Ayora, I would be happy to stay here and have them help with the bookings of various day trips etc. Very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DragonSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#13 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
98 reviews
0 mi away
Mi Caleta Inn
Mi Caleta Inn
#7 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Galapagos Best Hostel
Galapagos Best Hostel
#8 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
375 reviews
0 mi away
Coloma Galapagos Hostal
Coloma Galapagos Hostal
#3 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Germania Casa de Hospedaje
Germania Casa de Hospedaje
#15 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Address: Tomas de Berlanga and Islas Plazas, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: £24 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espana 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing