We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A BUDGET HOTEL IN PUERTO AYORA THAT IS DIFFICULT TO BEAT”
Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Espana
Ranked #14 of 57 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 May 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Espana from April 6th to the 10th and again on April 17th. Our rooms had one double bed and a single bed, air conditioning, TV, private bath, hot water, windows, and daily maid service. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable, and the air conditioning was a blessing. The air conditioning in the 2nd room had a rattle, but we didn't complain as we slept like logs.

Esther, the front desk receptionist and concierge, speaks excellent english and was always friendly, smiling, and polite. She provided us with a wealth of informaton about points of interest on the island within walking distance of the hotel. She also arranged for us a wonderful tour of the highlands with a taxi driver that she knew.

The Espana offers a very good breakfast for $4 that includes eggs, bread, juice, and coffee.

The hotel is close to downtown and the Galapagos National Park (a 15 minute walk) where we would go early in the mornings to see the giant tortoises wake up. It is also close to the "Agua Galapagos" distribution center where we could purchase a jug of drinking water for only one dollar.

Although we always seemed to be on the go, many guests took advantage on the common area in the lobby to chill out on the hammocks and chairs available to all.

We would return to the Espana in a heartbeat for a future stay in Puerto Ayora.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HikingBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kathrinw89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank ILAB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: habitaciones de los pisos mas bajos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rama13756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Gabi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Ayora
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
321 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Crossman
Hotel Crossman
#21 of 25 in Santa Cruz
42 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galapagos Best Hostel
Galapagos Best Hostel
#8 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Coloma Galapagos Hostal
Coloma Galapagos Hostal
#3 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
118 reviews
0 mi away
Mi Caleta Inn
Mi Caleta Inn
#7 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
93 reviews
0 mi away
Hostal Gardner Galapagos
Hostal Gardner Galapagos
#11 of 47 in Puerto Ayora
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Address: Tomas de Berlanga and Islas Plazas, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: £31 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espana 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing