We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel, has the basic”
Review of Palmeras Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palmeras Hotel
Ranked #43 of 54 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“OK Hotel, has the basic”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The hotel is well located and clean. Accomodations are very simple. Restrooms are small in the rooms. If you are looking for comfort, this is not the place. Overall it is an OK place to stay, but simple. Service is OK, for example, the air conditioning in our room did not work the first night. We reported this and next day it was working OK. They did not provide enough toilet paper, but diid so when asked. Location is very good since it is within a 5 minute walk from the main port, restaurants and bars.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 1Arlyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    13
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
9
10
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cascade, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
284 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This hotel caters to groups. We were part of a group and were treated well. The meals didn't vary a whole lot, but they were tasty and you could go back for seconds, if still hungry. The rooms were very small, but clean. The rooms near the Discotique were quite noisey at night, avoid them. The pool was very warm (over 80 degrees F). The location was good. A very short walk to "downtown". For a group this place was fine. For a couple or single, maybe not so good.

Room Tip: Away from the Discotique and away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donandbobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverkip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

After visiting several islands in the Galapagos Archipielago, you may end up in the island of SantaCruz, which is the closest to the airport of Baltra. This hotel offered an excellent solution for our stay and helped us to arrange a couple of island tours as well. It is very well located in the south end of the island, thus making the visit to the Darwin Station Park at walking distance possible.

Room Tip: The ideal place to end you cruising week and get on time to the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rsalmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The room was okay however the noise levels were terrible. A disco was going on in the building or just outside. I was woken at 6am by chairs scraping on the dining room floor below, oh continuously. I think this is an expensive hotel for what you get. The pool was also very murky, breakfast was poor and the attendent was oh so miserable. The cleaner tried to evict us from our room at 9am..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy297533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Ayora hotels

Seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night with expenses paid by LAN, since our flight was oversold. The first room they gave us smelled bad, so we asked to change rooms. The second and third rooms the AC didn't work. Rooms are old and look dirty. I very rarely write poor reviews, but this hotel crossed the line. Avoid it if you can.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattleResident999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Ayora
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#9 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#10 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silberstein
Hotel Silberstein
#7 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Galapagos Paradise
Hotel Galapagos Paradise
#39 of 59 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isla Sol by Hotel Solymar
Isla Sol by Hotel Solymar
#38 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmeras Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmeras Hotel

Property: Palmeras Hotel
Address: Thomas de Berlanga s/n | Islas Plazas, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmeras Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Palmeras Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmeras Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing