We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible "hotel"”
Review of Palmeras Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palmeras Hotel
Ranked #42 of 53 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible "hotel"”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a disaster, if you pay USD 15 per night is fine, but the average rate is USD 100, the "restaurant" is a place where you have to take an old tray and go to ask for food like in a military school, the rooms are very uncomfortable and extremely noisy, there is a disco just next to the "hotel" which will not allow you to close even one eye.
The owners or persons in charge, Ana and Nelly are extremely rude and impolite, they organize tours as well, company called Sevitur, please do not buy anything with them because they will charge you 5 times more than the usual price. Like USD 100 to take you to a free natural park ten minutes walking distance from there.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Santiago V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    13
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
9
10
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

First off, let me say that I am used to smaller European sized rooms, so I did not find these smaller rooms to be confining. The room was adequate for sleeping and bathing, and the room I stayed in was not near any activity. The internet was useless, which I am sure has been mentioned in other reviews, but I looked at it like "I am in the frickin Galapagos... I don't need the internet for 5 days...". The kids traveling in our group, however, did not have the same viewpoint. It is close to the coast and pier and several restaurants within a block or so. I don't think I am a very particular traveler, so this place suited me just fine!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The interner connection provided by the WiFi of the hotel was terrible.
Gmail replied that it is sensing a slow connection.
Note - the WiFi reception was very strong, it is just that the internet connection is 1995 speed.
At the end that was not fixed and a very small discount was offered.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank YYK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Ayora hotels

California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
1,184 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

O.K. Avoid rooms 401 ++ above the restaurant and the Disco. Breakfast with lot's of goodies starts at 6:30 prior to your island trips. I stayed 4 nights in room 113 (single bed, nice and clean with small TV - Spanish) the room was below the
staircase and flooring to the hotel restaurant (2nd floor), lot's of running school kids very noisy - shouting etc. at 10:30 p.m. I tried to find the supervisor to have them intervene, since the reception desk night clerk didn't seam to care. It was quiet after 11 p.m. I only recommend this hotel if they lower the prices $100 for two is a joke, (I paid $50 for the single which is high too) and you can view the room including location prior to booking. There is a 4 story building on the backside of the hotel. the construction has stopped as for so many other failed projects in the neighborhood. I had to move from a very bad hostel that was booked by "Joybe Travel" in town. Despite the fact that I was told I would be staying in a Hotel. The local tourist office helped me with a small refund. MeuterMedia

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to Disco!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeuterMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed here with a group in February, and found it generally adequate for its price class (the group trip was on a tight budget) - especially as everything is fairly expensive in Galápagos … as one might expect for a place 600 miles offshore. We stayed there for a few nights mid-week … which, perhaps was the reason we had no issues with the disco noise others have reported. Location was good. Food was generally adequate and palatable … wouldn't go any further than that. One morning, they had insufficient breakfast for our horde of hungry teenagers, which caused some issues with the group around mid-day. My room was adequate; air-con worked (though noisily) and the bed was clean and comfortable. HOWEVER .. the bathroom situation was close to disgusting. As is the case in many parts of the world (not just Latin America, and in high-end hotels as well as this type) plumbing is not designed to carry toilet tissue, so one is asked to put it in a basket next to the toilet. That's not the issue … the issue here was that, instead of a can with some kind of cover, this place had a completely open wastebasket with just a plastic bag liner. Add to that the odd fact that the exhaust from the air conditioner blew through a dropped ceiling into the bathroom, and the situation was close to nauseating. I needed to keep the bathroom door shut all the time, and when I opened it … Also, the "sliding" doors on the shower enclosure were completely nonfunctional, meaning water spilled on the bathroom tile, which made it extremely slippery. Would not repeat.

Room Tip: Find a room somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YussellMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen Park, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

the noise caused by the discotheque is terrible, I claimed in reception but they said is the discotheque from the hotel, so there was nothing they could do. People were not kind and didnt care what was happening. Also the drunk people made a lot of noise screaming outside the discotheque.
the breakfast wasnt nice, you can have something better in places near the hotel.
i needed a tea at night but the restaurant was closed.... so I was very desapointed and next day changed to another hotel. Make yourself a favour and dont stay here.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms located in the back of the hotel, not the ones located close to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victoria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed here in March 2013. They had dinner on-site which was good food (home made flavor). They also had a pool on the property. I had an issue with my toilet which was promptly resolved. The bathroom was a bit cramp in my room, however, my dad's room had a much more spacious bathroom. Overall it was a fine. It had close proximity to a nice 'downtown' area and the dock to take boats to other islands in the Galapagos. I would stay there again.
A word of caution, if you are on a higher floor, be careful walking up and down the steps as they are a bit steep and sometimes wet from rain.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinGfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#9 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galapagos Tortuga Bay
Galapagos Tortuga Bay
#16 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Solymar
Hotel Solymar
#5 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castro
Hotel Castro
#20 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Lobo de Mar
Grand Hotel Lobo de Mar
#14 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmeras Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmeras Hotel

Property: Palmeras Hotel
Address: Thomas de Berlanga s/n | Islas Plazas, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmeras Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Palmeras Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmeras Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing