We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little b&b in the heart of Puerto Ayora”
Review of La Peregrina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Peregrina
Ranked #9 of 56 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We had a great time at La Peregrina, the location is right next to the fish markets, with plenty of restaurants nearby. We booked as part of a package with Scuba Iguana, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Rooms were spacious and very clean, and shower was great! (just what you need after a day of diving!) breakfast was also ample, and the staff were friendly and courteous.

We recommend La Peregrina as a mid range b and b in Puerto Ayora.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon and Zita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

Absolutely wonderful and warm little Bed & Breakfast. The owners both speak English and are extremely hospitable. The rooms were nicely decorated with huge bathrooms and lovely hot showers. Hammocks hanging outside for relaxing or snoozing. They also serve a good breakfast consisting of fruit juice, fruit, scrambled or fried eggs with fresh toasted bread. The price is very reasonable in comparison with the inflated hotel prices on the island and it is on the main street, close to the fishing dock. I highly recommend this personable Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trudence07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The staff is friendly, the breakfast was good. The rooms simple and clean! Location is perfect! We loved to stay here and would recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanwakeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My wife and I arrived at this place with some low expectations, but it was great. The breakfast was good and they provide help and guidence through the area. Good price and a great place to crash after a long day of adventure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pepingrillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful with us. They do speak some English. Rooms were incredibly clean and the beds were the best we had on our stay. Wifi worked in the room and there was always hot water. There was also a brand new quite ac, water available for drinking and there were some very clean sheets on our bed. I have nothing bad to say about this place. I actually recommend it to a few travellers who were wandering around looking for a place to stay. When I saw them the next day they thanked me.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antman1823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed one night here before heading over to Isabella Island. Perfect location!!! We paid the double rate of 52$ a night and it was worth it. Our room was very clean. However, you have to remember that this is not a 5star resort. There are some scuffs on the walls and some dust on the ceilings. However, the bathrooms was bleached out daily and the beds were as clean as home. The rooms have some kind of skylight style lighting, which is kinda cool. It was the first room on the left when you walk inside the common area. Once we returned from Isabella, we booked 4 more nights here. Room #1 was small and close to the remodeling side of the B&B, so we transfered back into the rooms opening into the common area. Johnathan, who is about 20 (but looks way younger) is the nephew of the owner and did an EXCELLENT job with helping us with whatever we needed. He speaks some English, which was a plus. Marylyn (employed worker, non family) was a super cook/cleaner and very curtous in her duties. Located right across from the ocean and within steps of one of the main drag. Will stay here when we return.

Downside: airconditioning was a bit loud, but nothing we could not handle. There was some construction going on, but again, it will only improve this wonderful place!

For those compaining about staff not being around: This is a B&B, not a full hotel. When we arrived after our Isabella adventure, the office was closed up, but we just walked around back and knocked on the owners door. She came out, happy to be of service, even tho I had interupted her dinner. She got us all settled in and made sure we had everything we needed. Also, I have not seen one cockroach in the entire week we have been here. I did however, see a few carpenter bees in the front garden and some type of black and orange beetle on the path.

After staying in Quito this place was a blessing! For the Galapagos, you are not going to find anything better in this price range. Breakfast was included between 7am and 9am. Check out was 10:30 (there are signs posted in all rooms that discuss this). Also, a plus was a great book exchange in the common area, along with a station to fill your water bottles with clean/filtered drinking water.

Room Tip: Rooms in the common area are bigger, and seem cleaner. Rooms on the #1 side are beside a wall that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I had a love-hate relationship with La Peregrina during the five nights I spent there. The absolute best thing about it was the location - it's right in the middle of Puerto Ayora, surrounded by restaurants, cafes and shops, and just across the street from the ocean. Moreover, it's a few steps off the main road so it's quiet and you don't hear the traffic. I loved being so close to everything at this hotel. I had a single room which was a good size, with a large bathroom and a shower that always had hot water. Those are the good points. I did however have an ongoing problem with noise in the room, because the walls are very thin and I was always woken up by people walking and talking outside. I had to keep the air conditioning going to drown them out. Also, the staff do not know much English, which made communicating with them almost impossible. Breakfast only seemed to be served within a two-hour window, so whenever I got up early to go scuba diving or day-tripping it was never available. However, despite the noise, it was a relaxing place to be and guests often make use of the many hammocks around the hotel. For the price, you will not find better in Puerto Ayora.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs or sleeping pills. I had a lot of trouble with noise outside at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Solymar
Hotel Solymar
#5 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Peregrina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Peregrina

Address: Avenue Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: £55 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Peregrina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your La Peregrina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Peregrina Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing