We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hostel near fish market”
Review of La Peregrina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Peregrina
Ranked #10 of 54 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cheap hostel near fish market”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Cheap hostel near the fish market surrounded by the nice garden. Rooms are not very clean, but steel pretty comfortable. AC did not work quite well.If you need just the place where you can sleep and take shower, it is the good choice. There are quite many ants in rooms and the smell from the fish market can be not pleasant. If you are on a budget, it is a good choice. If you can spend more, it is better to find another option.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    60
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
16
70
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Galapagos is an extremely expensive place, but this bed and breakfast was really affordable and quite nice. They cleaned the room everyday and there was even air conditioning. The breakfast was delicious every morning and the location was perfect, right near everything you would want to visit. The people who ran the place were really sweet and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland, ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here last November and couldn't have been more pleased. Our first room, in the back, was rather small but when we requested to move we were given a very spacious, updated room. Breakfast each morning was delicious. The best thing about our stay, though, was the host family. Very welcoming and helpful. Made our trip to Galapagos unforgettable!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blrn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eysturoy, Faroe Islands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

First to those who are complaining......did you pay the same as you would have done for a five-star hotel in Paris.... NO and NO... If I can ever afford going to Galapagos again or if I hear of anyone going... I would recommend them to stay at La Peregrina.... My Spanish is zero, and they speak English here, which is just another +.
I am a 50+ backpacker, I go for a single room, clean, private shower, quiet, no street noise...and because I travel a lot, I have a budget to consider....I got all I was looking for here

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anderseneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL, USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Building is a little dated, but everything works just fine. Not very sound proof, but neither are many other equatorial structures. Location cannot be any better due to entrance off the main street, but building tucked away from being exposed to much of the noise. Staff family is very polite and speaks most eloquent English I've ever heard. Excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dnkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Belait, Brunei Darussalam
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed here for 4 days (December 13 to 17th). The hotel is in an incredibly convenient location (right near the fish market and only 7 minutes from the port) and has a beautiful atmosphere.
My hosts were wonderful in ensuring that every question was answered and were able to help in any way.
The rooms were very clean with lovely comfortable beds. The patio area and gazebo were great for resting, relaxing and socialising in the evenings.
Breakfast was delicious - toast, egg, cereal and yoghurt, with nice juice & tea/coffee.
There were 3 fantastic restaurants just meters away from the front door with a great variety of western and local foods. There are also the "kiosks" just around the corner for cheap local food. (Ask the staff where these are)
The Galapagos Tortoise - Darwin Research Centre is just 15 minutes walking from the hotel. Taxis for further journeys pass right be the front door and can take you anywhere for a small cost.
They even do a laundry service that is excellent value.
Would recommend this place to anyone. Loved my stay and would happily return (and hope to return one day)

Room Tip: All rooms are fine. They have aircon, linen and soap. There are stairs (about 6) to most rooms, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TTania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We left our kindle there and they shipped it to us in san cristobal. The breakfast is great. The grounds are very nice. room 8 can use a fresh coat of paint. The hospitality is excellent. I like that they have the filtered water available

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lil085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ninfa
Hotel Ninfa
#11 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Castro
Hotel Castro
#20 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Peregrina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Peregrina

Property: La Peregrina
Address: Avenue Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Peregrina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Peregrina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Peregrina Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing