We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B ever!”
Review of Jean's Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Ayora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jean's Home
Ranked #21 of 54 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Antwerp
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best B&B ever!”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We travel the world since 30 years and Jean's Home is by far the best B&B we 've ever stayed. The rooms are spacious , spotless clean , the beds are made of the highest quality and the showers are the best of whole Ecuador.
The owner Gundi is a wonderful women and she makes healthy and very ,very delicious breakfasts. Jean's home is situated on a penninsula , just a little bit out of Puerto Ayora.
The B&B is very quiet and is surrounded by a beautiful garden .
We will never forget our stay in this highly recommanded place .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guidoAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

If you want good value, clean and comfortable accommodation then this place is a winner. The rooms are spacious and you get a healthy, filling breakfast, all with local ingredients. As it's a short water taxi away from the centre of PA, it's also very quiet and safe too.

Gundi offers useful tips and speaks very fluent German and English. The Angermeyer and Finch Bay hotels are both a short walk away and you can enjoy good food and views at both locations. The beach in front of the Finch Bay is public and the Las Grietas pools are a 15 minute rocky walk away.

If we return we'll certainly book here again.

Other tips

Tortuga Bay
This is well worth doing as there are two lovely beaches. The guard house has toilets and sells drinks and snacks too as there are no services beyond this point.

WiFi
You'll see lots of locals sitting on the pier at Puerto Ayora with their laptops and phones using a free WiFi point. Don't be surprised to find that it's rather slow! There’s also free wifi at Baltra airport.

In PA you can get GPRS and EDGE signal on your mobile but it's patchy, so don't count on getting any mobile or data access while you're on the islands.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bergkamp9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This was the perfect place to end our trip to the Galapagos. My wife and I just arrived home from an exceptional trip, punctuated by our stay at Jean's Home.

We were met at the docks by Gundi after our boat ride from Isabela. She ushered us into a very cosy and comfortable place, a short boat ride from the main docks at Puerto Ayora. My wife and I immediately loved the feeling of home especially since we were so far away from it. We stayed in the bungalow, separated from the main house and appreciated the quiet room. I would highly recommend Jean's Home since it's away from the busy tourist trappings of Puerto Ayora. It's a very quiet and clean house. We actually enjoyed taking the boat ride back from the main dock at night because the view of the quiet bay was amazing.

Gundi herself is a wonderful hostess and into all of the details to ensure your stay is as great as it can be. She cooks up a delicious and filling breakfast for you to start off your day. She also has a volume of knowledge on the islands and the history of the Galapagos. Do yourself a favor and stay here!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank swollenankle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

This is a gem in an environment overrun by new hotels and an oversaturated tourist economy. Jean's Home is conveniently close to main attractions (like Lonesome George and the Charles Darwin Foundation) at the main bay of Galapagos, with easy access to tourist trails and ship tours. Yet it's just separated enough from the main taxis/highways/city buildings that would interfere with your appreciation of being in the Galapagos. It's a luxury home in a natural setting of Galapagos, with ridiculously nice and clean amenities. It's also owned by a local who runs the home out of a love and appreciation for the environment, so the price is significantly lower than nearby Galapagos luxury hotels that reap an insane profit.

It's also the only place we found in Galapagos that's truly eco-friendly. The house is built on lava rocks, out of the non-native trees that grew on that property, and out of the lava rocks themselves. And the fruit supplied for guests is picked locally at local farms (rather than imported by the huge cargo ships that can be seen in giant oil slicks in the harbor).

If you want to go to Galapagos, you need to spend at least one night here!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WorldNewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Not only is there a rich history behind this property but this Eco-Friendly Lodging is truly unique. It is located on Finch Bay, just a short distance away from Peurto Ayora, this area is completely serene and underdeveloped. There is a private beach near by, named Grietas, which is great for snorkeling. You deal directly with the proprietor, who is so accomodating!! The rooms are very clean and spacious,hot water, tv (with cable) and a phone is provided, which really helped us out. Our dive shop picked us up right from the bay. Most importantly, we felt safe,especially since the lodge's staff live nearby. This is really a hidden gem!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewYorkTravelMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.1 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
837 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Red Booby
Hotel Red Booby
#18 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jean's Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jean's Home

Property: Jean's Home
Address: Punta Estrada, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jean's Home is a small B&B located on a point called "Punta Estrada", on Santa Cruz, Galapagos Islands -----Brief History----- The original house was built by Jean Blaha, an American settler who arrived on the islands in the 70's. She decided to build her home with her own hands, patiently moving lava-rock by lava-rock. In the 90's Jean passed away without completely finishing the construction. She left the house to her friend and current owner Gundi Schreyer, who decided to call it "Jean's Home" in memory and honor of Jean. -----Accommodations:----- The main house consists out of three rooms and a kitchen-living-room area. The kitchen is there for the guests to use and is fully equipped with refrigerator, electric stove, microwave, coffee-machine, pots and pans and everything needed. There is also a television in the living-room. There are three rooms connected directly to the main house. Each of the rooms has air-conditioning and a private bathroom with hot water. There are also two bungalows for up to three people, each with a private bathroom and a small kitchen (the bungalows do not have air-conditioning but several fans and big windows instead). The B&B is surrounded by a natural garden with mostly native and endemic plants. -----Location:----- Jean's Home is located on a point of the island at the end of "Academy Bay" and can be reached by water-taxi. These are available 24/7 and take only a few minutes to get to the point. The neighborhood is a very peaceful place, as there are no cars (only pedestrian pathways) and it is not located in the center of the town. There is a beautiful beach very close by and also a natural crack with cool brackish water where you can swim, only 15-20 minutes away from the B&B. We also have a few restaurants located directly on the point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jean's Home Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing