We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Piece of Paradise in Puerto Ayora”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jean's Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Ayora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jean's Home
Ranked #19 of 54 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Piece of Paradise in Puerto Ayora”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

If you are looking for a serene place to stay in Puerto Ayora away from the noise of town, I highly recommend Jean's Home. This small hotel is a short water taxi ride to Punta Estrada as there are no roads to get to it -- which makes it even more charming. The owner, Gunda Schreyer, will meet you at the dock the day you arrive and show you how to get the water taxi to the hotel.

I walked into the main house and thought I had gone to heaven. With a sunken living room, spotless tile, and quiet surroundings, it was a perfect fit for me. I ended up having the whole place to myself and Gunda put me in a bungalow with 2 beds and small kitchen. I loved sitting on the patio and listening to all the birds.

I paid $75/night including the 22% tax and breakfast. Gunda makes breakfast and it is all you can eat with eggs, toast, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, and tea. You can use the full kitchen in the main house if you want to save money on food. She also has cold water in the refrigator which was a wonderful treat after walking to Tortuga Bay.

Gunda is fluent in English, Spanish, and German and can help you plan your time in the Galapagos Islands.

I didn't want to leave her piece of paradise and when I return to the Galagapos Islands, I will definitely stay at Jean's Home.

www.jeanshome.net
gundisg@hotmail.es
Cell: 09-296-0347

Room Tip: I stayed in the bunalow at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RPCVTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We couldn't have hoped for anything better than Jean's Home. After leaving the noise and overly built up main drag that is Puerto Ayora, and wandering over (2 minute water taxi) to where Jean's Home resides, we were so very happy to find a place so peaceful, comfortable and well priced. Gundi (the owner and hostess) was so very helpful, terribly interesting and wonderfully pleasant. The bungalow was perfectly equipped, so much so that we were able to cook a number of meals here, making our stay even better. It was immaculate with a wonderfully comfortable bed. It is a short walk to a very pleasant beach and a wonderful swimming hole. The distance to the main drag and other attractions on the island was very convenient. My only regret was not finding this place sooner as we stayed two other nights at a disappointing place. Do not waste your time looking into other places. If you have come across Jean's Home in your search, book it. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank epacheco14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed at Jean's Home in Feb 2012. A full family of 7! (husband, wife, granny and 4 kids ages 9 to 2). We couldn't have asked for anything better!! Being a short water taxi ride (no more than 3 mins) from town (available 24 hs) was not only fun for the kids but relaxing for us to be away from the hustle and bustle of Pto Ayora. Gundi (owner) keeps the house in immaculate conditions, serves a delicious breakfast and is an excellent host, giving us good tips of where to eat and what to do in Santa Cruz (she speaks perfect english, spanish and german). The house is fully equipped with a kitchen (which you can use for meals if you don't want to go out to dinner every night (really helpful if you are travelling with small kids!) a nice living room to unwind after a long day, and Gundi has been able to grow beautiful plants and trees all around the house. Very reasonably priced, I would recommend to anyone who values good and personalized service, is interested in understanding life in Galapagos from someone who lives there and has an interest in supporting local tourism.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My friend Louisa and I spent 3 wonderful days at Jean's Home.
Jean's Home is conveniently located, minutes from the dock where
water taxis can bring you to town or to the Charles Darwin Station.

The location has such easy access to town (just across the bay-5 minutes)
but, offers a quiet and peaceful atmosphere and the ability to experience the feeling
of the real Galapagos. It is a short walk to Finch Bay and it's lovely beach.
The Point Restaurant, Angermeyer's Cove Restaurant and the Finch Bay Restaurant are very closely within a five minute walk.

The rooms are very comfortable, clean and well thought-out.
The owner Gundi is extremely knowledgable about the Islands and what to
do and see. Gundi was born in Galapagos and was a top guide for
many years going throughout the Islands.
The eco-friendly lodging was very impressive, as the house is
built from lava rocks, and non native trees from the property.
The amenities included hot water, cable television, a very nice
kitchen, living room, and library.

Our only regret was that we didn't get a chance to stay longer.
On our next visit, we will spend more days at Jean's Home.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary_Crowley1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed at Jeans home mid 2011 on a trip across South America. It was one of our best B&B experiences. it was more like a home. Gundi was extremely helpful from the time she picked us up at the bus stop to giving very useful tips to making us just feel at home. Its really a home so we ended up cooking while we stayed there which was really convenient as we had dietary restrictions. I would recommend anyone going to Galapagos making their base at Jeans home. Thanks Gundi for everything!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy123sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

From the moment you first contact Gundi, it is clear that she is not just professional but a warm and welcoming hostess. She met us on the dock at Puerto Ayora and insisted on helping carry our bags from the boat up the path to Jean's Home after a couple of minute's in a little water taxi across the bay. We stayed in the main house, and as we were the only ones in it, we effectively had not just the bedroom but also the kitchen and living area to our selves. Gundi made us a big breakfast each morning and provided info when wanted. She was really great with our son and kindly brought round some soup one evening when his stomach had been troubled.

She also put us in touch with Paul McFarling, who is originally from England but has lived for many years in the Galapagos. He is a biologist and has intimate knowledge of the unique local flora and fauna. He offers local tours and explains with great enthusiasm and humour the local natural history and how so much of it is interconnected. He was very good with our 8 year-old.

Visitors to the Galapagos should be aware that you have to pay a fee of $US100 per adult and $US50 per child to enter the National Park, which is basically the whole Galapagos and has to be paid upon arrival at the airport. That is in addition to the $US10 each you are charged in Quito or Guayaquil before boarding the plane...

Jean's Home is across the bay from Puerto Ayora and it is quick and easy to reach the centre of town by water taxi. The residential area around Jean's Home is quiet and small, with a local beach (Finch Bay) just a few minutes walk to the south-west. we went when the tide was out, so it was quite rocky and very shallow, making swimming almost impossible. Even closer to Jean's are a couple of restaurants at Angermeyer Point - just remember to take the torch that is thoughtfully provided by Gundi.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbadosBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We travel the world since 30 years and Jean's Home is by far the best B&B we 've ever stayed. The rooms are spacious , spotless clean , the beds are made of the highest quality and the showers are the best of whole Ecuador.
The owner Gundi is a wonderful women and she makes healthy and very ,very delicious breakfasts. Jean's home is situated on a penninsula , just a little bit out of Puerto Ayora.
The B&B is very quiet and is surrounded by a beautiful garden .
We will never forget our stay in this highly recommanded place .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guidoAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.2 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
#7 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Solymar
Hotel Solymar
#6 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jean's Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jean's Home

Property: Jean's Home
Address: Punta Estrada, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jean's Home is a small B&B located on a point called "Punta Estrada", on Santa Cruz, Galapagos Islands -----Brief History----- The original house was built by Jean Blaha, an American settler who arrived on the islands in the 70's. She decided to build her home with her own hands, patiently moving lava-rock by lava-rock. In the 90's Jean passed away without completely finishing the construction. She left the house to her friend and current owner Gundi Schreyer, who decided to call it "Jean's Home" in memory and honor of Jean. -----Accommodations:----- The main house consists out of three rooms and a kitchen-living-room area. The kitchen is there for the guests to use and is fully equipped with refrigerator, electric stove, microwave, coffee-machine, pots and pans and everything needed. There is also a television in the living-room. There are three rooms connected directly to the main house. Each of the rooms has air-conditioning and a private bathroom with hot water. There are also two bungalows for up to three people, each with a private bathroom and a small kitchen (the bungalows do not have air-conditioning but several fans and big windows instead). The B&B is surrounded by a natural garden with mostly native and endemic plants. -----Location:----- Jean's Home is located on a point of the island at the end of "Academy Bay" and can be reached by water-taxi. These are available 24/7 and take only a few minutes to get to the point. The neighborhood is a very peaceful place, as there are no cars (only pedestrian pathways) and it is not located in the center of the town. There is a beautiful beach very close by and also a natural crack with cool brackish water where you can swim, only 15-20 minutes away from the B&B. We also have a few restaurants located directly on the point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jean's Home Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing