We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For something special”

Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Ranked #11 of 50 Restaurants in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“For something special”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Dined here one evening with a couple of friends; we were seated outside on the (covered) terrace and enjoyed beautiful views of the port and the sun setting behind the hills. The food was very good -- I had the seafood-stuffed fish fillet, which had a delicate crustaceany sweetness and a light sauce. The seafood in coconut sauce was also excellent, from the taste I had of someone else's order. It's definitely not the cheapest place to eat in Puerto Ayora (starters $8-12, mains around $15-20) but for a special dinner with a touch of elegance and great views, it was perfect.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    61
    15
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great View, Fair Food”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Definitely worth the trip over in a water taxi. The wait staff were great, but the food is just fair. Seating is outside and overlooks the harbor. We saw sea lions, sting rays, and a hawk.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DesnaDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“6 Star dining”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. All food was fresh, well-prepared and well-served. Deck dining, under cove,r with a view of the harbor and its many inhabitants. Simply delightful..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank aquarium-mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad Service, Poorly cooked fish”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We waited about 15 minutes before someone took our order and another 45 minutes to receive our food. The calamari appetizer was overcooked and very small. The bread that they provided consisted of 4 bite size pieces. Our whitefish, which was jack, arrived overly cooked. We had high expectations but this spot was a clear disappointment. Spend your money elsewhere. You can have the same "waterfront" view from the pier where you first get the water taxi.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeohare32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing service and beautiful outlook”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This place had amazing service, our waiter was so prompt and attentive without being in our face. He said he spoke only a little English but actually his English was excellent, so he was able to explain in more detail what all the meals were, which was very helpful. I was quite adventurous and tried the Tartar, which was nice, but one spoonful was enough as the flavour was very strong. I followed with the steak which was good - I'm not much of a steak eater so I'm not a good judge. The presentation of the food was great, and this restaurant made the perfect date for our anniversary.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wadja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angermeyer Waterfront Inn also viewed

Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 

Been to Angermeyer Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing