We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Beautiful Home and Exotic Garden!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Opuntia

View of House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of House
Patio and Garden Patio and Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
72 reviews
View of House
Patio and Garden
Patio and Garden
Patio and Garden
Side Deck and Garden
Dining Room and Kitchen
Dining Room
Dining Room and Office Area
Office Area
Office Area
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
View from Kitchen to Dining Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Seating Area
View to Patio
Master Bedroom - king size bed
Master Bedroom - king size bed
Master Bedroom - king size bed
Second Bedroom - queen size bed
Second Bedroom - queen size bed
Third Bedroom - twin beds
Third Bedroom - twin beds
Hallway
Stairs to second floor
Balcony
Balcony - seating area and hammocks
Balcony
Balcony Hammocks
Rooftop terrace
Rooftop terrace
Rooftop terrace
Rooftop terrace
Garden
Garden
Tortuga Bay (30 min walk from the house along a path within national park)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz, Galapagos Islands

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galgals
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Home and Exotic Garden!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Villa Opuntia was amazing. Tatjana (owner ) was so helpful. She arranged for a taxi driver to pick us up at the canal and he was very agreeable when we asked to make two stops to see attractions (Los Gemelos and Rancho Primicias (tortoises)). Tatjana was there to greet us when we arrived at the house. The house is beautiful and unique. It is very spacious and we each had our own bedroom and bath which was very convenient. The rooftop terrace is beautiful and a great place to relax with drinks at the end of active days . The 2nd floor terrace with the hammocks was cool and inviting for those that didn't want to walk up all the steps to the rooftop. The kitchen had everything we needed and Tatjana left a wonderful fruit basket and loaf of bread for us . Having a washer and dryer was a great amenity. Tatjana was very helpful when we called her with problems. There was a general power outage in the town on one night and we didn't have water for the next day . And one day the dryer ran out of gas but all problems were resolved quickly thanks to Tajana. We were so happy she was in the islands when we were there.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: spaciousness and bauty of the home
Liked least: low water pressure and the corkscrew
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2014
Thank you Carol! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the house. Thank you for your patience with the issues with the electricity going out. All the best to you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afbucchi
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bottom line: one of the best vacations I've had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I have so many good things to say about this place, but I'll stick to the basics.

Coordination: We had a small problem with our reservation at first, but it was solved within a day or two. Tatjana is very straightforward.

Accommodations: The house is really comfortable, well kept, safe and beautiful. It has everything you need. The only problem we had is hot water pressure, but it wasn't so bad either.

Personnel: Both María and Marcos are hard working and honest people-- we didn't get to meet Tatjana.
I just have to make a special mention for Marcos. He is really pleasant and will give you honest advice on almost anything. I recommend you also take tours with him. They are cheaper and he knows his way around.

The island: Santa Cruz has the advantage of being very central and well connected. It's by far the most developed island, and you can organize your trip all through Galapagos from there, easily --given your are willing to pay extra housing, but well worth it.

I've been blessed with a chance to visit some really beautiful places in the Pacific before, and from my experience, I have to say that Galapagos was a surprise. Beautiful, calm and full of life.

Ps. If you go out, stick to sea food.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Sea life. But regarding the house, the master bedroom and kitchen.
Liked least: Hot water pressure.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2014
Thank you for the lovely and informative review, it is very much appreciated! It was a pleasure to have you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sites2See...
Bon Air, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“An Enchanted Vacation!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Visiting the Galapagos has long been on the horizon...and it was worth the wait! Arriving in Puerto Ayora and staying at Villa Opuntia was the perfect gateway to the start of our multi-island land vacation. Tatjana arranged for a taxi upon our arrival to Santa Cruz, when we arrived to Villa Opuntia the description of the property was as portrayed on Tripadvisor…it was amazing! My family was met by Maria (who is absolutely delightful) and given an overview of the property. Maria popped in occasionally to tidy things up and to make sure all was okay, as an FYI, we were lucky my daughter spoke Spanish so she could easily communicate with Maria.

Villa Opuntia is surrounded by gardens and has great outdoor spaces; a covered patio, sun deck and hammocks outside the master bedroom….the home is spacious, has a fully functional and furnished kitchen (which we took advantage of on several occasions) and conveniently located just a few blocks from town. We enjoyed dinner and drinks out several evenings and never had any concerns regarding our safety returning in the late evenings.

We enjoyed our visit to Tortuga Beach, the entrance to the park is just down the road from Villa Opuntia. Our horseback ride in the highlands was fabulous..lots of turtle sightings. We also booked two day trips through Enchanted Tours (a tour company recommended by Tatjana)….both tours were well organized and thoroughly enjoyed by all!

If you are looking for some dining options a couple of recommendations: Galapagos Deli…great pizza and ice cream and in the evenings Charles Binford Road is closed and tables are set up for dining…lots of great seafood choices (this is only 2 about blocks from Villa Opuntia, towards town).

We hope you enjoy your stay at Villa Opuntia as much as our family did. Thanks Tatjana for sharing your beautiful home!!

Ann Tierney, Richmond VA, USA

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2014
Thank you for the detailed review Ann! I really appreciate it. And I am glad I got to meet you family (though it was brief). I hope that the rest of your travels went well. All the best to you and your family!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
246lcr
Murphysboro, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Tatjana makes sure your visit is what you'd like. She had a taxi pick us up at the airport and drive us to Puerto Ayora and drop us off at the Villa Opuntia. Maria met us at the door, with 2 sets of keys, a working phone to put us in touch with her and the taxi driver, and a basket full of local fruit. She took us on a tour of the home, how to work the washer and dryer, and to answer questions we may have.
The home was beautiful. Much of the furniture and house itself was made with an incredibly beautiful local wood. We stayed 3 days, toured the city, walked everywhere in town, down to Tortuga Beach, local shopping, downtown and felt safe.
All drinking water is produced by reverse osmosis and hauled to the house, so shower, washing clothes and dishes is all done in brackish water.
We couldn't have been happier with the home. The gardens are lovely, it's secluded behind a solid fence and it has great privacy. The beds were excellent.
We all had a lovely stay there and it was a stones throw from beautiful Tortuga Bay. P.S. Eat out as much as possible, as the food served in town that we ate was fabulous.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Coming back from touring to the villa.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2013
Lori thank you very for the detailed review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the house - All the best to you and your family!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesnaDC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Perfect Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

From the time we were greeted by the housekeeper Maria to leaving our stay was perfect. The house is awesome with a great kitchen, WiFi, and a balcony with hammocks, and a sun roof. The location is within walking distance to Tortuga Bay and is within walking distance to the town. The owner, Tatjana, is awesome! She helped set up tours for us and gave us all sorts of information before hand. She did not even get annoyed with my multiple email queries.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Our limited time there :-(
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Thank you very much for your comments! I am happy I could be of help with your questions and arranging tours. Come back to the islands one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michellea...
Camarillo,California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Life saver!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We had booked this house for one week of our three week trip through Ecuador and the Galapagos. When Celebrity Cruises suddenly pulled our week long cruise out from under us Tatjana really came through for us and let us extend our stay to 11 days. She was so helpful. The house is perfect, you will not find better in Puerto Ayora. The house is beautifully done, so well organized and very comfortable. The location is perfect, everything is within walking distance, this house sits at the very entrance to Tortuga bay. We visited Tortuga Bay five times and often reflected on how different our experience would have been had we not been so close to the trail. Tortuga Bay was a highlight so this location was a definite perc for us.
As for the house itself, it was the perfect home base. Our two teenage boys felt right at home here. The patios were a highlight, we took many meals on the top patio. The views were beautiful and so relaxing.
The housekeeper, Maria, went above and beyond..always! So helpful and pleasant. We came to know her whole family! We would recommend this house to anyone and we would only stay here if went back to Puerto Ayora.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2013
Thanks Michelle. I glad it all worked out in the end and that you enjoyed the house and its location. All the best to your family!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flowergir...
New York, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ideal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our 3 year old while in the Galapagos. We enjoyed the location as it is close to restaurants and stores. We enjoyed the beautiful beaches on Santa Cruz as well as day trips to other islands. And the outdoor terrace on top of the villa is superb! Tatjana was so helpful before our stay in answering my questions and arranging transportation as well as day tours. There were no surprises and the villa is as advertised. And you can't beat the price. I only hope we can return someday! If you do travel with small children be sure not to miss the caterpillar ride on the weekends. A big hit!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Shower
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2013
Thank you! I am happy to hear you had a nice stay, come back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$170
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing