We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Casa de Judy
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Fernandina(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Silberstein(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Pelican Bay(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Mainao(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Solymar(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cucuve Suites(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Red Booby(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
140
52
17
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
52
17
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa million dollar viewtourist classher daughtershort walksanta cruzhotel stayamazing hospitalitycourtyard areabreakfast areacompared to other hotelsan upgradethe charles darwin centernational parkin townroom was spacious and cleanfresh fruitquiet hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! Casa de Judy is charming, clean, restful, well managed and excellent value for money whichever type of room you choose.
The most outstanding feature is the service and attention to the needs of the client. Judy and her team make you feel welcome and are willing to help you in whatever way they can. Nothing is too much trouble. You feel as if you and your holiday really matter to them
You can do no better than choose this hotel for your stay in Santa Cruz!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coralyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The friendliest little inn we enjoyed (four nights) during our month in Ecuador. Owner Judy speaks a bit of english, was born on the property and was full of advice on everything from local destinations, taxi rides and guides, to getting laundry done locally. Giant Tortoise shells which her father collected over 30 years ago, add to the pool-side decor. Judy also set us up with the best taxi driver in Puerto Ayora, Mecias Guamon (tele: 099808099). Although he did not speak a word of english, he gave us a great half day tour of the island that included an unexpected yet enthusiastic guided walk at El Chato Tortoise Reserve.
We asked for a room on the second floor, away from the swimming pool, to avoid noise, but it was pretty quiet - and the pool felt great before dinner each evening. Rooms on the higher floors get a better breeze, if you favor open windows and natural air rather than the air conditioning available. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The very top floor has an observation deck with great breezes and a view of the local forest and ocean. The inn is a ten minute walk from the Darwin Center and from one end of the town. With taxi rides $1, choices are easy. The hubub and traffic of the docks and port areas are at the other end of town. The nicer art and craft shops are at Judy's end of town.
There's lots to see on Santa Cruz Island. To explore Santa Cruz for four days, We took a water taxi and walked to the Las Grietas for a well deserved swim in a deep lava crack, then back to the harbor and then walked a beautiful developed path to another Park area filled with photogenic Marine Iguanas, Tortuga Bay. We walked to the Charles Darwin Center a couple of times to hang out with the Tortoises. We took a half day taxi trip to the northern highlands to visit wild Tortoises at El Chato Tortoise Reserve and Los Gemelos craters. We tried to visit Devine's Butterfly farm, but no one was there. It is in a beautiful forested setting so, if you want to go there, I suggest calling ahead to make sure someone is around. And we walked the town, window shopping and buying crafts, meals and market food for lunch on our long walks.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms get more breeze.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorerMundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Review of Hotel Galapagos Inn also known as La Casa de Judy.
We booked a land tour of the Galapagos Islands through Nature Galapagos & Ecuador ( an Equador company) choosing the "tourist class " option.  On the island of Santa Cruz, we were placed on the ground floor of Hotel Galapagos Inn also known as La Casa de Judy.  We stayed here for 5 nights.  Every morning, our friendly waiter Jimmy served us a good breakfast and refilled our water bottles in the common area of the hotel beside the pool.  Jimmy was always happy to get us whatever we needed.  We ate lunch and supper at a restaurant "La Restaurante Chocolat" about an 8 minute walk away.  Our menu had 2 choices, usually chicken or fish with rice and a vegetable, juice and a fruit desert. The meal was simple, healthy and tasty.  We were very happy with our accommodation and our food. The room was clean, the beds made up every day. The room had a washroom with shower.  There was air- conditioning in the room which was essential as the temperatures were between 30 and 36 degrees. There are beautiful views from the roof top decks.  Most afternoons we used the swimming pool.  Our hosts were enthusiastic and very helpful. They spoke some English and we spoke almost no Spanish.  They helped us out of difficulties several time by making phone calls for us.  They were like a family to us and we grew to love them: Patricio, Judy and Julian and daughter Dominique.

Nos Vemos,
Rika & Mel

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have views
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed there for 5 nights. we were tow couples with kids

overpriced! 120 USD for a room for a couple with 2 kids under two in a hotel with NO service what so ever.

The wifi internet works sometimes (rather less than more) and only downstairs (not in the rooms)
No tours or info available about anything, even in town info (restaurants etc)
Not children friendly: no cots, no high chairs, tile floors in the rooms AND in the toilet, even showe,r with not even a USD 2 mat to avoid slipping. Find your own way with kids in this hotel (at least they allowed me to use their fridge but some snearing from the owner)
Breakfast is poor and boring: omelet on a chewy bun and nescafe. The pool is smaller than what it looks on the internet (literally is 4X4). the put chlorine and they dont advice that you cant swim.
Mosquitoes in the rooms and not a single remedy for it. Just " do not open the windows".
Very poor English from the staff, which is not an issue for me. Although i have to say that the 2 staff members I met were nice.
the rooms are nicely clean every day...as they are in any 2 star hotel for half of the price.

I do not recommend this hotel for this price. I know some people were paying less for the rooms so check for cheaper prices but get ready to find your own way around.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldnomada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The hotel is about 10 mins walk to town centre and in a residential area. Rooms are clean & airconditioned with free wifi. Stayed for 4 nights and very comfortable stay with helpful staff. Breakfast is usually juice, bread and eggs with tea/ coffee. This is part of 2 weeks holiday package so not sure if it's good value but no complaints at all. Check out the terrace which gives a great view of Puerto Ayora.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank lisatgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews