We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Casa de Judy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights while we explored the Galapagos. The rooms were simple, but spacious and clean, and our room had wonderful views over the bay. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the main street in Puerto Ayora, and about the same distance from the Charles Darwin center, so it was convenient but also quiet. Breakfast was good and included a fresh juice - we had blackberry, watermelon, guava - fresh fruit, eggs, bread, coffee and tea. We could also refill our water bottles at no charge, which was useful.
What really makes this hotel stand out is the owner, Judy, and her husband. They could not have been more friendly and helpful, and they made our stay a pleasure. Judy even arranged a tour to Isabela for us, which our tour operator had told us was unavailable for the day we wanted to go!
We would definitely recommend this hotel, and if we go back to the Galapagos we would stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor facing the ocean have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by our stayed here. We had to pay in advanced (we wired the money from the States and were a bit concerned about this); however, we did not have any problems once we got there. Our triple and quadruple rooms were spacious and clean. We had clean towels every day – which was surprising! The breakfast consisted of fruit, juice, bread, coffee, and/or tea. The staff was friendly and willing to help out. I would definitely recommend this place; however, if you are looking for something really cheap i.e. $10.00, then this would not be the place for you since we paid a bit more than that. You do have to walk to the center of town and the port and we had to take a taxi to the bus terminal when we left for the airport. Needless to say, we would definitely return to La Casa de Judy.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and had the option to open the window or use the AC unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pilar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We paid for our hotel stay (six nights) via PayPal, which was really convenient for us. We booked an ocean view room because it was our honeymoon, and it was beautiful. Judy knew we were coming as newlyweds, and the staff put balloons, fresh flowers, and towel swans in our room, which was a great touch. The staff was very helpful throughout the week; we booked tours and taxis through them, and they served breakfast every morning downstairs.

The best aspects of our stay:
-Location is close enough to walk to Charles Darwin Avenue and downtown, which we did every night
-We got to practice our Spanish with Patricio (Judy spoke a fair amount of English, so we always had someone to communicate with when our Spanish proved not so great)
-The room was cleaned every day
-Fresh juice every morning!

Overall, I would highly recommend this place. It has a very nice looking pool that we never used because we spent most of our time swimming in the ocean. The room view was great, but it was quite a bit more expensive than the ground level rooms (which didn't seem to have any view at all). We always had enough hot water for two showers, the cable was extensive, and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank instantxkarmaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We booked this hotel on our own from Vancouver through their website after reading about it on Trip Advisor. We paid by Money gram no problem.

We stayed on the 3rd floor of this hotel with a great ocean view. They had a nice unheated pool. Breakfast was included and was filling - Egg, fruit, coffee, bread.

They didn't serve dinner, so we had to walk into town to eat. The rooms were very bright so if you didn't have something to cover your eyes you would be up with the sun.

Our room was very quiet and spacious, but we could hear the TV in the adjacent room. The balconies were nice and big too.

Judy and her husband were always at the hotel, were very friendly and informative.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonbader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We had originally booked a downstairs room which opens into the courtyard. Upon arrival, Judy informed us that she had an upstairs room available with a view of the harbor and National Park (and a cost upgrade.) We are so glad we upgraded to the upstairs room. The room was bright and sunny with a balcony. There was always a nice breeze coming in from the harbor.

Judy could not have been more friendly or warm. She made sure we knew the details of our one-day excursion, called taxis for us when needed, and provided fresh fruit and beach towels for our day at Tortuga Bay.

If the room had better lighting for the evenings, and upgraded the linens and towels, I would be very happy to give it an excellent rating. While it isn't the same as a big US city luxury hotel, it was comfortable, in a nice location and meet our needs perfectly on Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: If you are willing to pay a little more, be sure to book one of the upstairs room with a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgrayf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! Casa de Judy is charming, clean, restful, well managed and excellent value for money whichever type of room you choose.
The most outstanding feature is the service and attention to the needs of the client. Judy and her team make you feel welcome and are willing to help you in whatever way they can. Nothing is too much trouble. You feel as if you and your holiday really matter to them
You can do no better than choose this hotel for your stay in Santa Cruz!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coralyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The friendliest little inn we enjoyed (four nights) during our month in Ecuador. Owner Judy speaks a bit of english, was born on the property and was full of advice on everything from local destinations, taxi rides and guides, to getting laundry done locally. Giant Tortoise shells which her father collected over 30 years ago, add to the pool-side decor. Judy also set us up with the best taxi driver in Puerto Ayora, Mecias Guamon (tele: 099808099). Although he did not speak a word of english, he gave us a great half day tour of the island that included an unexpected yet enthusiastic guided walk at El Chato Tortoise Reserve.
We asked for a room on the second floor, away from the swimming pool, to avoid noise, but it was pretty quiet - and the pool felt great before dinner each evening. Rooms on the higher floors get a better breeze, if you favor open windows and natural air rather than the air conditioning available. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The very top floor has an observation deck with great breezes and a view of the local forest and ocean. The inn is a ten minute walk from the Darwin Center and from one end of the town. With taxi rides $1, choices are easy. The hubub and traffic of the docks and port areas are at the other end of town. The nicer art and craft shops are at Judy's end of town.
There's lots to see on Santa Cruz Island. To explore Santa Cruz for four days, We took a water taxi and walked to the Las Grietas for a well deserved swim in a deep lava crack, then back to the harbor and then walked a beautiful developed path to another Park area filled with photogenic Marine Iguanas, Tortuga Bay. We walked to the Charles Darwin Center a couple of times to hang out with the Tortoises. We took a half day taxi trip to the northern highlands to visit wild Tortoises at El Chato Tortoise Reserve and Los Gemelos craters. We tried to visit Devine's Butterfly farm, but no one was there. It is in a beautiful forested setting so, if you want to go there, I suggest calling ahead to make sure someone is around. And we walked the town, window shopping and buying crafts, meals and market food for lunch on our long walks.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms get more breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorerMundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
442 reviews
0.9 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
888 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Fortaleza de Haro
La Fortaleza de Haro
#4 of 47 in Puerto Ayora
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casa de Judy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casa de Judy

Address: Fragata y Escalesia, Puerto Ayora :EC200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: £87 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Casa de Judy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Casa de Judy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Casa De Judy Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing