We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view of bay on third floor and nice location too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Casa de Judy
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice view of bay on third floor and nice location too”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed one night on way to Isabella island. We stayed on third floor with ocean view. Clean. Nice view. White tile. Bright room. Patio. Close to downtown for restaurants (nice to walk 2-3 blocks). Saw downtown fish market on wharf with all the sea lions and sea birds hanging around for scraps. Fun to watch. Pool clean but didn't use. Nice courtyard in front. Quiet location. Air conditioning worked fine. But water for showers was cold. Bummer. Judy made very nice hot breakfast for us upon request because we had to leave early for boat to other island. Good value for the money. If staying longer and want more upscale, other choices are out there on other side of town. But for more modest rate, our family liked deJudy. Just don't expect a five star hotel. Comfortable place to stay, you bet. I rate it four star because of value. If you have resort expectations, more appropriate options available in Puerto Ayora area.

Room Tip: Recommend third floor ocean view. Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    49
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
46
89
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Judy and Pato are great hosts. Our sea view room was a dream, clean, neat, and the best natural view. Beds and pillows are marvellous, Air Con is a bliss, shower is gentle, huge effort to have desalinised water. All to preserve nature. After a week of this water skin is softer but hair is dry, so good hydration is needed.
Breakfast is yummy, 100% pure fruit juice, seasonal local fruits, eggs, bread, etc.
The swimming pool is to dye for, makes a very big difference to have it, the pool deck is an incredible hang out for after your tours and walkabouts. Its so hot and muggy that we were in the pool 3 times a day at least.
I strongly recommend them, the price was wright, worth every penny, and the reservation process and pay pal payment went perfect.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Maca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here in a standard room off the pool. The room we stayed in was not near as nice as the ones pictured above however it was clean and spacious. The noise level was just fine however the hotel was not full. You will hear the staff in the morning prepping breakfast in one of these rooms.

The room was clean with our own bathroom. It was pretty standard but it was nice to have a fresh towel everyday. There were two young staff members manning the admin desk. They were quite helpful and having google translate was a huge help.

The air conditioning in the rooms is a must when you are visiting the Galapagos. Ours worked perfectly.

The breakfast was actually quite good for our price. You get a banana/plantain, eggs, toast, fresh jam & butter and juice, coffee/tea.

The wifi works only in the eating area and it's not super reliable so don't stay here if you need high speed internet.

There is a laundromat just around the corner from this hotel. You can drop it off and pick it up a few hours later for a steal of a deal!

Room Tip: The area that this hotel is in is very quiet so it's nice to come home to a quiet space after a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
611 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My experience with this property (and Judy) began on shaky ground, as I inquired about making reservations near the end of December and into January. I requested reservations for 8 nights at the rate online, but was quoted higher by Judy. When I asked about it, she said the rate went up after the New Year. I replied the website for the property still advertised the price I reserved for. She said the rate would change online in a few days. I responded that was very unfair to advertise rates that were not being honored. She responded that she would honor the 2013 rate ($90), which was $15 less per night than the 2014 rate. So, we were set.
Upon arrival, Judy offered us an upgrade to a room with a view to the water for $25/night more for us and a $20 discount from what she was charging for the room ($135). We looked at the room and my wife liked the idea so we decided to do 4 nights in that room and 4 back in our standard room, as Judy said the room was taken after our 4 nights in it. On the 2nd night around 2am, we were both shocked out of our sleep when the air conditioner made a very loud, sustained, scraping noise. I quickly turned it off and our hearts settled back into our chests. In the morning, I discovered that water leaked out of the unit and wet many of our clothes that were folded and placed on a shelf below the a/c. I told Judy about it at breakfast, and her husband was going to take a look. I brought our clothes that got wet down to her after telling her about them, asking they get washed as they now had a slight mildew smell due to the water. She said yes, and we went on our way after repacking our stuff so it could be moved to a different room. We noted she did not apologize or say anything about our inconvenience.
When we returned at the end of the day our clothes weren't ready - she said the next day. The new room was just 3 rooms down (307 to 304) from our original one so it was fine. The next morning after breakfast I asked for the clothes. She went to get them and they had not been washed, just dried. I could smell the staleness on them, and this combined with receiving no apology, no effort made to compensate the bad experience, I got angry. Judy and her husband got that I was not happy at all, and as we left she stopped us and said due to what happened, we could stay in the room for the entire time and after our 4 nights of agreed to extra $25/night, we would pay no more than what we would've paid for the standard room. Both my wife and I believe Judy's husband, whose name escapes me as I write, was the driving force behind this action. Judy just didn't seem to have a "knack" for this type of service, but we think her husband does. Judy is very friendly, tries to be helpful to the guests, but seemed lost and unsure when something goes wrong. We are not so sure about her ability to be a good, competent source to go through to get tours, either. We got a good deal through her for a day trip to Las Plazas, and just by dumb luck we walked by Hotel Ninfa. We saw their tour sign, and my wife wanted to go in and check to see what they offered. On a lark, we asked about Las Plazas for the day Judy hooked us up, and their price was $10 less per person than what Judy got for us. The kicker is the woman at Ninfa who we were talking to is one of Judy's sisters! Now, there could be several reasons why there was a price difference. Judy said it was a different tour (but it was the same day, same boat), which we doubt. Anyway, after this, we wandered into Gala Travel located on the main street near the piers and liked working with Grace, so we got the rest of our tours there. AND they take credit cards!
The property is located just outside of the busy tourist area which I liked. It is an easy 5 minute walk to the entrance to the Charles Darwin Center and the start of the tourist area. The pool was nice to dip in after a hot, sweaty day before showering in the room. The room was very comfortable, bath and shower suitable. The maid did not do a good job cleaning. On the first day as I was putting away clothes, I had to ask her to come back in (she had just finished cleaning our room) to clean the accumulated dust off the shelves that I wanted to put clothes on. Days went by without the balcony being swept and sometimes our floor inside was not swept well. Other times we had no towels, no soap, no shampoo, and she even left a key to another room in ours, so I had to take it down to Judy. The breakfasts were nice. The same every morning - only thing changed was the type of juice (watermelon, mango, blackberry) and the way the eggs were cooked (omelet or scrambled).
For some reason, Judy's policy for bottled water is you have to buy a $1 first bottle of water, and after that you can give her or staff the empty bottle and they will take it in back and refill it for you. I don't know why it is this way, but we found it to be a real pain. Other hotels we walked into we always made it a joke to point out to each other "Oh look!!! Clean water out in the lobby for guests to drink when they need it. How nice."
All of these "adventures" were part of our trip, our stay at Hotel Galapagos Inn. Luckily, the major bad experience was eventually addressed and somewhat to our liking. Judy and her husband do a good job. She makes effort with English-speaking guests. Her personality is over-the-top and loud - my wife even heard her husband once ask her to lower the volume! If she hadn't recovered and given us the discount (even though our clothes were still smelly and we eventually washed most in the room sink), this property would've received a poor or at best average review from me. But, Judy pulled it out, for whatever reason, and overall I would have to say it was a good stay. Would I stay there again? Don't know. It would depend on how high these rates go and how the compare to other places. We saw several we may try upon a return trip. Won't rule out Galapagos Inn, but can't commit to being 100% sure I would stay again.

Room Tip: The standards are fine - at least the one we were in at first. It was large and comfortable. Just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We recently stayed at Casa de judy for 5 nights.When we arrived we were greeted by Judy who was SO lovely and friendly. She offered us an upgrade to an ocean view room for a good price and the room was BEAUTIFUL and clean!. The hotel is in a great location and is just off the main area of Santa Cruz. About a 5 min walk from Charles Darwin Center and 10 min from pier. Judy and her Husband are always at reception and are always there to help. However sometimes we were unable to obtain advice about activities/ sites on the island due to communication issues. Despite this they were helpful and spoke good English in general. At the end of our trip we felt like family as Judy and her Husband even offered to drop us off at the bus stop. Definitley a place worth staying! AMAZING!

Room Tip: The standard room is quite average would definitely recommend the ocean view room if you have spare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99SimC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Nice room, outstanding view, and Judy is a delight. I absolutely recommend staying here. They have a little pool which is great to dip in after spending the day in the ocean. Breakfast was decent and the staff is helpful and cheery. its far enough away from the hustle and bustle that is quiet, not so far to prevent walking everywhere.

Go for it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swamiJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I recently stayed at the Galapagos Inn by La Casa de Judy and it was a wonderful stay. It's close enough to Av. Charles Darwin, only a 5 to 10 minute walk, but away from the hustle and bustle. The rooms with ocean view are amazing, but the cheaper rooms looked OK to me as well.
Judy and her husband Patricio are the most welcoming people, who want to make you feel at home at their place. After some island hopping I returned to the Inn and was welcomed with a hug and smiles. Judy also provides good advice about places to stay on other islands and will make a reservation if you want and she can arrange boat tickets. They even personally dropped me off at a previous arranged and paid for hotel for my last night in Galapagos, but I'd rather have stayed at their place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarionvdW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silberstein
Hotel Silberstein
#7 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
47 reviews
5.7 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casa de Judy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casa de Judy

Property: Hotel La Casa de Judy
Address: Fragata y Escalesia, Puerto Ayora :EC200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Casa de Judy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Casa de Judy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Casa De Judy Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing