We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Casa de Judy
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here recently while on a volunteer holiday of Galápagos Islands and it was perfect. Judy is absolutely lovely, she came and greeted us at the front gate as if we were old friends. She was extremely helpful at all times, and her English is very good (as my Spanish is very limited).
The rooms are a good size, and very comfy beds/pillows, and the air con is a must.
They do breakfast every morning, which is a good breakfast. As I don't eat eggs, I was able to get extra rolls, or even muesli to have with my breakfast (bread rolls, jam/butter, fresh fruit, fresh fruit juice, eggs, coffee/tea/hot chocolate).
There is wifi in the common area, which is extremely airy, and right next to the pool and reception also. There's a fridge with drinks (water, inca kola, coke, beer) and a filtered water dispenser to top up water bottles.

Casa de Judy is a short walk from the Main Street of Puerto Ayora, but far enough away that it's quiet. It's also a short walk to the Charles Darwin Research Centre and beach. On the day I left for the airport, the staff who were working, we're very helpful in letting me know what time the bus left the station, and had a taxi ordered for me that would take me to the bus station in time for the bus.

Would definitely consider staying here again if I make it back to Galápagos Islands.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    49
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
46
88
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights, the hotel was in a good location with a short walk to the Charles Darwin Station and main drag of shops and restaurants. Breakfast was a little basic and a choice of how eggs were cooked would have been appreciated as well as more general choice, coffee was appalling, the worst I had in Ecuador and it should have been good as they grow coffee.

Facilities were a little tired and dated, the wc in my bathroom was on a little raised platform that was annoying as I kept banging my feet on it. Towels were worn and faded and there was no hand towel. Wifi was only available in the communal areas. Curtains were barely wide enough for the window and being white blocked very little light.

I felt it was a little overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a sea view, mine was by the stairs and had no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindasnell1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern NY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Our family of 4 stayed at Hotel Galapagos for 2 nights in April. It was just right in so many ways. The room was spacious and clean. The air conditioning worked well. There was a merciful breeze around the building, and the pool was perfect for taking the edge off on very warm days. It was close walking distance to the main street in town and to the Charles Darwin Research Station. Judy could not have been kinder or more helpful. She had many suggestions for activities and helped us secure quick transport to the airport on our day of departure. Breakfast was ideal each morning, and the open air dining area was a nice place to interact with her and other travelers. WiFi was available in the dining area and we found it to be more responsive than other locations on the island. Judy's smile and warmth makes everyone feel at ease. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a wonderful spot. Edith and her staff were excellent and incredibly friendly. Each morning began with fresh juice, eggs, bread and local jam. They kept water available to refill bottles in the mornings. The views from the balcony were amazing. I had tree finches landing on my balcony.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our whole family (8 people) stayed 4 nights in this hotel and enjoyed every minute. Judy and Patricio are very friendly and helpful, got us everything we asked for, and helped us find transportation and restaurants. The rooms were clean and the view fantastic. Breakfast, which is included, was delicious. It is within walking distance of the town, but far enough away to be quiet. I would recommend it enthusiastically to anyone who wishes to spend a few nights in Puerto Ayora.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a better view if you can climb stairs. I stayed on the second floor and still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed one night on way to Isabella island. We stayed on third floor with ocean view. Clean. Nice view. White tile. Bright room. Patio. Close to downtown for restaurants (nice to walk 2-3 blocks). Saw downtown fish market on wharf with all the sea lions and sea birds hanging around for scraps. Fun to watch. Pool clean but didn't use. Nice courtyard in front. Quiet location. Air conditioning worked fine. But water for showers was cold. Bummer. Judy made very nice hot breakfast for us upon request because we had to leave early for boat to other island. Good value for the money. If staying longer and want more upscale, other choices are out there on other side of town. But for more modest rate, our family liked deJudy. Just don't expect a five star hotel. Comfortable place to stay, you bet. I rate it four star because of value. If you have resort expectations, more appropriate options available in Puerto Ayora area.

Room Tip: Recommend third floor ocean view. Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Judy and Pato are great hosts. Our sea view room was a dream, clean, neat, and the best natural view. Beds and pillows are marvellous, Air Con is a bliss, shower is gentle, huge effort to have desalinised water. All to preserve nature. After a week of this water skin is softer but hair is dry, so good hydration is needed.
Breakfast is yummy, 100% pure fruit juice, seasonal local fruits, eggs, bread, etc.
The swimming pool is to dye for, makes a very big difference to have it, the pool deck is an incredible hang out for after your tours and walkabouts. Its so hot and muggy that we were in the pool 3 times a day at least.
I strongly recommend them, the price was wright, worth every penny, and the reservation process and pay pal payment went perfect.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Maca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
307 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silberstein
Hotel Silberstein
#7 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
341 reviews
5.7 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casa de Judy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casa de Judy

Property: Hotel La Casa de Judy
Address: Fragata y Escalesia, Puerto Ayora :EC200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Casa de Judy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Casa de Judy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Casa De Judy Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing