We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Elizabeth

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Ayora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Elizabeth
Ranked #36 of 54 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Good Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Now known as Hostel Elizabeth, it was money well spent.

Complete staff was very friendly. Rooms were clean and cleaned daily. Place was very relaxed and safe. Solid WiFi in the communal area.

Great location! Place is right on the main strip but far enough away from bars/restaurants to hear any of it.

Room Tip: They have three stories of rooms, I believe the top rooms have a view of the nice harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackmailman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    34
    15
    10
    7
See reviews for
6
45
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolding, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We have been staying in the hotel for over 8 days and we loved it. The rooms are clean, the internet is working and the crew is very nice and helpfull. I would recommend this place to everyone :-) It is close to the harbor, the beach and to the darwin center, so you can do everything from this hotel. And the best thing is, that it is cheap :-)

Room Tip: The top rooms has i view of the hole city :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANSKO99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

hey all, extremely convenient location with rooms at great price and wifi provided at the main area. i stayed alone for 3 nights at around 16.80 a room. for your own privacy, your own toilet and a nice fan at night. it is well worth the price. town/supermarket is literally 1 min away.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samuelchoudhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iowa city
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of our island hopping and one night before leaving. It is located in a great place, very close to the pier. We arrived at around 1 and were immediately given a room. Senora Vilma was very friendly and with her small amount of english and my small amount of spanish we had no problem communicating. We even had coffee with her every morning and she shared breakfast with us.

the room is clean and had more than enough space for what we needed. The wall of shelving was nice to unload a bit. The water was warmish, not hot. We found we got shocked if we touched the nozzle too much during the shower, but most of the time didn't have a problem at all. We paid 39.20 for two people in a room with a t.v.. I didn't know you could get a cheaper room without a t.v., 30 dollars for two. So we did that on the last night.

There was a nice courtyard and free wifi. Vilma had a lot of information about the cost of taxi's, water taxi's etc. Despite a language barrier we didn't have too much trouble communicating. She and the helper Lorraina were also very interested to look at our pictures after a tour. We were very comfortable there.

Room Tip: ask for a room without a t.v. if you want an even better deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbhdIowaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deutschland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

we stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and like it there. The owner was very friendly and greeted us as if we were friends. the hotel is located in the center of town. the room was spacious and clean. unfortunately, the bathroom was included in the room which means that the walls of the bathroom didn't reach the ceiling. everyday we got new towels, showers were always hot. television didn't work.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntiSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

For the money it can't be beat. Friendly owner, good internet (lobby only) and the rooms are large enough. Hard beds, so check. They gave me a new mattress when I asked to change rooms due to the hard bed. The showers are warm, but electricly heated with an overhead heater. I too got a few electric shocks, but you learn to not touch those things fast.
Clean rooms and linnens, clean towels etc.
Right on the water too, so better than most places. Inner courtyard to hang out as well.

Room Tip: Check the bed! Some are rock hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

A family run hotel located on the beachfront in puerto ayora. The owner Wilma is very nice and accommodating. Breakfast not included but the owner will let you use the kitchen and fridge if you ask. Location is great and we couldn't find anywhere else cheaper to stay in the Galapagos. The rooms are OK, comfy bed for hard bed lovers and clean sheets and towels daily. Free wifi included in the reception area. Bathroom in the room was questionable - not always 100% clean, smelly drains and the occasional electric shock off the shower tap which was rather worrying. But accepting its the cheapest place in town, it's not too bad

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.0 mi away
Galapagos Chalet
Galapagos Chalet
#22 of 44 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Estrella de Mar
Hostal Estrella de Mar
#15 of 44 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#10 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Costa del Pacifico
Hostal Costa del Pacifico
#28 of 44 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
El Descanso del Petrel
#10 of 44 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Gardner Galapagos
Hostal Gardner Galapagos
#13 of 44 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Elizabeth

Property: Hostal Elizabeth
Address: Charles Darwin Avenue, Puerto Ayora 593, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As we´re very close to the sea our third story rooms offer a wonderful ocean view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Elizabeth Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing