We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for the price”
Review of Hostal Elizabeth

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Ayora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Elizabeth
Ranked #38 of 57 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This hostel is in a great location. Right on Charles Darwin Ave (or what becomes it). Close to the supermarket and everything else. I stayed in room 15, it was on the third floor. It was a nice room, had a nice breeze off the ocean. You can see the ocean in the distance. The bed was decent. The shower sucked though. It got warm but you got a mild buzz whenever you touched the shower head or water knob (shower head heats the water so is electrically powered) and the spray is in the opposite direction of where it should be, you basically have to hug the back wall to get the spray.

The staff was very nice though spoke very little English. I paid 25$ for one person, a fair price considering the cost of everything on the island. I could have paid less if I had gotten a room on the first floor (16$ I was quoted) and abstained from the hot water. I stayed four nights, if my Spanish was better I am sure I could have negotiated a lower rate for staying for 4 nights.

Their Wifi was short range, slow, and had an intermittent connection. But then again, most places had this issue so it isn't a negative on their part. They do not give you breakfast though they did give me a coke and a croissant one morning. They also allowed me to stow my large suitcase there while I went to Isabella island for three nights.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NDomino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

first of all the good part - price, location and friendly owner/workers. that is so important! yes, it can be improved. first room the shower wasnt warming up but they changed me immediately to another room with a couple of other minor problems which were fixed (i was even asked if i wanted to move to a third room but you 've got to have some adaptation spirit and i declined the offer). this is puerto ayora, you are in the centre of everything litteraly steps from most places you need to go to, and you are paying 20 dollars for a single room which was actually a matrimonial (bigger than normal) bed, two pillows, and a fan, which you dont really need in the evening because of the breeze. the owner made it very clear that internet signal is only for the patio and the common areas, but i actually even could get a signal on the second floor at times. for this price you cannot expect 'luxury'. you get what you pay for, and i think you get it with friendly people. dont expect total clensiness and impecable bathrooms, if you want that, be prepared to spend 20 more dollars at least somewhere else.

Room Tip: just check and make sure that the toilet flushes, the water heater works. you will always be offered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabiofort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Now known as Hostel Elizabeth, it was money well spent.

Complete staff was very friendly. Rooms were clean and cleaned daily. Place was very relaxed and safe. Solid WiFi in the communal area.

Great location! Place is right on the main strip but far enough away from bars/restaurants to hear any of it.

Room Tip: They have three stories of rooms, I believe the top rooms have a view of the nice harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackmailman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We have been staying in the hotel for over 8 days and we loved it. The rooms are clean, the internet is working and the crew is very nice and helpfull. I would recommend this place to everyone :-) It is close to the harbor, the beach and to the darwin center, so you can do everything from this hotel. And the best thing is, that it is cheap :-)

Room Tip: The top rooms has i view of the hole city :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANSKO99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

hey all, extremely convenient location with rooms at great price and wifi provided at the main area. i stayed alone for 3 nights at around 16.80 a room. for your own privacy, your own toilet and a nice fan at night. it is well worth the price. town/supermarket is literally 1 min away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samuelchoudhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of our island hopping and one night before leaving. It is located in a great place, very close to the pier. We arrived at around 1 and were immediately given a room. Senora Vilma was very friendly and with her small amount of english and my small amount of spanish we had no problem communicating. We even had coffee with her every morning and she shared breakfast with us.

the room is clean and had more than enough space for what we needed. The wall of shelving was nice to unload a bit. The water was warmish, not hot. We found we got shocked if we touched the nozzle too much during the shower, but most of the time didn't have a problem at all. We paid 39.20 for two people in a room with a t.v.. I didn't know you could get a cheaper room without a t.v., 30 dollars for two. So we did that on the last night.

There was a nice courtyard and free wifi. Vilma had a lot of information about the cost of taxi's, water taxi's etc. Despite a language barrier we didn't have too much trouble communicating. She and the helper Lorraina were also very interested to look at our pictures after a tour. We were very comfortable there.

Room Tip: ask for a room without a t.v. if you want an even better deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbhdIowaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

we stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and like it there. The owner was very friendly and greeted us as if we were friends. the hotel is located in the center of town. the room was spacious and clean. unfortunately, the bathroom was included in the room which means that the walls of the bathroom didn't reach the ceiling. everyday we got new towels, showers were always hot. television didn't work.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntiSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
888 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
442 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
669 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
#8 of 47 in Puerto Ayora
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Elizabeth

Address: Charles Darwin Avenue, Puerto Ayora 593, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: £15 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As we´re very close to the sea our third story rooms offer a wonderful ocean view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Elizabeth Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing