We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place with friendly staff”
Review of Villa Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Laguna
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This hotel is a really nice little hotel in the middle of santa cruz. It has a lovely pool and a nice large room. Plus the staff are really nice and friendly and they give you a nice breakfast which is included in the cost of the room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

Villa Laguna is a comfortable hotel. It's fairly small and only has a dining room and a pool, but you really don't need anything else since you'll spend your time touring the Galapagos.

(Be mindful: touring the Islands is all about a natural experience with a lot of outdoors activities such as hiking, diving, exploring, etc. If you want a fully relaxing, spa-like trip, this is NOT your destination).

The room was very clean and neat, the bedding was great and I got both a/c and cable tv. Breakfast was good but nothing out of the ordinary. Service was great and all the staff I met was very kind and worried about guests' comfort. The only reason I don't Villa Laguna a 5-star review is because the wireless internet didn't work in my room. That for me was a big issue since I'm a journalist and it was a work trip.

I checked and it did work in the common areas and the speed was decent enough for the bandwidth available throughout the Galapagos.

Location is just a 5 minute walk from the docks in Puerto Ayora where you have access to a number of good quality restaurants (I particularly recommend IL Giardino), and about a 20 minute walk (or 5 minute - $1.50 cab ride) from Charles Darwin station, where you get up-close with iguanas and the giant turtles.

All in all, a good hotel experience within a reasonable budget.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with wifi (if it's a must for you).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rafael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

Our agent booked the hotel, so we did not have much of a say...... The service was really good, the breakfast was below average.....

THE Rooms were good, but my bed was dirty when i checked it in, THE staff changed THE bed Sheets when o told them..... There are no phones in rooms!!

THE toilet was ok, but the sink would not drain easily.....

The hotel can improve a lot if they pay attention to the small stuff....

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanicoloman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This is a very comfortable hotel and especially so for the Galapagos. The beds are comfy and the bedding is good quality. Our room had a lovely terrace that overlooked the small but nice swimming pool. The AC worked well and the rooms had minibars. The breakfast was good.People, for the Galapagos this is top notch! It is in a quiet neighborhood and a short walk from the lovely Bahia Tortuga beach.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

It's really quite a shame that this hotel is receiving poor reviews because in my experience it was an immaculately kept, very clean and secure hotel. It's not a luxury hotel and it seems some of the reviewers expected a 5-star luxury resort from a moderately priced (though perfectly comfortable and clean) hotel. Yes, the decor may not be as stylish or modern as what you'd find in a New York City boutique hotel . . . but you're in the Galapagos, in a moderately priced (for the Islands) hotel, so make sure your expectations are set appropriately.

As far as the location goes, while you're not right on the main drag, the location is not bad at all. The Villa Laguna is on a quiet, cobblestone-like street just a 5-minute walk from the water; you're also fairly close to the path that takes you to Tortuguero beach.

I've traveled in the Galapagos several times to know a shoddy hotel from a decent hotel. Don't let one person's cranky opinion steer you away from the Villa Laguna.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SolidGoldCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed here on a package deal with scuba iguana and found it to be excellent. Its close enough to walk to town in 3 minutes but slightly removed so you are not on the main street. The included breakfast is sufficient and the staff are always striving to ensure customer satisfaction. The room was spacious, clean and neat, and the cleaners serviced it daily. The staff were amazingly helpful, with the man on reception, Marc Antonio, being an absolute delight to deal with. He really does everything in his power to help you, he is forever making sure you are okay and his presence installs faith that everything will be alright with your room and anything else that needs doing when he is there. And he does it all with a smile, making it a real pleasurable experience. He certainly made an impression on us and I wont forget him in a hurry. We never used the pool or turned on the t.v but all were functional while we were there. Would return without question.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suritan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
332 reviews
4.3 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#11 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#12 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
682 reviews
5.7 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Laguna

Address: Calle Moises Brito s/n | Barrio las Ninfas, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: £104 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Laguna 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Laguna is a hostel with 19 rooms of standard, superior and deluxe quality. Each room have cable TV, hot water, air conditioning and refrigerator. It features an outdoor pool and a restaurant. It is within walking distance of the Lagoon of Nymphs, the boardwalk and the city center where you can find ATMs, restaurants, bars and souvenir shops. Just 15 minutes' walk from the Visitor Center of the Galapagos National Park. The airport is located about 1 hour by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Villa Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Laguna Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing