We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Laguna
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

The only relevant problem is water pressure. Also there is only cold water and hot water, no middle ground.

Besides that little issue, the place is very clean, the staff is very friendly and the complementary breakfast is tasty. Also great location, 3 minutes walk to the mainstreet.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andres K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    34
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
21
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at the Villa Laguna in Puerto Ayora for one night before taking a Galapagos cruise. What a wonderful little hotel. It is centrally located in town, with everything within walking distance. It is clean, the decor is simple, but very comfortable. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The pool was a very refreshing way to cool down after an afternoon of hiking and exploring.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here on the beginning of a Galapagos boat tour. It is tucked away but close to town. Lovely ambiance and service, and a charming pool. The beds are a bit hard and pillows could be softer, but it is so lovely that it works anyway. Breakfast was quite nice, and all the wood touches are very attractive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 42itis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Lovely hotel, off the main street for peace & quiet. It is a 5 minute walk to the harbor, and the main street. Staff were very helpful, although be prepared to use your Spanish, as communication was an issue without a guide to interpret. There is a pool for relaxation, and the beach is also not that far away. The walk to Tortuga Bay took about an hour from here. Beds were comfortable, and the rooms were clean. All rooms are walk-up, so if you cannot carry your bags up, this is not the best place for you. Breakfast was included and was very nicely done!

Room Tip: All rooms are a little noisy with neighbor dogs barking, but it was not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diverbe49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed here for a total of four nights over the course of two stays in Nov/Dec 2013 and were really happy. It's nice - especially once you've ventured to other islands and you know your way around. The basics:

1. Be ready to climb the stairs and carry your own bags. While this might seem obvious to a backpacker, this is an upscale hotel for this island so if you're toting heavy bags or suitcases, don't assume there's a bellman to help. This is not a hostel and you'll know that based on pricing. There are very nice guys working often at the front desk, but other times, it may just be a petite girl working so don't assume someone can carry your bags. The stairs are stable but if your bags are heavy, they may leave you wishing you'd practiced the stairmill more before your trip!

2. Breakfasts are nice - get your juice and light bites before they're gone. There is indoor seating for breakfast, but it's also lovely out by the pool at the covered patio tables. We rarely even crossed paths with other travelers. This is a quiet hotel. I'm guessing the owners live on-site so there is a small dog that you may hear barking. You'll get used to it and you can always ask for a quiet room upon checkin.

3. If you use a third party to book this location, you'll pay more. Book directly to save a little on your stay. The price point of this hotel is very fair for the location and accommodations - there are plenty of budget stay locations in town. The location is worth the added price. It's a super quick walk to everything - two blocks to the ferry, restaurants, shopping, ATM, market, lake, etc., so it makes it quieter and easy to rest.

4. Wifi is tricky at first but once you figure it out, it's PERFECT. There are two separate routers - one that works beautifully by the pool and another one that supports the sun deck on the 2nd floor. Depending where your room is located, you may or may not get access unless you're in one of these areas. Just ask in advance or position yourself appropriately for access.

5. Purified water is freely available from the dispenser on the second floor in the little indoor/outdoor TV seating area. No one told us about this but we found it on our own and refilled our bottles all the time - it was such a money saver and so convenient.

6. The pool area is lovely. We had no interest in swimming - we were on a beautiful island obviously and we also were doing snorkeling and diving anyway - but there are three reclining pool chairs where you can sit. Some days there were soft towels rolled up and waiting. If you don't see them, just ask. This property has everything - sometimes you just have to look, observe or ask.

7. Hairdryers are provided in the rooms. The in-room safe is very small but sufficient for passports or other smaller items. The safes are finicky though. Plan for it not to work - just ask the front desk for their bypass key and use this as your primary way in/out. It works like a charm.

8. Don't expect the front desk staff to be overly assertive. This is a lovely property and my guess is that there are some cultural norms in effect. The staff will ensure you have a quiet, peaceful and private experience. If you need something, just ask. They're very helpful and kind. They just won't normally initiate conversation. As with most islands in the Galapagos, plan to speak Spanish. Few people speak English and they will appreciate the ability to communicate with you in their language.

9. This is an island, so set your expectations of the restroom accordingly in your room. The water temps can be more difficult to regulate than mainland locations, the sinks will drain slower, and the toilets are finicky. If you follow the basic principals for an island (short showers to conserve water, no paper in toilets, holding down the handle through the full flush, etc.), you'll be just fine. Bring your own fancy hair and soap products, or be appreciative of the modest supplies you receive in the room. There are liquid dispensers that may or may not be to your liking.

10. Rooms are interesting. We ended up with three twin beds even through it was just two of us on our first stay. The second stay, we had two twins. While this might not seem usual for Americans to have twin beds, this is very common in the Galapagos and it works perfectly when traveling with friends. You'll be so tired, you won't move anyway. Plus, it's great to have more walking space in the rooms and more room to open up your bags and spread out your items. We had water bottles waiting for us in both rooms and little chocolates on the nightstands were a sweet touch.

While this property is not perfect, my rating is based on comparisons during my island stays in Galapagos. For the price point, service, amenities, location and our personal travel priorities, we absolutely loved our stay here, enough to return for an additional night when our travel plans shifted.

Room Tip: As for a room near wifi if that is critical for you. Otherwise, enjoy it in common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuburbtoSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

This hotel is a really nice little hotel in the middle of santa cruz. It has a lovely pool and a nice large room. Plus the staff are really nice and friendly and they give you a nice breakfast which is included in the cost of the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Villa Laguna is a comfortable hotel. It's fairly small and only has a dining room and a pool, but you really don't need anything else since you'll spend your time touring the Galapagos.

(Be mindful: touring the Islands is all about a natural experience with a lot of outdoors activities such as hiking, diving, exploring, etc. If you want a fully relaxing, spa-like trip, this is NOT your destination).

The room was very clean and neat, the bedding was great and I got both a/c and cable tv. Breakfast was good but nothing out of the ordinary. Service was great and all the staff I met was very kind and worried about guests' comfort. The only reason I don't Villa Laguna a 5-star review is because the wireless internet didn't work in my room. That for me was a big issue since I'm a journalist and it was a work trip.

I checked and it did work in the common areas and the speed was decent enough for the bandwidth available throughout the Galapagos.

Location is just a 5 minute walk from the docks in Puerto Ayora where you have access to a number of good quality restaurants (I particularly recommend IL Giardino), and about a 20 minute walk (or 5 minute - $1.50 cab ride) from Charles Darwin station, where you get up-close with iguanas and the giant turtles.

All in all, a good hotel experience within a reasonable budget.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with wifi (if it's a must for you).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rafael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#7 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
7.8 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#12 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
5.7 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Laguna

Property: Villa Laguna
Address: Calle Moises Brito s/n | Barrio las Ninfas, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Laguna 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Laguna is a hostel with 19 rooms of standard, superior and deluxe quality. Each room have cable TV, hot water, air conditioning and refrigerator. It features an outdoor pool and a restaurant. It is within walking distance of the Lagoon of Nymphs, the boardwalk and the city center where you can find ATMs, restaurants, bars and souvenir shops. Just 15 minutes' walk from the Visitor Center of the Galapagos National Park. The airport is located about 1 hour by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Laguna Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing