We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee in town and much more!”
Review of Galapagos Deli

Galapagos Deli
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Pizza, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Galapagos Deli serves the best natural homemade icecream in the island . Our delicious thin crust pizza is also renowned by our global customers.We also offer an exquisite freshly ground coffee and sandwiches made ​​with homemade bread. We open from tuesday to sunday from 07:00am to 22:00pm.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town and much more!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This place should be packed! We've been a few times and it has been quiet but consistently great. The coffee is what really won me over. The cafe con leche was the best I've had since coming to South America! Good rich flavorful coffee. We heard that the ice cream was also great and that was no lie. As well we had "cuatro estaciones" and "vegetariano" pizzas today and they were also delicious. The thin crust was nice and the toppings flavorful and fresh. The staff, although they had limited English, were friendly and helpful. A nice clean atmosphere with WIFI. I will definitely go back and recommend it for all!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whiteshuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    176
    29
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Village, Texas
Level Contributor
219 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Ranked #1 for a reason”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

In most places, this deli would not stand out, but it is a popular island restaurant and the food was good. The best part about the deli was that the staff was very aware of who arrives and what is going on. We arrived at peak dinner and there were no tables. We ordered our food and waited for someone to leave. When a local couple went to leave, they signaled a another local group who came after us to take their table. The staff saw what happened and asked the new group to wait and gave us the table. :) That got them the excellent rating from me.

The deli is next to Lo Lo's which is another great restaurant, but neither of these are on the water front, but only a few blocks walk from the water front. You can tell they are both well liked because of the local following as well as the tourists. The Deli serves a small selection of sandwiches and a full variety of thin crust pizzas. It was the best pizza I have had in South America to date.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food on a quiet block”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

i loved the fresh juices, the pizza and the sandwiches. The cappuccino is the best in town (and I tried the cappuccino all over Puerto Ayora) and lot's of people came there for ice cream. Friendly people too. It's open on sundays and closed on mondays.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MarionvdW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Meon, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Excellant quick lunch, good food.One of my daughter's favourate places to eat. Would recommend to all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjorie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Way more than a deli!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had a hard time finding Galapagos Deli. So, let me start there. It is not on the corner of Baltra & Tomas de Berlanga. It is on Tomas de Berlanga, about midway between Baltra and Isla Plaza.

We were so glad we found this gem! We went everyday at least once for the 4 days we were on Santa Cruz. We tried most things on the menu, including the pizzas, salads, sandwiches, $5 breakfast, humita, and the gelato. Everything was delicious! The staff speaks English and are all very helpful and nice. They also have clean bathrooms and wifi. I was sad to leave this island because we loved this restaurant so much. I especially love the delicious, fresh juices and the gelato. I thought the value was pretty good too. For example, the gelato was only 25 cents more than some of the cheaper places in town, but the quality more than made up for the price difference.

FYI, they are closed on Mondays.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank NYC_angus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galapagos Deli also viewed

Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 

Been to Galapagos Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing