We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Las Grietas

Las Grietas
Book In Advance
More Info
US$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Santa Cruz Island Tour Galapagos Islands
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I hear you need to go here in the morning when no one else is there. I was there around 11 and it was crowded! However, it was still great. I brought my snorkel gear, jumped in the water, and swam 2 minutes to the other side. When I reached the rocks at the other side, I saw a long 2-3 foot blue eel swim into the rocks at the very bottom. I was lucky.

A great free place to visit if you are in the area. Plus the hike is pretty nice past the salt area. Make sure to wear sturdy shoes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ricolola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    919
    480
    205
    31
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The hike is the best part...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Take a water taxi from PA to the Angermayer Inn. Then hike for about an hour (and stop at the boat dock west of the Salt Marshes). There are Marine Iguanas, seals and turtles (in December they were mating).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Its just like in the travel books”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

The track is not suitable for those who have walking issues as its just rocks you walk on, but when you get there its perfect, clear water to snorkel in - fantastic

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MickJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Had a great time here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This place is great. It is definitely one of the two best things you can do for free in the Galapagos. The hike in is not very scenic, but do not be discouraged. You are walking through a tidal marsh so do not expect too much. There is a trail side bar about half way there-- which is fun. Finch Bay Hotel was along the way and we stopped for drinks and lunch --it is great-- but a little pricey. I would love to stay there. Once there-- make sure you swim-- it is great. A GREAT TIP we were given-- go early-- before noon. We were there at 9:30 and had the place largely to ourselves--then hiked back for lunch at Finch Bay. Saw lots of people hiking in as we were hiking out.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Cool place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

we stayed very close to Las Grietas and visited there several times during our stay in Galapagos. It was fun and it is unique. The kids jumped off the cliffs into the salty water that is crystal clear. The area around it was not kept very clean. The locals travel there quite a bit and they left all kinds of plastic bottles, wrappers and junk behind. Also, there are no public facilities close by...so be careful where you step. There were families spending hours there and there are always a few that have to go ;)

There is no stroller, handicap access. Many people wore sandals walking there but you do go through rocky areas and I saw plenty of people tripping, misstepping, stubbing their toes etc.

Sometimes when we went there, we were the only ones there and that was nice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveSunBeachMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Grietas also viewed

Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 

Been to Las Grietas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing