We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint little castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Castillo Galapagos
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint little castle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Booked this place for our arrival on the Galápagos Islands. It's a beautiful castle made from lava stones.
Our room was large, had 2 little balconies - I felt like Shakespeare's Juliet!
We had a leak in our roof on the first night unfortunately - if we could've been bothered to tell her, she would have moved us to another room but we didn't actually say anything until the next day so we can't really complain!
The owner was a wonderful host and makes the most fabulous fruit juices!
It was a little further out of town than most of the places but in a little town like Puerto Ayora that doesn't matter too much.
If you just want a cheap clean room you'll probably find somewhere cheaper in town. But if you want somewhere with a lot of character then this place is perfect! I spent my birthday in PA and it was wonderful going back to "our castle" at the end of the night!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    11
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We only had one full day and two half days to spend in the Galapagos. When we checked in, Alejandro asked what we were interested in doing, and he recommended several options to make our short stay as productive as possible. He then phoned the taxis, and tour operators, and set up our tours, and also collected the money if necessary. The tours were exactly as he described, and we got more in than if we had tried to do it on our own. He also has several bikes that are available on a first come - first served basis for free.

He would have the breakfast ready by the time we were ready to get up and go, all we had to do was ask the night before. The house is very unique and consist of several rooms, we got one with a private bath that could sleep 4 or 5 people. There were no bug issues in our room, there was a gentle breeze blowing all night and everyone slept well. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The WiFi worked pretty well, and there was a TV in the common area, as well as a desktop computer available for use by the guests. All the bathroom fixtures worked well. There are some construction features that will seem odd if you have only stayed in US hotels, but it is just the way things are done in Ecuador. Every room I saw was clean, and the service was great.

It is a few blocks to thre main drag, but is actually closer to the entrance to Tortuga Bay than many of the other hotels. Also, the bikes are usually available anyway.

Be aware that there is a mandatory service charge and tax that will be added to the total price, part of which had to be paid in cash, but this is true of most of the hotels on the islands. The tax is 12% and the service charge is 10%.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

When we arrived, they had no record of our reservation. But they did have rooms available so we stayed there. Originally intended to stay 2 nights, but after the first night we looked elsewhere. The rooms had not yet been cleaned, presumably because they didn't expect us (we booked 3 rooms). Only one room had A/C and there was no water for a shower in the morning in one of our rooms (I don't mean there wasn't any hot water - I mean zero water came out of the shower or the sink). I'm no stranger to hostels and don't need the nicest place, and this place is definitely...unique, but I expect more at this price point. For $30 more per room we stayed at a FAR superior hotel on the waterfront our second night. Spend the extra money and get a good night's sleep. You'll also enjoy being walking distance to the waterfront where almost all of the restaurants and activities are located.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dillon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

The hostel is in a quiet, residential part of town, about 10 minutes walk from the centre of town. It is a lovely castle, with many unique and redeeming features. It is also worth mentioning that it's next to a mangrove, so the area is humid and full of bugs...

We had a great large room at the top of the building, with a balcony and upstairs room, so suitable for a family. However, the room had no air conditioning. The real downside to the room was it was infested with bugs during the night. We opened the windows (which had netting for the bugs) at night, due to the humidity, but unfortunately we realised during the night the netting hadn't worked. We woke up to hundreds of bugs in the room, in the bedroom and bathroom the walls were covered. We were both bitten during the night, and had severe swelling for the next few days. We had no sleep after finding hundreds of bugs of course!

It was a shame as the hotel and staff were really great. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Perhaps we were just unlucky. If they have fixed the netting in this room, then I would recommend staying here. Otherwise it is a nightmare if you want to get some sleep...

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FranglaisNomadique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here four nights in total with great host, Alejandro.

The Good:
Rooms - we stayed in the front tower and the back tower and was fun. Themed right down to window shutters and lights. Big beds and plenty of space. Fridges available in all rooms. Hot water and table or sofas and a hammock in rooms too :) no ac but very airy rooms with good ventilation.
Staff - Alejandro will do pretty much anything to make stay comfortable and easy. Is knowledgeable of the area.
Value - puerto ayoro isn't a cheap place. We had no accommodation booked and ended up walking around for about an hour looking for places to stay and were either ridiculously priced or had screaming kids and a disco on the ground floor. The castle is in a generally quiet area and if off-season or plenty of availability Alejandro may organize a deal with you.
Gardens - gorgeous. Swing in a hammock or walk around.

The Bad:
One night out of the four we had a disco down the road an was on a Monday night as well?!? Not much Alejandro can do about that though. Put earplugs in and went back to sleep.

The Ugly:
Nothing ugly about staying in a castle!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We walked around Puerto Ayora looking for accommodation for a few nights. Until we stumbled across this place, the others we had encountered were either too pricey, unwelcoming or just a little too shabby. We loved El Castillo! The rooms were clean, spacious and the fan was more than adequate to cool the room. It's a 15 minute walk to the port, 10 minutes from the kiosk street, and 5 minutes from a small supermarket/s. And taxis are just $1 and frequent if you'd prefer. Alejandro was very accommodating sorting out the rooms we wanted, leaving luggage as well as with local information too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanamiPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

A little way out of the centre of Puerto Ayora, but still that's only a ten minute walk from the water front, and you get to see a little life on the way there apart from travel agents and souvenir shop.

The building is a castle-like structure built of lava and we had a very large room with a little turret and hammock too. Clean and comfortable, the shower was a little slow to warm up but that wasn't a problem as it was hardly Arctic conditions outside.

The hosts were very pleasant and helpful and a generous breakfast was provided that kept us going for the whole day.

The only criticsim is that credit cards weren't accepted. This would have been useful so we could keep hold of our cash as we were having problems withdrawing money from ATMs. Otherwise very nice and we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_boy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.9 mi away
Galapagos Best Hostel
Galapagos Best Hostel
#6 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
El Descanso del Petrel
#12 of 44 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Capitan Max B&B
Capitan Max B&B
#4 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Galapagos Native
Galapagos Native
#7 of 44 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
#6 of 44 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Seymour
North Seymour
#10 of 44 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Castillo Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castillo Galapagos

Property: El Castillo Galapagos
Address: Barrio Pampas Coloradas, Calle Isabela, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Castillo Galapagos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely place, built in volcanic stone, local travel agent and everything you'll need to guarantee satisfaction on your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your El Castillo Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castillo Galapagos Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing