We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Galapagos Best Hostel
Ranked #6 of 54 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great Hostel”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

very friendly staff, a free walking-tour through the town with kevin, free drinking-water, clean rooms, warm shower, big kitchen etc. everything was perfect!!! had a awesome vacation on the galapagos islands!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    106
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
113
150
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Had a great stay! The room was clean and spacy, and kevin was very accommodating and gave me a tour of the town with several recommendations for food, day trips, and things to do.
Thanks for having me, Kevin. I will visit again in the future
-Ryan

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This place is ideal if you are planning an independent trip and are trying to keep costs down.

The rooms are spacious, pleasant and have lots of added extras eg free purified water, a sink, microwave and hotplates and a fridge. This is great if you want to avoid eating at restaurants the whole time.

Kevin was great and was always really helpful. We did the tour which really helped us to get our bearings. He walks you round town pointing out good restaurants, which banks to use, where to get trips organised etc. It was a great introduction to the island. He was also really helpful in organising a taxi to the highlands and helping us find our way around.

We stayed six nights in total, with a three night gap in the middle to go to Isabela. There is free locker storage if you're going away for a few days.

The wifi is a bit dodgy, but that's true across the island. There is a computer to use on the ground floor although we didn't need it so I don't know how good it is.

The location is OK. It's a bit of a walk from the centre of town, but all the taxis have a fixed rate of $1 so we used them most of the time. We did walk it a couple of times and it took about 15-20 minutes and felt very safe (all of Galapagos feels very safe)

I was really pleased to find somewhere so reasonably priced with private rooms and bathrooms on Galapagos and Kevin really helped make our stay an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caterpillar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My friend and I had a great experience at Galapagos Best Home Stay. Kevin is more than accomodating and has an encyclopeadic knowledge of the attractions on Santa Cruz. Rooms are spotless, beds are large and comfy and the shower is the best we have had in South America. Thanks for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garry1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I are mid 20s with moderate travel experience. We spent 23 days in South America staying in cheap hostels to fancier hotels. I have given this hostel a 5 star rating, not because it's as good as the 5 star luxury hotel located on the ocean with butler service..ect. But because it's a great value for the expense. If your looking for a fancy hotel with a modern western feel, look elsewhere. If your looking for a clean room with loads of helpful information to go and spend your time exploring the Galapagos, go ahead and book this hostel. A person could pick at minor faults with the hostel, but its rated so high for its value - not luxury.

Some bullet point info for those of you who like details...

- When you arrive off the dock, only pay 1$ for the cab ride, not per person
- Its a 20-25 min walk to main area ( we always got a taxi in, then would walk back at night to walk off dinner). But cabs are only $1 anywhere in city
- To be clear, there is nothing around this hostel except locals homes. You literally will find nothing to do for the first 15-20 minutes of walking towards town.
- Safe area. Santa Cruz is safe anywhere, even at night.
- DO THE FREE GUIDED TOUR. It sounds a bit lame, but it helps a lot.
- We had private room with bathroom. Massive clean room. Showers could go hot (rare in our experience). AC works fantastic. Also very quiet at night (rare in our exp). Massive jug of free water provided.
- Unbeknown to us, we could cook in the room with all the plates and utensils provided - for you dollar pinchers.
- Beach towels he will lend you. Great not to have to worry about that.
- Wifi is not great, in fact awful. This goes for most places in Santa Cruz though.
- No television, but your in the Galapagos. I didn't even notice until last day.
- Kevin is very helpful. He doesn't speak Spanish, but he knows about everything that goes on in Santa Cruz. So take advantage of his brain!


Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank i3urt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Only stayed here one night but really enjoyed it -- clean, comfortable, quiet. The owner Kevin was a wealth of information about Galapagos and really helped me plan out my independent visit to the islands. Also, when they were booked for the following night, Kevin was kind enough to help me find alternate lodging nearby and gave the cab driver directions in Spanish. Super nice. Thanks so much Kevin! :-)

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marfa, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed for 7 nights back in May. It was everything that had been advertised. As promised Kevin gave us a guided tour of the town pointing out restaurants, tour agencies, ATMs, etc. and informing us of how things work on the island e.g. taxis, events, and sights. Kevin continued to be helpful the entire stay and made us feel so welcome and comfortable. The accommodations were clean and included a fully functioning kitchenette, hot shower, plenty of purified drinking water, towels, and a comfortable bed. Kevin was very pleasant and always ready to accommodate and make our stay on Puerto Ayora enjoyable. As previously mentioned the hostel is on the edge of town but a taxi is only one dollar and easy to find coming or going. The times we chose to walk to town were a welcome change and an interesting way to experience the flavor of the whole town. While there we took a few day trips to the other islands and after those very full days it was nice to know that we would be returning to such a comfortable and quiet space. Highly recommended and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#10 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.6 mi away
White House Galapagos
White House Galapagos
#8 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Germania Casa de Hospedaje
Germania Casa de Hospedaje
#16 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
#6 of 44 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Galapagos Dreams Hostal
Galapagos Dreams Hostal
#12 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galapagos Best Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galapagos Best Hostel

Property: Galapagos Best Hostel
Address: Barrio Escalesia, Calle Piqueros, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Galapagos Best Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL OF OUR ROOMS HAVE AIR CONDITIONING AND YOU WILL BE GLAD THAT WE DO! The Galapagos Best Hostel is located in Puerto Ayora on Santa Cruz Island Galapagos. Which is one of the main hubs to explore the Galapagos. We are proud to offer affordable prices unmatched by other hotels in the Galapagos Islands. With all new Modern accommodations that have Kitchenettes You will wake up refreshed and ready to go out and explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Galapagos Best Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galapagos Best Hostel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing