We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Germania Casa de Hospedaje
Ranked #15 of 56 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The rooms are noisy but the location right by a road makes it very noisy. There was noise from neighbours, dogs and traffic all day long and from early in the morning. It's a 2 minute walk down to the harbour though so the location is good in that sense.

The rooms are quite big and there's free wifi. The free breakfast isn't great - a fried egg, a piece of bread, a cup of water to make some instant coffee and a fruit juice. The owners, however, are nice and helpful. I wouldn't stay here again because of the noise but as long as you have earplugs you'll be ok.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank owl_428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

Fantastic service, great breakfast, kind and attentive owners, great price, fantastic rooms.

This place is pure class, its a shame they are a minute or so walk from the sea front as they deserve a more fitting location- this is the best place for early morning walks to tortuga bay and is opposite the fantastic serene laguna ninjas.

The rooms are better than most hotels. The hot water is provided by 2x combi boilers in the garage so you do actually get hot water if you want/need it. Breakfast is much better than most places on the island bread, jam, coffee, cheese, eggs.

Good luck to this wonderful family, would stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snorkles214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The room was nice, big, and clean equipped with a tv and wifi internet service. The hostel is located in a quieter area close to the main center of the town. When the owner and his family were present, the service was friendly. However, they often weren't home or at the front desk even when we had scheduled a time to meet beforehand. I had gone to the front desk multiple times after the owner told me he would be there and he eventually showed up later on. Additionally, when I initially arrived, the front desk was closed even when I had already planned a reservation to be there. After waiting patiently for some time and no one showed up, I was about to leave and look around for another hostel in town (there are plenty nearby in Puerto Ayora), but the owner luckily came. The hostel is nice overall, but the service is unreliable and may leave you stranded.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane10nmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed at this location several times during my two week trip to the Galapagos. The proprietor, Rafael, was kind and accomodating, allowing us to leave our luggage while we explored other islands. He assisted us with travel planning, tickets and tours, which were significantly below the going price from the travel agents in town. The room was clean, cool, and had ample hot water. The hammocks on the second floor were an unexpected treat. It is across the street from the Laguna de las Ninfas and a 5 minute walk to town and a two minute walk to the bargain food kiosks. I would be happy to stay here on my next visit to the Galapagos.

Room Tip: Room #2 was a family room, with two rooms and a partial kitchen. There were two comfy hammocks outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillaRosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I stayed here with my husband for our first 2 nights in the Galapagos. It was very clean and comfortable with a decent amount of space. We enjoyed our 2 nights here and then we moved on to another hotel because the price here was a bit over our budget. You can definitely find rooms that are clean with aircon for less than here, but you will have less space to move around and perhaps no internet in the room. We did have a power outage while we were here, but it was fixed very quickly. I'm not sure if it happened to the whole island or just this hotel. Overall a good hotel, but a little more expensive than other places in town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italiarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This was the best place I stayed at while in the Galapagos. The rooms are clean with air conditioning, cable TV, and WIFI. The price is fair and in fact very good for what you get in the private room. The best part though is the owner Rafael. He is very kind and helpful with all the needs you will have while on Santa Cruz. He will point out what places are good to go to and how to get there. I highly recommend Germania to anyone who will be spending time in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eduardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed for 30 days in this family owned hostel, the place is right in downtown and close to everything and main road. The rooms are big and nice, cleaning every day and with air con. Some of the rooms comes with kitchen if you asked for it (depends on duration and availability) that means you will have your own kitchen inside the room.

The Tortuga bay is walking distance from the hostel, and the hostel also right on the corner of Ninfa lagoon another attraction in Santa Cruz.

Captain Rafael the owner is a great person and so funny, he speaks English and knows the island very well. He can give you so many tips if you asked for.

There is a free wifi but very slow specially if the hostel is busy, it also don't work with MBA 2012 (it didn't work with me) but this was the case on all the island. Seems that there'd is a problem with the frequency or something.

Room comes with breakfast (not in our case as we were on discounted rate) but it start very early in the morning around 7 am and last until I guess 8 am! There is also cable TV most channels inn spanish and some movies/TV shows in English.

Overall the place is great for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2digitalnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
883 reviews
0.9 mi away
Galapagos Best Hostel
Galapagos Best Hostel
#8 of 56 in Puerto Ayora
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Germania Casa de Hospedaje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Germania Casa de Hospedaje

Address: Juan Montalvo and Moises Brito, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: £33 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Germania Casa de Hospedaje 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Germania Casa de Hospedaje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Germania Casa De Hospedaje Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing