We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Just completed a 1 week package, inclusive of meals and excursions. It was fabulous! Food was gourmet every meal, service was extremely attentive, and excursion guides were informative and quite helpful. Room was very comfortable and modern, Snorkeled with sealions, manta rays, penguins, turtles, and assorted fish. Visits to multiple islands via day trips from the hotel, with up-close observations of iguanas, frigate birds, blue-foot boobies, etc.. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janju10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finchbayhotel, General Manager at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Dear janju10,

Thank you very much for coming to Galapagos with us and thank you very much for your review, we love to hear your experience was fabulous, it is really hard not to be moved by the beauty of this National Park.

Best regards,

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 591 of 920 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2011

When I got to Finch Hotel I realized it was everything I needed for relaxing and having contact with the nature. The room was a bit small, but cosy enough, extremelly clean, beautifully decorated and the bed was really comfortable. I liked the fact that there is no TV on the room, it makes the nature experience more intense. The service is excellent, with a friendly staff whose main concern was making your stay pleasant. The manager was really available and hands on. The tours arranged by the hotel were first class and the location of the hotel excellent. I have travelled to many places, this was one of the best stays I had. Oh, I forgot about dinner and brakfast... outstanding. The only downside is the shower, not enough pressure, but if you consider that this is an Eco Hotel, it was Ok for me.

Room Tip: Certainly ask for a romm with view to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HKFrizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finchbayhotel, General Manager at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2011

Dear HKFrizzo,

Thank you very much for your review, it was a pleasure to meet you and be able to serve you, we are very happy to know your expectations were satisfied.

About the shower and water pressure: we do have special valves to save water, fresh water, we are surrounded by water in the island but there is no fresh-safe running water, we produce our own fresh water and we must save it, thank you for understanding.

Best regards,


Xavier Burbano de Lara T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We were on our honeymoon and wanted privacy and comfort while visiting the Galapagos. Also my wife has gotten sea sick on occasion in the past. We found the Finch Bay to be a wonderful allternative to small cruising ships to visit the islands.
Finch Bay has a great beachfront location, wonderful rooms and service, and fine food and drink. They had 2 wonderful guides who took us to different islands on their 45' cabin cruiser for day trips. The only issue is that you cannot see as many islands, but you do see plenty in comfort and style.

Room Tip: Request new oceanfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finchbayhotel, General Manager at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2011

Dear Rich510,

Many thanks for your review, we are very happy to know you enjoyed your trip to the Galapagos Islands with us and we want to thank you for choosing Finch Bay for your honeymoon!!!

If you don´t want to be part of a big group, if you are a romantic person and you like privacy, adventure, nature, silence, freedom and flexibility...this is the place for you...

Best regards.

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We stayed here for four nights after a 5-day tour which was good but busy. The Finch was a great place to relax after the tour. The location is wonderful with a lovely beach and pool. The hotel was very clean and the food was good. My only minor criticism is the time taken between ordering food and it arriving - noticed all the more because my two kids aged 7 and 4 don't have much patience! The staff were all very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay a lot. Although you have to take a ferry to get from the main town to the hotel, it only takes 2 minutes and there was usually a ferry waiting to take us over or it took 5 minutes or so to arrive. I'd recommend this place to anyone going to Puerto Ayora.
Tip: try the kayaks. We had a great trip round the bay and saw turtles, sea lions, blue-footed boobies etc and the kids loved being on the sea.
Las Grietas: an interesting walk but not so good for small children as it's rocky/muddy in places and longer than you think!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lockettorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finchbayhotel, General Manager at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2011

Dear lockettorres,

Many thanks for your review, i am glad to know you had a nice relaxing time here, this is the perfect place to rest and relax anytime, specially after a cruise around the islands...

Thank you too for your feedback about the food, we must become faster and we are working on that but at the same time our Chef wants to present every single meal/dish/course as a piece of art

The kayak ride is a must!

Best regards,


Xavier Burbano de Lara T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Beautiful views, the ocean waves, dipping in the pool & a very short walk back to your room. Our room was close enough to walk to the beach, pool, bar & restaurant but far enough away to ensure privacy. The service was excellent. Anything that you needed was there & if it wasn't then all one had to do was ask. I'm not sure about the value as it was in our package so am uncertain what the rooms cost per night. Our 4 day/ 3 night tour seemed a pretty good value to us. By our guide we were told that the only way to the hotel was by water taxi but the cost of this taxi wasn't even one dollar per person. It was about a 5 minute walk from the water taxi to the hotel through a lovely path filled with birds, flowers & trees. There was a place for shopping before you got on the water taxi to go to the hotel (total trip from the shopping to the hotel was about 15 minutes if you walk at a nice easy pace - the water taxis seemed to always be available). Airconditioning in the room, good water pressure, clean drinking water in your hotel room daily at no cost, shampoo & soap dispensers in the shower & by the sink that are filled readily. Good blowdryer in the room. A very reliable safe in the room. Excellent lighting for reading right over your head so you don't have to get up to turn off lights. No television in the room (not something that I miss though) but there was a telephone. They have souvenir drinking bottles for you in your room to refill as they care about the environment & recycling. I don't know where they got their staff from but everyone always had a smile & treated you like royalty without bothering you or having their hand out for a tip. The chefs were artists. Everything was well presented & tasted heavenly. The photos that they show on their site are real. I actually took a photo of the full moon, the heron, the pool & our room & they look pretty much the same as theirs.

Room Tip: Room 19 had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Csinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finchbayhotel, General Manager at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2011

Dear Csinos,


Thank you very much for your review, we are very happy to know you had a great time with us.
95% of the hotel´s staff is from Galapagos, we love this place, we love our island...we love to know you enjoyed this place like if it is your own island....we are at your service.

Best regards,

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

After a plane ride, a bus ride, a boat ride, another bus ride and then another boat ride (and then a mile hike across a beach) we finally arrived at Finch Bay. For where it was it was amazing, the food in particularly was the highest standard of anywhere in South and Central America that I've visited, and the service the best. The rooms were a bit on the tiny side and the bathrooms in need of refurb - but then you're on Galapagos and you've got to keep remembering that. Wifi was good, and the pool area lovely. I have to also recommend Metropolitan Touring - the slickest adventure organisers I've ever come across.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NathalieBAltrincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finchbayhotel, General Manager at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2011

Dear NathalieBAltrinchman,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate it and are delighted you had a great time at the hotel, we love your comments about the food, pool area and Metropolitan Touring.

The bathrooms of the Garden View Rooms will be brand new very soon!

Best regards,


Xavier Burbano de Lara T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

The staff at Finch Bay make sure your trip is wonderful. The food is top notch, and the staff leading the excursions are informative and a pleasure to spend time with.
It's not that convenient to get to the hotel. You have to take a water taxi followed by a 5 minute walk. But it's worth the trade-off.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimblew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finchbayhotel, General Manager at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2011

Dear jimblew,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of the Finch Bay. We’re very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel’s facilities.

i just want to mention that the 5 minutes walk to get to the hotel is along a beautiful withe sandy beach, at low tide or the intertidal zone the beach is full of shallow-water snails, bivalves, chitons, crabs and if you are curious enough you will be able to see octopusses, at high tide you can spot golden rays, eagle rays, turtles and even sharks!!!


Best regards,

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
6.4 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
363 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
332 reviews
4.8 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#11 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel

Address: Punta Estrada S/N | Puerto Ayora, Puerto Ayora 00000, Ecuador (Formerly Finch Bay Eco Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: £311 - £482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning hotel enjoys a peaceful and magical beachfront location in Puerto Ayora, on Santa Cruz Island. The 21 Garden View-rooms and 6 Ocean View suites hotel makes the ideal base for exploring the natural diversity and attractions of the island – including Tortuga Bay beach – and for taking day-trips to nearby islands, aboard its own, specialized yacht. The hotel also implements best practices in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Finch Bay Eco
Finch Bay Eco Puerto Ayora
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing