We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2013

and the included guide service was excellent with knowledgeable staff and lots of activity including hikes and snorkeling. The food preparation and service were flawless. The pool and bar area is attractive and comfortable.

Room Tip: choose a room away from the pool and don't forget your deet if you want to sit out after dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 892 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

After some days in lazy calm Isabela we arrvied back to Puerto Ayora and its hectic boat taxi activity. The Finch Bay Hotel is also more frentic, upscale, big with a large professional structure, Well-trained employees, courtesy all-around, clean rooms, all that for expensive $720 / night (2+1).

The breakfast is very bug, those that inlcude a noontime meal in it (rice, beans, shrimp, beef, etc.). You can chiise swimming in the large pool, or just give 10 steps and you are in a local's popular beach, with warm water and som snorkeling potencial. If you lile mingling with locals that's the place to be.

I recommend this hotel if you are not on a budget and if you are not in the 24x7 adventure mode, hanging around there at the pool watching the time go by is not a bad option indeed,

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank truccolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Comfortable rooms (with air-conditioning) and general areas with excellent freshly cooked food and friendly helpful service from all the staff - manager downwards. Nice swimming pool and plenty of shade.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank cornwallbraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My review is a little late. I stayed here Dec 10-19 of 2011. Turned out this was the PERFECT time to visit because it was soon after Thanksgiving, yet a little before the Christmas and New Years rush. The Hotel was maybe 50% full. Half the time the daily cruises had 3 guests on board. There were more workers than tourists!

The meals were excellent, like works of art.
The rooms and grounds are pristine. Clean, modern and quiet. They have their own water filtration system so there is no need to worry about the water quality.

Their naturalist and guides are excellent. Extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The tours are amazing. The Snorkeling is amazing.

What isn't amazing about this place? Nothing!

The only bad thing I can think of is by the end of my trip i was absolutely craving beef! I had to make a special trip into town to grab a hamburger at a bar. Which, by the way, was more like chopped steak formed into a patty. YUM!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitchsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed at Finch Bay in early Nov 2012. A very quiet, clean and friendly hotel. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome. Visits to surrounding islands are easily arranged. The kitchen staff always delivers something special each evening.

To top it off, my husband left his cell phone at the hotel, we discovered this just before we were going to fly home. The hotel manager, Carlos, sent the phone with a staff member and brought it to our hotel in Quito before we left. Can you imagine this level of service!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We loved every moment of our five day stay. The daily trips with a small yacht brought us to different islands where wild life is plantiful .
My husband went snorkeling every day under the supervision of experienced guides.
We both loved being guided by Mario, he was our preferred guide during our trip.
Breakfast was early but everyone was on time. Lunch was always prepared and served on the yacht. The dinner was at the hotel, food was great . We found great company and made friends with other tourists.We will return for a second trip.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Spent two nights here following a cruise around the islands, and was sorry I didn't arrange for three! We had an ocean view room, which was spacious and comfortable with excellent bathroom facilities. Breakfasts were great, and dinner was also excellent, though we found it a little odd that the only starters on offer for dinner were soups. The pool and facilities around it were smashing, including the very attentive staff. Two reservations: the walk from the water taxi when you arrive with luggage is tedious and unnecessary, especially as the hotel has facilities to take Suitcases from you. Secondly, the walls between the bedrooms are VERY thin, with inevitable aural consequences!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajsper3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
6.4 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Solymar
Hotel Solymar
#5 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel

Address: Punta Estrada S/N | Puerto Ayora, Puerto Ayora 00000, Ecuador (Formerly Finch Bay Eco Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: £295 - £490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning hotel enjoys a peaceful and magical beachfront location in Puerto Ayora, on Santa Cruz Island. The 21 Garden View-rooms and 6 Ocean View suites hotel makes the ideal base for exploring the natural diversity and attractions of the island – including Tortuga Bay beach – and for taking day-trips to nearby islands, aboard its own, specialized yacht. The hotel also implements best practices in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Finch Bay Eco
Finch Bay Eco Puerto Ayora
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing