We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
551 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
“Relaxing Hotel”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I will start off by saying that this is a fabulous hotel. We enjoyed our 3 night, 4 day stay immensely. Our room was very comfortable, the food was very good and it just felt like all of our holiday needs were met.

It is a bit challenging getting to this hotel. From the airport on Baltra Island you take a 10 minute bus ride to the water taxi. You take this water taxi to Santa Cruz Island - approx another 10 minute ride. We then took a bus to the opposite end of the Island. This took 45 minutes. Once here you take a 5 minute water taxi to the Finch Bay dock and then walk 5 minutes down the path to the hotel. Once you arrive it is definitely worth it.

We had booked our stay through Metropolitan Tours so they handled all of the logistics with getting our luggage to and from the hotel and airport. A nice perk with so many transportation changes.

As we arrived at the hotel we were given a refreshing glass of juice and shown to our room. We were given a garden view room on the main floor. It was located in a beautiful, peaceful courtyard. We found the room to be spacious enough. We had two benches for our two small suitcases - there was a large table - a nice wardrobe with plenty of shelves and hangers. The safe could also be found in the wardrobe. The bathroom had a nice sized counter and a shower. No bathtub - which wasn't really an issue.

The first evening -after our 1/2 day tour on Santa Cruz - we sat by the pool and ordered a nice bottle of wine. As the evening mists rolled in we moved to the open lobby and watched. Very relaxing.

The food that we had each day was all good. The breakfasts are excellent with numerous options. There are several choices of breads and buns - sausages and bacon - cheeses and cold meats -eggs (usually boiled) - cereal - fresh fruit - smoothies - and even some hot fish, veggies and rice.

Our dinners here were always very good. We found the appetizers and soups to be exceptional, while the main courses were okay but didn't meet the high standard of the other courses. Some of the appies we had included smoked salmon and a shrimp quinoa that was amazing. The soups were a fish soup, a consommé and cream with broccoli. Main courses varied between fish, beef and chicken. Always with a vegetarian option.

A couple of tips. It is easy to take either a water taxi (0.60pp) or the free Finch Bay boat to town. There is a supermarket right on the corner where you can buy snacks and some liquor. The wine we purchased was only $16 vs $45 - $80+ at the hotel. If you take the Finch Bay boat over just ask him to come back when you want and he will pick you up.

We had some great experiences with the staff. Elizabeth -at the front desk - was always willing to answer any questions. Carlos was always friendly, greeting us every afternoon and offering dinner suggestions. The bartender was great about opening our store bought wine and providing us with glasses.

Finally - remember that this is an Eco hotel. Some things are not going to be the same as a 4 or 5 star in the middle of the city. The finishings are a little lesser and the hot water might not work as well - but this is still a fabulous place to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Altius10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    164
    39
    7
    8
See reviews for
240
394
48
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
559 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Our family stayed at the Finch Bay Eco Hotel for a week primarily going scuba diving.
Great and beautiful Place on an isolated peninsula Close to Puerto Ayora.
Nice, friendly and helpful staff.
Great breakfast. A Little bit difficult to get breakfast in time Before we had to leave for the scuba diving. Excellent dinner, superb ceviche.
The rooms, even those with ocean view, are very standard and would need to be refurbished.
Transfer between the hotel and Puerto Ayora with boat taxi for 60 cents per person or the complimentary boat taxi service. However, the complimentary boat taxi was almost Always not present/available.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Finch bay is located away from puerto Ayora, the hotel has 2 boats for transportation to/from the port. The area is more secluded and therefore, less crowded. The rooms are OK, the service is OK. In reality there is nothing special about this hotel other than the location. The amenities and service just don't justify the high price tag.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guisum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We spent 7 days and strongly recommend that if you have the time and can afford it, you spend at least that time.

The opportunity to see so many animals at such close range is extraordinary. We swam with sharks, sea lions and penguins, followed dolphins and whales, stood next to hundreds of iguanas, checked out giant tortoises, watched sea turtles and could not count the number of birds we saw.

None of this would have been possible without the superb organisation of the hotel. The daily excursions were brilliantly run and our guide, Valentine, superb.

From the greeting at Quito airport to our farewell, all went perfectly. The food is high level restaurant quality, the staff friendly and willing to help and the rooms comfy and clean.

For us this was a better option than a boat and we could not imagine that we missed out on anything by taking the opportunity to stay in this slickly run hotel.

A once in a lifetime chance to experience so many animals and to stay in great comfort and surrounds. Thank you Finch Bay for an unforgettable time.




Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bruceSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locust Valley, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Very naturally beautiful, quiet and secluded. Friendly hosts if you can get around the not so friendly reservation staff. This property requires transportation via water taxi to the center of town which was not made clear to us even when asking for directions to the property. A king bed is also considered 2 beds pushed together. The rooms are very plain without TV or internet so I did not feel the stay was worth the $$. I would go with the Angermeyer at half the price if I were to do over again...

Room Tip: Virtually every room has a view of some sort of water (whether it be a lake or the pool).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

My children and I ended our Ecuadorian adventure here. We spent three days in veritable luxury. We were welcomed by Tito from Quito, the wonderful manager who was super helpful. Our rooms were nice, not super plush, but more than adequate. The grounds are gorgeous, right on the beach. There's a great pool that birds take their baths in! The food is fabulous. Everyone who worked here was friendly. We chose to not do any of the hotel activities as we wanted to relax after a three week traipse around Ecuador but they looked great. We just loved staying here and would love to come back. Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andromeday23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Finch Bay for four nights and loved every minute of it! The staff provided superior customer service from Tito the general manager, to Carlos the restaurant manager to Jorge the bartender, they all knew our names from day one, tended to every need and provided superior customer service. The rooms are basic but clean and sufficient given we spent most of our time in the great outdoors anyway. Being foodies, we were completely impressed with the restaurant and the chef's talent. The ceviche was the best I've had anywhere in the world! Be sure to have dinner there at least twice so you can try a few things. The fact you can only get there by water taxi made it private and unique. We loved the proximity to Las Grietas. And of course their commitment to the environment was just icing in the cake. A must stay!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TAGit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Ayora
6.4 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#7 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
305 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
46 reviews
9.2 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
#11 of 24 in Santa Cruz
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel

Property: Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Address: Punta Estrada S/N | Puerto Ayora, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador (Formerly Finch Bay Eco Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning hotel enjoys a peaceful and magical beachfront location in Puerto Ayora, on Santa Cruz Island. The 21 Garden View-room and 6 Ocean View suite hotel makes the ideal base for exploring the natural diversity and attractions of the island – including Tortuga Bay beach – and for taking day-trips to nearby islands, aboard its own, specialized yachts. The hotel also implements best practices in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Finch Bay Eco
Finch Bay Eco Puerto Ayora
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing