We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My stay at Finch Bay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finch Bay Eco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“My stay at Finch Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I have done a lot of travelling all over the world and I have to say that the people and services at the Finch Bay Hotel in the Galapagos were wonderful! The hotel is situated with beautiful views. The meals were exceptional and the waiters and wait staff were extremely accommodating, as were the people at the front desk.
The yacht trips to the various islands were incredible, and, here again, the Finch Bay boat staff was so accommodating and friendly. The meals on the yacht were also really good!
I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enjoyedmystay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    159
    37
    7
    8
See reviews for
231
378
45
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We came here for lunch and what a disappointment!!!!! We asked the waiter a bunch of things in english, which he understood and responded. I ordered the hamburger and it was as tough as leather. I didn't eat it, told the waiter why. He asked if i wanted anything else, I said no, just the bill. They charged me for the hamburger. When I questioned the waiter about this, all of a sudden he couldn't understand english anymore. I asked the bartender where the bathrooms were and he said only in the rooms. If a hotel allows outside guests in for lunch and dinner, they must have bathrooms for patrons. If you plan on staying here, which it is a nice spot, opt out of the meal plan.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Comfortable but small room. No TV is a plus for me. The public areas are just right for the hotel, with swimming pool and outdoor bar/lounge. Service is quite good and I enjoyed the meals. I loved the water taxi ride to and from town and easy walk to the Charles Darwin Research Center. Along the way to the center is the entertaining fish market, several lovely shops and restaurants. Be sure to check the lock system on sliding glass door of your room. Mine did not work and I had to move to another room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cvalent9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Considering the location, this is a very modern hotel, having maybe 25 rooms. Nice room, air conditioned too.

Breakfast was just ok, a lot of norms missing, like orange juice and jam for your toast.

15 min walk to a water taxi made it difficult to get out of the motel to see the nearby town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisneilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Chose to do a land-based trip to Galapagos instead of cruise ship after extensive research. Selected the 8-day package at Finch Bay and it could not have been more perfect. The 2 yachts were lovely, and the variety of landings, wildlife and guides were highest quality. We did this trip for 25th anniversary, and the pace/scheduling was ideal - plenty of activities and opportunity for relaxation as well. Rooms were very comfortable, clean. We didn't spend much excess time in our room, since the purpose of trip was to see as much Galapagos as possible. Even when at hotel, more fun to sit at bar, in lobby, near pool, take a walk, or go to town. No TV was a good thing to us - added relaxation by being able to disconnect. Pool is lovely, ducks and other birds at/in the pool are fun. Staff and service were wonderful - made us feel welcome and special. Our package included all meals - not one disappointed us. breakfast buffet had huge variety, dinners were gourmet, and lunches, whether on the yacht or at the hotel, were great. They have a pastry kitchen, for goodness sake! Presentation lovely, portion sizes just right - we could savor every bite of every course without being overstuffed. The hotel efforts to be more "eco" friendly were also very interesting to me. Not everyone cares to see or understand all this, but on request staff gave me a wonderful "back of house" tour to see the organic gardens, desalinization plant, sewer treatment plant and reclaimed water systems, solar facilities (and planned improvements). The efforts to minimize impact on the resources of Galapagos is admirable. The scale of this hotel was ideal for us as well. One of us dislikes large hotels, and the other wants more than a room and a bath. Finch Bay hits the sweet spot of amenities, intimate spaces and friendly service. Booked this trip directly through Metropolitan Travel, and they made all the transfers and arrangements simple - good communication. Doing this trip as a package was definitely a plus - we didn't have to spend valuable vacation time researching and hunting down best things to do. I realize that there is something of a premium paid for this, but it was worth every dollar to us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AG552013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Finch Bay is probably the only hotel in Santa Cruz located on a beach. The location is also nice as you need to take a boat ride to get to the port and town. It makes the trip nicer as the Puerto Ayora is on a beautiful location and you also may get to see sea lions, sea iguanas and even small sharks on your way. Getting back to the Finch Bay hotel, the Ocean view rooms are big and have a nice varanda, but the walls are thin and you hear the voices on the next room. We also stayed at the garden view room. Its is very small, our cruise cabin was much bigger!
The breakfast is good and varied, but we would rather serve the juices and coffee ourselves as we need to call the waiter to be served... The dinner price is extremely expensive at US$40,00 per person as you can eat Lobster for US$22,00 in the best restaurants in town.
The nicest thing about the Finch Bay is that the pool is frequented by the ducks. They chose it as their place to stay and even sleep. The worst thing is the price of the day tours at the hotel. They offered us a Batholome island tour for US$360,00 per person and we bought it for US$160,00!! The North Seymor Island and the Plazas islands day tour at the Finch were US$250,00 and we paid US$145,00 per person. It is a huge difference!! Avoid doing any trip with them.

Room Tip: The Ocean view is bigger and have a nice secluded varanda. The garden view are very small and the sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CeciliaLapertosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regenstauf, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

5***** food quality and taste (portions very small), 4**** service, 3*** room - nice but too small, bathroom tiles looking cheaply. No privacy. You live next door to your neighbor and on the porch you can hear everything what your neighbors are speaking. No fitness center (weights and cardio) and spa. It would be good because there is often bad weather. Many activities to choose from, package deals on offer. Free boat to and from Puerto Ayora. Nice beach but crowded with visitors and locals alike. No room service available. Overall I would recommend this hotel but don't expect 5 star accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan24f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
6.3 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
#7 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
8.3 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#12 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Solymar
Hotel Solymar
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finch Bay Eco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finch Bay Eco Hotel

Property: Finch Bay Eco Hotel
Address: Punta Estrada S/N, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador (Formerly Finch Bay Eco Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finch Bay Eco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning hotel enjoys a peaceful and magical beachfront location in Puerto Ayora, on Santa Cruz Island. The 21 Garden View-room and 6 Ocean View suite hotel makes the ideal base for exploring the natural diversity and attractions of the island – including Tortuga Bay beach – and for taking day-trips to nearby islands, aboard its own, specialized yachts. The hotel also implements best practices in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Finch Bay Eco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Finch Bay Eco
Finch Bay Eco Puerto Ayora
Finch Bay Eco Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing