We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to unwind after 5 day cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Excellent place to unwind after 5 day cruise”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here after having spent several days on the M/V Legend visiting the islands. It's an excellent hotel with good facilities, lovely pool area, and a great location. Though there are hotel options in town we loved the calmness and easy-going relaxation that we found here. The rooms are very well appointed and food in the (pricey) restaurant was excellent as was the service.
As this was a pit-stop between a cruise and an amazon lodge stay it was also a great...if pricey...place to do laundry as this is not possible in the eco-lodges or on the ships.

Most guests were out on day trips so for us it was like a private hotel during the day

All in all, this is a great upper-end boutique-style hotel and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the garden...you can pay for sea-view rooms but personally I dont know if it's n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilOakshott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    164
    39
    7
    8
See reviews for
239
394
48
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
238 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Touring Sth America is difficult for any family on holiday, and it is a very welcome to come back to civilisation in the evening after a days adventure. Its essential. The first thing we noticed here was the friendliness and helpfulness of hotel staff. Alexandra and Tito are two very lovely people who made our stay enjoyable. The hotel itself has a nice lobby and pool area along with suitable dining facilities. The accomodation facilities are lacking, rooms being very small with no TV or fridge, a real pain for any kids that are travelling with you. Overall, in comparison to other accomodation in Santa Cruz, it is very good.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flashmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here after our Galapagos cruise. It was a good base from which my husband could dive with Scuba Iguana Dive Centre & for me to go on the hotel's excursions, aboard their yacht. We had a Standard room which was pleasant, although the bathroom was very tired & in need of refurbishment. The hotel is in a lovely location, overlooking the bay & has a very nice outdoor pool. The staff were all very friendly & the food was good both for breakfast & dinner. You have to take a water taxi to & from the hotel but this adds to the adventure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sequindogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We are very appreciative to Gate 1 for booking us at this excellent hotel. It is located on a quiet and secluded beach. The staff are friendly and informative. Carlos, the manager, greeted us each day with friendly conversation and suggestions. Our tour of the islands was so enjoyable and educational. Part of the tour was by private yacht, and included tours of islands and wildlife, snorkeling, and wonderful onboard meals. What an adventure! We were honored to have two wonderful eco-guides - Valentine and Mario. We will never forget this experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmdeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We went to have lunch at this hotel. The food was not awesome , I expected fish straight from the sea and they offered us BBQ chicken. I did not like that. The place looked peaceful and clean. There is a swimming pool but I went for a swim at the little beach in front of the hotel . We were cruising and did not stay any longer but I liked the hotel, the clean towels and a nice service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XMontalvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We spend three nights at this 5 star resort with Gate 1 Travel! They gave us three gourmet meals a day! Don't look any further for a place to stay in the Galápagos Islands! Mario, our Eco tour guide was fabulous! We sailed each day from Finch Bay on our private yacht with only 12 people in our group! The resort is located on the waterfront, outdoor pool, outdoor bar.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorij50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
317 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel is reached by a water taxi that is provided by Finch Bay. once you get off of the water taxi it is a walk to the Finch Bay Hotel. upon arrival, the compound is beautiful but the bay itself does not have a nice beach and the bay is not the best place for swimming either. The little beach area is always full of locals and their families and can tend to be a bit loud at times. the rooms are nice, no TV's, which is nice but the complimentary WiFi is so slow that it is not really worth trying to use while staying here. Breakfast and dinner were included in our stay and the food was good. the drinks, and especially wine, are very expensive. Now for why I rated it average: the beautiful pool constantly has various birds and ducks swimming it with all of their excrement going into the pool and on the pool deck surrounding the pool area. honestly, you could not pay me to swim in this filth, let alone allow children to use such a facility as you can get incredibly sick from this. Also, the finches flying through the restaurant during breakfast, sitting on clean, unused glasses and tables, as well as sitting on the food at times and also lifting the napkins off of the bread and then eating it, was not acceptable in a $300/night hotel, regardless of it being an eco hotel. We have stayed at Bird Island in the Seychelles at the Eco hotel and we totally understood that keeping the birds out of the open restaurant was totally impossible with over a million birds on an island that is 45m squared but they did nothing at Finch Bay to chase off the birds.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DayDreamer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Ayora
6.4 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
303 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
46 reviews
9.2 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
#11 of 24 in Santa Cruz
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel

Property: Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Address: Punta Estrada S/N | Puerto Ayora, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador (Formerly Finch Bay Eco Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning hotel enjoys a peaceful and magical beachfront location in Puerto Ayora, on Santa Cruz Island. The 21 Garden View-room and 6 Ocean View suite hotel makes the ideal base for exploring the natural diversity and attractions of the island – including Tortuga Bay beach – and for taking day-trips to nearby islands, aboard its own, specialized yachts. The hotel also implements best practices in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Finch Bay Eco
Finch Bay Eco Puerto Ayora
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing