We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Keswick, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Place to Stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The time I enjoyed at the Finch Bay Hotel was absolutely stellar. Situated right on the sea with a lovely little beach it brought us close to nature and enabled us to relax and restore. The rooms were lovely, the food was fresh, delicious and well prepared. The trips arranged to see the other Islands were top notch. Everything ran like clock work. The lunches served on board were excellent. The guides were well informed and very professional. However what struck me the most was the staff at the hotel. Everyone treated us so well, always with a smile and a friendly warm-hearted nature and helped us with our every need. On our last evening they prepared a special good bye dinner for us, sang and treated us to a wonderful salsa lesson. Staying here was an experience I will never forget and I could not recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaretta m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    165
    40
    8
    8
See reviews for
244
397
48
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The beautiful location of the Finch Bay Eco Hotel is only enhanced by its tasteful and comfortable rooms, delicious food, and excellent service. We greatly enjoyed our stay relaxing at the pool after a day of sight seeing, enjoying a beautiful sunset and sumptuous dinner. The day trips on the yacht which took us sight seeing on neighboring islands were luxurious and well organized. But the best part of our experience was the warm, personal, and charming staff that took such good care of us. We stayed nine days and never felt more nurtured. In fact, on our last night we were given delightful salsa dancing lessons by the staff after our final dinner, an evening I will never forget because of their generosity and kind-hearted nature.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Very decent and clean installations, high standard restaurant, and a crew that never lets you down. Very good service inside and outside (cruises, visits, etc) the hotel. All perfectly timed and arranged, with breathtaking views and experiences.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Paulo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We came to the hotel for 5 days to explore the Galápagos Islands. The excellent service and warm atmosphere of the hotel could only be exceeded by the amazing food that was served. The day trips to other island that we booked through the hotel were perfectly organized and very convenient. The team truly made our visit to the Galapagos Island an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights after our Galapagos cruise, it had been recommended by our travel agency and friends of friends. We were not terribly impressed. Situation is good but the whole place is pretty basic but then it this is an Eco hotel! Not worth the amount we paid. We only
had breakfast here, we ate dinner at the Angermeyer, near the water taxi at Punta Estrada one night and at Cafe Hernan, just over the road from the jetty where the water taxis wait on Santa Cruz island. (We liked Cafe Hernan, despite the fact they had no fresh fish on a Monday evening(?!). Breakfast at Finch Bay was pretty standard, fruit juice and a first cup of coffee were forthcoming but getting a second cup was a right game. Waiting for an omelette took an age and on our second day waiting staff (of which there must have been half a dozen) just skulked behind the counter scoffing themselves. All in all a pretty disappointing stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier B, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2015
Dear Denise C,

Thank you for your review and feedback, we really appreciate your time to write it down and share your experience with us and other travelers. I hope you had a very nice time in Galapagos.

Best wishes

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

after research I landed in this hotel for my honeymoon vacation... great place since you have the "playa de los alemanes" in front, BUT the service in the hotel did not match the amount they charge for a night. i stayed for 5 nights, the rooms are small, the phone in the room never worked even asking the people there to fix it the very first night.. the food is not the best and is way over expensive, you can get better meals in puerto ayora defenetly.. be aware you will need to take a 10 minute walk and a 10 minute water taxy since the hotel is located a bit far from the city.. the hotel does have 2 taxis for pax use BUT are not alway available for you to take, then you will have to pay or wait... defenetly would not come back to this hotel... theres is a lot to be done on the administrative and professional of personal in charge... not the best choise for what you pay

Room Tip: there are 2 types of rooms the garden view and the Ocean view which none of them really have a "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank o l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier B, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2015
Dear o l,

Thank you for your review and for coming to Galapagos for your honeymoon, thank you for your feedback, all your comments are welcome, there is always something to do and improve and we are very happy for that, we love our work and our hotel.

Best wishes,

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you're planning a trip to Galapagos and you don't stay at the Finch Bay Eco Hotel you will definitely regret it! The Finch Bay Hotel is by far the best place to stay in all of Galapagos hands down. Nothing else even comes close to comparing to what the Finch Bay has to offer their guests. We won't stay anywhere else for our future Galapagos vacations, it is truly the best place to vacation in Galapagos. We stayed at the Finch Bay Hotel for a week in May 2014 and had the most amazing experience. From the moment you make the reservation the hotel staff is very informative and helpful in making your experience very enjoyable. First of all, the hotel's location is absolutely unbeatable. No other hotel even comes close to having a location as perfect as the Finch Bay Hotel. You're very close to restaurants, shopping, tours etc but you have the most private and secluded location in Puerto Ayora. The Finch Bay has its own private water taxi's that upon request will provide you with free local transportation, they also have their own private beach with its own private swimming pool, bar and restaurant all with perfect views and access to the ocean. Full breakfast buffet is included every morning, they also offer lunch and dinner within the Finch Bay clubhouse and the food is exceptional and some of the freshest seafood you'll find on the entire island. The hotel rooms are also extremely nice, offering ocean views, a private outdoor balcony (with chairs and a hammock). All rooms have plenty of space, a closet, a desk, a private bathroom with steaming hot water, a remote controlled air conditioning and room service options. The hotel staff does everything possible to make your stay at the Finch Bay Hotel incredible. They carry all of your bags as soon as you arrive, they provide damp towels and cold drinks upon your arrival, they explain everything to you in great detail and even offer private airport transfers, and offer a great selection of guided tours, excursions and trips all planned and taken care of by the Finch Bay. They really do the best job of making sure you have the best experience possible. If you go to Galapagos, staying at the Finch Bay Eco Hotel is an absolute must! It's a place perfect for everyone, business travelers, couples, families, friends or even solo - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Ayora
6.4 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
424 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
307 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
46 reviews
9.2 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
#11 of 24 in Santa Cruz
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel

Property: Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Address: Punta Estrada S/N | Puerto Ayora, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador (Formerly Finch Bay Eco Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning hotel enjoys a peaceful and magical beachfront location in Puerto Ayora, on Santa Cruz Island. The 21 Garden View-room and 6 Ocean View suite hotel makes the ideal base for exploring the natural diversity and attractions of the island – including Tortuga Bay beach – and for taking day-trips to nearby islands, aboard its own, specialized yachts. The hotel also implements best practices in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Finch Bay Eco
Finch Bay Eco Puerto Ayora
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing