We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel(Puerto Ayora)
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fiesta(Puerto Ayora)
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Red Booby(Puerto Ayora)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cucuve Suites(Puerto Ayora)
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Laguna(Puerto Ayora)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Silberstein(Puerto Ayora)
US$292
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Pelican Bay(Puerto Ayora)
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Solymar(Puerto Ayora)
US$320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fernandina(Puerto Ayora)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveller rating
414
157
59
36
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
157
59
36
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaventura lodgesea lionssuite mayorsanta cruzsushigalapagos islandsclamsdeck chairsland based tourrestaurant staffday tourmarine lifeflora and faunadarwin centercevichescuba divingyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 690 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We stayed there one night and spent two nights at two other locations - Floreana and Isabella. Our guide Jimmy P 'Hendrix' as he'd like to be called was really the best part of the whole deal! The organization seems to live it's motto to make it a memorable experience for their guests and they take it seriously. Jimmy not only did a lot of things extra but went above and beyond the duties as a guide/host and stayed with us from landing at the airport to checking the bags on our return.
We would heartily and highly recommend Red Mangrove and especially Jimmy P "Hendrix" as a 5 star team!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gurugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

this hotel is absolutely great ! extremely helpful staff, great dining room with huge terrace on the sea, you have breakfast in the sun, with iguanas and sealion at your feet

food is excellent, walking distance from harbour activity, bars and restaurants,

they lend you bicycles to walk around

they have a bus service from and to the airport, they ask you to be ready more than 2 hours in advance for departure...try to negociate ... all planes in Baltra are always delayed

dont forget to ask for special bill if you want to get the 12% IVA refund by filling in some forms at Guayaquil or Quito airport

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paris16traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

The Red Mangrove lodges on Santa Cruz, Floreana and Isabella were wonderful. Friendly service and intimate feel at all locations and each offering something different. Santa Cruz has a great location near the main town and Darwin center but at the same time is peaceful. Floreana is the remote lodge and you dine at the local restaurant which was fun and delicious. Isabella is on a beautiful beach. We took the 5-day tour which I would recommend. You are kept busy the whole time and are tired at the end but it was all very interesting--and with the land tour it is possible if necessary to skip a few of the excursions if you want to rest up.
As much as I have spoken highly about the accomodations though I want to plug 2 people who work with Red Mangrove. All service was wonderful but we are grateful to have crossed-paths with Ronald and Carlos. Ronald transfered us from the airport to the Puerto Ayora lodge. Ronald is smart, funny, service-oriented. It says something that he stood out for us when the only time spent was on a transfer--we laughed the whole way. Carlos was our guide for the 5-day tour--he made the trip. Knowledgeable, attentive, professional, funny, open, energetic, engaged. Carlos is awsome. The type of person you don't come across very often. The Red Mangrove is lucky to have him among its guides and consider yourself lucky if he leads your tour.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SprinklerSystem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We did the Red Mangrove land-based 6-day 5-nights tour, and frankly it was amazing. The tour was very professionally managed and very well run. Every aspect was well thought-out. We had such packed itineraries every single day that clearly it was meant to maximize our exposure to every aspect of life in the Galapagos. The Red Mangrove lodges we stayed at were very nice – except for the lodge at Floreana, which has more of a rustic charm, the remaining two lodges were nicer than many 4 star hotels, with killer views to boot. The rooms were spacious, beautifully decorated, squeaky clean, and even had ipod players. At the Santa Cruz lodge, we found sea lions napping next to chairs on the patio, and marine iguanas hanging out under the patio tables. The views from the Floreana lodge were beautiful, and the Isabela lodge sat on a very beautiful pristine beach – we could be on the sandy beach with spectacular views within a minute of our rooms. Overall, the experience was wonderful.

Service at the Red Mangrove lodges was consistently very professional and very customer-oriented, and the food was consistently delicious, healthy and fresh. A really nice touch was whenever we would return to the lodges after a bunch of activities, feeling kinda tired, someone would greet us at the entrance with drinks and snacks – often with really nice hot chocolate.

I also can’t say enough good things about Carlos Malo, our tour guide for the 6-day tour. He was tireless, full of enthusiasm and charm and humor, and a consummate professional to the core. Our tour group of six included two adults and a senior from our end, i.e. my mom. Thanks to Carlos’ constant helpfulness and commitment to making sure every single person got the most out of their experience, my mom had a fantastic time as well and was able to participate in and enjoy almost every single activity programs in the itinerary. Carlos has been a tour guide at the Galapagos for 17 years, has a level 5 rating and spoke just perfect English, so we really lucked out in having him as our constant companion. Overall, we had a simply amazing experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank purplefeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We were on a Galapagos tour run by Red Mangrove and staying at 5 of their properties including 1 on the mainland. We chose this land based way to avoid our seasickness issues with the more traditional small cruise boats. It worked out very well indeed. We visited 3 islands traveling between on speed boats about 2 hours each trip.
The lodges are great and the overall quality of the tour was very high. Our guide Jimmy from Red Mangrove was great and the Park Naturalist, Fabio, was outstanding. The 2 combined to make a wonderful team giving us an excellent and memorable experience.
The Aventura is their flagship and it is wonderful, obviously well managed, with a prime waterfront location. Some rooms do have a great view as does the restaurant - which is very good. Staff are really nice, happy and efficient, friendly but not overbearing.
It is a lodge as apposed to a hotel and this comes through with a more intimate and personable atmosphere right through from the people, the food, rooms and just the way the place embraces the beautiful natural setting.
If you want to visit the Galapagos without cruising, or need accommodation while there I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms are available.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews