We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (720)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveller rating
434
164
60
37
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
434
164
60
37
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea lions suite mayor santa cruz galapagos islands clams land based tour flora and fauna overlooking the water darwin center academy bay lounge chairs day trip ocean view yogurt tortuga bay the main street water taxi
Filter
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 720 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

You thought a trip to the Galapagos was the perfect way to celebrate my husbands 60th birthday and Red Mangrove proved to be the best choice. With quality accommodations, great food and extraordinary service. We booked a 6 night 7 day package that included Santa Cruz, Florena and Isabelle islands. We substituted a day trip (for our dive package) and went to Seymore island as well - definitely one of the highlights with blue footed boobies and frigate birds just feet off our path and undistracted by our presence.
We stayed 2 and 3 nights on Isabella and Santa Cruz respectively and recommend the one night on Floreana as the accommodations there are much more modest- although we had our best encounters with wild life there on our afternoon snorkel and enjoyed hiking to the pirate caves.
Our rooms and beds were extraordinarily comfortable. The food was very good and the service friendly and accommodating. The guides varied in knowledge but, were all professional naturalists.
We highly recommend Red Mangrove Lodges as a way to experience the islands with package that they will build to suite your interests and length of stay.

Room Tip: All rooms slept 3, so for a couple we enjoyed the extra space and ability to spread out never feeling cramped. We were able to launder our clothing, repack and still enjoy our suite.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank leonardifinstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We travelled to Galapagos for the 8 days Full Adventure trip, and it was absolutely wonderful!
The start was a bit hasty with not enough time for us to have lunch before we went on the first excursion, but it did not matter. We had an excellent guide in Juan Carlos. And praise to Red Mangrove for giving us one guide for the entire week. That was perfect! He was very knowlegable and also very easy going, something that suited our group of 6 people perfectly. The Adventura lodge was wonderful with a seafront location, nice rooms with a nice bathroom, air conditioning, safety deposit box and the occational lizzard friend:) The food buffet had a lot of different choices which was good for me that is intolerant to some types of food. Unfortunately, the food was cold most of the time, but still tasty. Having breakfast you must be prepared to share the dining area with sea lions, marine iguanas, pelicans and an armada of sally lightfoot crabs. It is really quite exciting!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhaugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to visit Ecuador, but only had two weeks. We wanted to visit a few other places as well, but we had to see the Galapagos. We decided we had 5 days - so at the last minute we found the Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge. We decided to do one of the Darwins Triangles trips, for 5 days.

It was an amazing idea. First of all, the main Aventura lodge is fantastic. Great rooms, great people, great location, and great food. We at lunch on the deck by the ocean every morning accompanied by sea lions, iguanas & finches.

The trip involved staying at Aventura locations on two other islands, which were equally awesome, but extremely unique. We experienced exiting things, lots of animals, turtles, and activities on each of the islands.

I would highly recommend both the lodge and the trip. Especially if you only have 5-8 days, and/or don't want to sleep on a ship.

Room Tip: Main lodge is best in Santa Cruz.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucorodas, Manager at Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Cheryl,

Thank you very much for your post, and we are very happy to find out you enjoyed our services.

Let us know please if you ever need our assistance.

Sincerely,
Red Mangrove Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We were greeted and looked after by the best guides we have ever come across, who were friendly, exceptionally knowledgeable and informative and really looked after us well. The setting is great with wildlife sharing the lounge with us, and located adjacent to the Darwin center. A great way to see some of the Galapagos.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We booked the Darwin's Footprints, Santa Cruz and Isabela islands. We absolutely loved the Aventura Lodge (not so much the Isabela lodge, see separate review). We were greeted right away with smiling faces and very friendly staff which most spoke some English. We had Mangrove rooms that were very nice & clean. This hotel is on the water and has a awesome view, as well as sea lions, sally lightfoot crabs and iguanas all over the place. We loved sitting at the tables by the water and drinking blackberry daiquiri's YUMMM!!.

Our guide was Carlos and he was awesome, very knowledgeable and friendly. I love that they assign you the same guide throughout your trip. As much as I loved the tours on Isabela, I really could have stayed at the Aventura lodge the whole trip. Food was great, always had cold drinks and cold bottled water. Juices were very good. Free WiFi and right in town, we walked to the fish market to watch the antics. Definitely worth it.

This hotel met my expectations in every way and I just loved everything about it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pixelsaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews