We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Silberstein(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Solymar(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pelican Bay(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Fernandina(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Cucuve Suites(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Mainao(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Gardner(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Red Booby(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveller rating
414
157
59
36
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
157
59
36
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaventura lodgesea lionssuite mayorsanta cruzsushigalapagos islandsclamsdeck chairsland based tourrestaurant staffday tourmarine lifeflora and faunadarwin centercevichescuba divingyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 690 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We booked this hotel as part of a Red Mangrove tour. We spent our first and last nights at the Aventura Lodge. The hotel was located right on the water. Each morning we watched the sea lions and iguanas while we enjoyed breakfast. It was amazing to be so close to these creatures. Our room was clean and comfortable. We did hear branches hitting the roof at night, but ear plugs took care of any noise issues, and we slept fine.

I was a little concerned about food and water before the trip started, but after talking with Monica when we arrived those fears were put to rest. They provided plenty of purified water. The fruits and vegetables were washed in purified water as well. The choices for lunch and dinner were limited, but the food was good, and we never went hungry.

The staff was very helpful.Monica was always willing to answer questions and help us as needed. Our guide for the week, Manuel, was wonderful. He was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable. He managed to keep us on time for all our activities and he kept the tour fun even as we hiked 8 miles in the mud in pouring rain.

The hotel was also located very close to all the shops and Darwin center. It was a quick walk to a small beach or to town for dinner and drinks. Overall, I really enjoyed our time at the lodge and in Santa Cruise. I would highly recommend the tour and hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tgLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucorodas, Manager at Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest,

As part of the staff, we appreciate your detailed comment, as it helps more guests to think about Red Mangrove as a first option.

We are hoping to have the opportunity to provide yor our service in the future.

Warm Regrds
Red Mangrove Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Pros:
-Amazing staff that will bend over backwards to help
-Perfect location within walking distance of the little shops, 10 min from Darwin Station (which is public and you can go to on your own) and most importantly (in my opinion...an amazing breeze from the ocean that makes dinner and cocktails on the deck divine)
-Sea lions, iguanas, crabs galore..great dining company
-very clean rooms, air, all water filtered so we had lots of fruit and veggies the whole week

Things you may consider:
-as others have said, wireless is slow (but you are on vacation! LOL) so be in the bar area for the best chance and try to connect at off times (e.g. not when everyone is up at breakfast or returning)
-Happy hour 6-7 is pricey (like a lot of stuff in the remote islands). Know there are fun looking bar options within walking distance so go explore.

Room Tip: I'd suggest avoiding Mangle Negra and Amarillo rooms if you are super light sleepers (or bring earplugs) Not sure if it was a nut/fruit that kept dropping on the roof of the room or the wind hitting the mangrove and causing those stiff branches to go "bang" but it was rather loud. Not a deal breaker just something someone might find annoying. We stayed in Coral 1 night and had no issue.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gr8grapes007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucorodas, Manager at Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for taking your time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor, and also happy to find out you enjoyed our service.

Regards
Red Mangrove Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The lodge was perfectly located across the shops and restaurants in Santa Cruz Island, Galapagos and 10 mins walk to the Darwin Research Station. It has a warm feel of an island ambiance. Sea lions, marine iguanas, Sally lighfoot crabs were everywhere, we enjoyed watching them. Sea lions occupied one part of the restaurant lounge, one of our enjoyments every morning, mom and baby seals were adorable. Our room was avarage size for 3 beds, clean, and beds were comfortable. Bathroom was average size and clean with toiletries provided. There is a flat screen TV but all channels were in Spanish. Free Wi-Fi but very slow connection, I can't connect inside the room, but in the restaurant is fine but still slow. All the staff from different shifts were very nice, friendly and attentive to your needs. Javier in the reception desk was very nice and helpful. Monica, the activity director shared with us her wealth of knowledge about the islands, tips on do's and dont's in the island, and getting the best of our island stay. The package we had was an all-inclusive and the activity was an Adventure Package. Meals were buffet and the food was good, not too many to choose from unlike other hotels but it was enough for us. Bottled water was provided daily. Snorkeling lessons and gears were provided and a naturalist guide was provided also. We had fun kayaking and snorkeling in the Puerto Ayora bay. We saw baby shark, blue footed boobies, colorful schools of fish and other kinds of birds endemic to the island. The overall service was excellent ! From arrriving at the airport in Baltra Island till we depart the island, an employee from Red Mangrove was with us all the way till we checked in at the airport going home. What a wonderful stay we had in the Red Mangrove in Puerto Ayora. We had so much fun and adventure in the Galapagos islands staying at the Red Mangrove.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RPRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucorodas, Manager at Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your feedback, we are committed to offer one of the best service in the islands, as we think that visiting the Galapagos must be an adventure that should be remembered forever.

Warm Regards
Red Mangrove Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I booked a travel zoo special on two islands with the help of Elizabeth. She was very helpful and suggested we upgrade to an ocean view room complete with sea lions outside on the deck. It was fantastic! We had great guides who spoke perfect english and were very knowledgable for the various activities. I would highly recommend this tour company.

Room Tip: Be sure to get an ocean view room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucorodas, Manager at Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Linda,

We really appreciate your time to write a comment, as it helps others to think about Red Mangrove as a first option.

Sincerely,

Red Mangrove Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

More than sea views it's on the sea ... Great rooms or lodges 5 * accommodation real tropical fruit cocktails in the plunge pool by the sea. Breakfast by the sea in the dinning room with marine iguanas for company. A fantastic secret beach with dark blue water so clear you can sea the marine life swim by . Really nice staff who will do anything for you at any time of day . One word of earning if you are going out at night take mosquito spray they are out to get you ha ha

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Latinamujer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucorodas, Manager at Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,

As part of the staff, we want to thank you for the nice feedback, it really encourage us to offer every day one of the best services for the benefit of our guests.

We wish you many good adventures.

Warm Regards
Red Mangrove Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews