We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place..and best associates!”
Review of Red Mangrove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Mangrove
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Traveling to the Galapagos was going out of my comfort zone..and I am glad I arrived to this location. This place is not only beautiful but very well located. Staff is SUPER! Thank YOU Elizabeth, Sandra, Diana, Fernando, Carolina, Roman, Rodrigo, Marialena, Henry, every associate went out of their way to make my days unforgettable. If you like adventure, expedition, fauna, nature at its best, volcanos...good food, and fiendly people..this is your destination.

Room Tip: Rooms are charming. if you have a view much better...but they are all very well located. Very clean.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Aura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
There are newer reviews for Red Mangrove
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

I booked what I thought was a Gate 1 trip through Affordable Tours. I had previously traveled to Ecuador with Gate 1 and was very happy with the trip. Gate 1 however handled only the airport transfers. The rest was Red Mangrove-organized. "Organized" in a manner unlike any I have ever encountered on a trip. The lack of communication between management, guides and our group was appalling; we were lied to, abandoned twice by guides, and were unwilling pawns in a labor dispute that was not our problem and none of our business. Other reviewers have already commented on the boat crossing in the dark; why this happened is beyond me. Our schedule was set days if not weeks ahead--leave at 2:00 pm. The excuse was "it is difficult to find gas on a Sunday." So, why wasn't the boat gassed up on Saturday night? Or earlier on Sunday? We were left on the dock without any idea of what was going on, where our guide was, where our luggage (and passports, tickets, etc.) were, for 3 hours. Someone from the hotel could very easily have driven to the pier to let us know what the delay was. I speak Spanish and I tried to find out from the security people on the pier what was going on (and where our luggage was) but they didn't know. I went to the other pier where someone working there assured me that "You've been robbed." When our guide (who wasn't actually our guide, as is explained by Terry S.) finally showed up we were informed that we would be crossing at night, which no one ever does. And we would be doing so in a boat without lights, radar or GPS. I was shocked that upon our arrival in Isabela we were not greater with an apology, a free drink, something, anything, to acknowledge the loss of 4 hours of vacation time and the risking of our lives due to poor planning, poor communication, utter indifference to clientele.
Other instances of poor planning and indifference to customers includes a pointless hike up Volcán Chico (a muddy mess and consistently clouded over at this time of year; our guide vanished soon after we reached the summit and the rest of us walked on in what we assumed was the right direction), and snorkeling in rough and rocky conditions. Our itinerary lists "snorkeling lesson" but all we did was try on wet suits and flippers the night before, in the hotel.
Gate 1 no longer sends customers to Red Mangrove.
The hotels themselves are nice and the food was very good. The drinks are overpriced but there are alternatives within walking distance. On Santa Clara there are a lot of tour companies offering day trips both on land and by boat, and I would recommending traveling with them as opposed to with Red Mangrove.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank ProfeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucorodas, Gerente at Red Mangrove, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear ProfeZ

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been shared with managers, in an effort to avoid occurrences such as this in the future.

We understand your disappointment, but we would of never done any movement if we weren´t 100% sure that your lives were going to be on risk. Everything was handled correct, and what we probably failed is on miscommunication.

About our tours, specially to Volcan Chico it is a long walk, as you said you pass through muddy and also dry places, where you have the chance to see the beauty of climate change and of course the vegetation, but unfortunately you weren´t able to see as well to reach to Volcan Chico as some of our guest regret to walk.


Sincerely,

Red Mangrove Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The evening lady greeted us with disdain and was arrogant from the moment we arrived. When we requested to be changed to the room we paid $210 for, the attitude got worse - she was nice enough to point out our room was their cheapest and we should check our booking - but we learnt later that several other guests had also initially been put in our first room and had to request a new room. We asked for the manager who moved us thankfully. As there are literally no meal inclusions and zero facilities, we at least wanted a decent room which eventually had no view. This place is overpriced, and so are the meals, services and tours - you can find equal or better accomodation for half the price on all islands. You cannot do much more than sleep at this place so save your money for some adventures

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucorodas, Gerente at Red Mangrove, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Luke R.

Thanks for taking the time to inform us about your concerns during your recent stay. Regarding your experience with the receptionist, I have already addressed her attitude issue with the supervisor.

Our management made a desicion to upgraded you to a different category room, as our goal is to have a satisfied guest. Our system informed us that you reservation was made under our policy of last minute deal, therefore no meals were included.

Our lodge is located in a unique place, but not because of that our rates are high, this rates are averywhere in the Galápagos.

Sincerely,
Red Mangrove Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We decided to go visit the Galapagos after touring Peru 2' to having found a groupon. Everythinh was included... food, tours, rides, guides, etc... I was worried that something would not go right!! We arrived and was pleasantly surpised!! Our first room had a window and we could see sea lions!! we actually woke up the next day to sea lions roaring... so cool!

All the activites were awesome! I even enjoyed the volcano hike on Isabella (even 5months pregnant!). Snorkeling was amazing!

My only regret... not being able to dive :(

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Mélanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucorodas, Gerente at Red Mangrove, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to find out you enjoyed the sea lions next to your room, as well as our programs.

Thank you once again for lettings be part of your adventure.

Sincerely.

Red Mangrove Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed. In the Red Mangrove on Santa Cruz and Isabela and received 5 star treatment in both.
Elizabeth in Puerto Ayora was fantastic - very professional whilst be welcoming and caring. She is a credit to the hotel and certainly made my stay very enjoyable.
I loved the setting in the mangroves with the sea lions and iguanas on the deck and felt instantly immersed in this trip of a lifetime.
The rooms were comfortable, clean and extremely well appointed and I slept like a log every night. The food was good too and sitting on the deck watching the wildlife tootle by is a huge plus.
The guides from the hotels were super and gave one confidence to try all the activities, especially Willem who had a super manner about him.
All in all an extremely enjoyable experience which I would thoroughly recommend to anyone.
Well done Elizabeth and her staff!!

Room Tip: I had my rooms allocated but not sure there is such a thing as a bad room here.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schoenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucorodas, Gerente at Red Mangrove, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear Schoenus,

As part of this great team, I want to thank you for leting us be part of your adventure. Your feedback encourage to keep working with the same passion we have done, as we are part of this unique place the Enchanted Islands Galapagos.

Warm Regards
Red Mangrove Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our stay at the Red Mangrove resorts was a subcontracted tour titled Darwin's Footprints. Both Santa Cruz and Isabela properties are beautiful, but the tour was poorly managed. With no tour leader, the plan kept changing, and communication was lacking.

When it came time to take the boat to Isabela Island at 2PM, we had to wait on the dock for an hour before anyone told us what was happening. At about 5:30 we did leave and we arrived in the dark about 7:30. No one seemed responsible for this dangerous practice.

Our long hike up the volcano was slippery with mud. After many slips and falls into the mud we arrived mud smeared to find the crater fogged in and nothing to see. The guide was not at all surprised that it was fogged-in. Why don't they pick an alternate activity?

On one snorkeling outing at low tide, the guide led us over some lava rocks. These were difficult and dangerous barefoot or with flippers on. My grandson cut his finger on the rocks. The fish and other sealife were great though.

The hotel staff was nice, individual guides were helpful and accommodating, and the Red Mangrove properties are great. We heard however that it was under new management. I think is was under NO management. Poorest organized tour I've ever experienced.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucorodas, Gerente at Red Mangrove, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Dave,

Thank you very much for your comment, and we respect them all.

The delay on the departure of the navigation to Isabela was due to last minute problems, so we prefered, to do a general check on the boat, and this way to provide a safe navigation, but we never attempting or puting your life on risk.

About the activities the weather in Galapagos changes, so we cannot guarantee you a sunny day. I am very sorry if you found limits in the unlimeted beauty of the Galapagos Islands. We don´t understand why you gave us a terrible rating if the administration is working to offer a best service to our guest

Sincerely

Red Mangrove Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

There is a reason this hotel is always full. It's the best place to stay in Puerto Ayora. We stayed in the Verde suite. A large clean room with a king bed. The deck is private with a view of the harbor. Take advantage of the no see um bug spray available in the dining area if you're out on your deck or at the restaurant area in the evenings. The shower in the room has good water pressure but does not drain well. The few minor inconveniences are no big deal when you're staying at such a comfortable beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Choose one of the water front suites. The Verde is very nice indeed.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubadoofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucorodas, Gerente at Red Mangrove, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear Scubadoof,

Thank you for your feedback and you are completely right our suite Verde is one of the best rooms in our lodge. We are happy to find out you enjoyed our service.

Warm Regards
Red Mangrove Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.7 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
872 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberstein
Hotel Silberstein
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
348 reviews
5.9 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mangrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mangrove

Address: Avenida Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora EC010110, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: £230 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Mangrove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Red Mangrove is an oceanfront hotel with the best views of Academy Bay, located in Puerto Ayora. The hotel is the perfect place for Galapagos visitors to stay considering many activities like snorkeling, hiking, beaches, swimming, kayaking, and visiting the Charles Darwin Center are just minutes away. Why else is the Red Mangrove a good decision? For those who are prone to seasickness the hotel gives you a stay where you feel just like you're on the water with the option to choose different packages with the activities mentioned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Mangrove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mangrove Aventura Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Red Mangrove Aventura
Red Mangrove Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing