We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot to stay!”
Review of Red Mangrove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Mangrove
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
GreenLeadersSilver level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great spot to stay!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a great location and has great ammenities considering where you are. Food was good, not super fancy, but enough to fill your stomach after an adventure filled day. The day trips were great, lots of traveling to get there, but worth the drive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowmo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    149
    56
    35
    22
See reviews for
167
267
54
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
RI, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We just finished the 8-day/7-night Charles Darwin tour (although Charles himself gets scant attention!). The Red Mangrove people are nice and helpful. Property here and on Isabela both clean and nicely done. Be sure to go for the room upgrade or you could end up at a secondary property in each place (happened to a couple of our fellow tourists). With the upgrade you have a shot at an ocean view room such as Verde, Suite Mayor or Suite Menor Food is island food; somewhat repetitive, occasionally really good. Food at the Isabela location which is more remote was actually better than at the Aventura Lodge. Tour includes all features as billed. You do have to double-check each day; speak up if something on your agenda doesn't happen. Do the same with dinner the first and last night. Booking confirmation may say "included" but the agenda on site says not. They do honor if you ask. The tour itself isn't that arduous. We are 59 and 70 and kept up quite well with the rest of our group who tended to be 26-50. Definitely get a good feel for the flora and fauna that is the Galapagos. The guides were knowledgable and very safety conscious. Note the boat trips to the various islands are not exactly restful sails. Think more like two hours in a semi-open power boat. Noisy and lots of wind! Do not book extra-day trips through random vendors as that can be a very mixed bag. Red Mangrove excursions always include water bottles, snacks and lunch. We have never done an all-inclusive tour such as this; tend to wander on our own. All in all, a very good experience with a nice group of people and a few bumps here and there.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights here as part of a set tour. Our rooms were a decent size with decent beds, great a/c (which is needed in the "cool & dry" season that is 26C plus bad humidity!). Excellent bathroom, they provide hair dryer, shower towel, hand towel, soap, shower gel, & shampoo/conditioner. No face cloth at any hotel anywhere (even in Quito) so bring your own! We had plenty of hot water, as did everyone on our tour. We had a big shower, no tub. FYI, in the Galápagos Islands you do not flush your toilet paper but put it in a garbage container (with a lid), as the low flush toilets canNOT handle that (as one in our group kept forgetting!). Also in the room is a tv, phone, safe, and clock radio that will hold an iTouch with the older/bigger charging end. We also had a dehumidifier in our room but it wasn't turned on. Our room was for 3-4 people (double bed & 2 twins) and we also had a private courtyard, I don't know if all the rooms have this.
Excellent location just in between the tourist shops & the Darwin research centre. No noise, unless you hear rowdy tourists.
Food is yummy, quality, plentiful, and local! They do cater to your needs, as there is both vegetarian & meat selections at all meals, as well as raw/cooked veggies, starch sides, fruit, dessert. Our last night was a Japanese theme, so I think the chefs like to get creative.
The staff are simply wonderful! They really want you to have a good time, and are super nice & helpful (thank you to Elizabeth who got our lost luggage delivered ASAP!). Our first night, a wonderful staff member ran out to the shops to get us the basic toiletries that the hotel couldn't provide, like deodorant--the hotel gave us toothpaste, toothbrushes, combs, and razors. Most staff speak enough English to do their jobs. All staff are smiling and pleasant. I think the tips are hoped for but the staff doesn't act like they are expected. Our tour was through Adventure Life, and locally contracted out to the Red Mangrove. Our naturalist guide Juan was extremely knowledgeable and nice, and our tour operator Eddie Spaghetti was efficient and funny. It felt really odd to just leave our bags (once we got them from the airline, HAH) and have them magically appear at the next location, but it always worked out. Well, except for some of our snorkelling equipment, it never got from Santa Cruz to the other islands, so we borrowed others.
The hotel is built literally around a clump of mangroves (hence the name) and is quite beautiful & different especially when you are standing in the middle of the common courtyard. The restaurant has a lovely ambience, you can eat inside or on the deck. There is a covered lounge area off to the side, but hilariously it has been taken over by sea lions...if you go to the Galápagos Islands, you know how sea lions just go wherever they want! There are also marine iguanas and tiny cute lizards right there on the deck, so the Aventura is a perfect slice of the Galapagos! We found one tiny tiny lizard in our room, but we weren't the strictest at perfectly closing our sliding door. We did not have ants at all.
Very close (walking distance) to the port. FYI, if you are doing a land-based tour, you will take a water taxi from the boat, then do a boat-to-boat transfer to the power boat that will take you between islands. TAKE GRAVOL, even if you don't normally get motion-sickness. The boat trips are 90 mins to 3 hours depending on the waves or current, and are miserable if you are sick. Life jackets are given out on the power boats, but not always on the water taxis.
There is lots to do on Santa Cruz, and Aventura staff can help you plan this if you are not with a tour. Though really, I recommend going with a tour. This is not like showing up on a Caribbean Island where you can go anywhere & do anything...rather, on the Galápagos Islands you can't get into any of the attractions/activities without a licensed guide, since the Galapagos is 95% government parkland--they are not trying to rob you, but rather keep Galapagos healthy. Also, I recommend choosing a land-based tour, not a cruise, because more of your money goes to local people and the Galapagos economy.

Room Tip: Don't take a room next to the sea lion lounge area, you will be woken up by them barking (it sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winona Lake, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We booked the Darwin Experience package. Had a great time, but a lot of that was due to the people we met on the trip. The lodge was very nice and clean. Beds are a little hard, but not unbareable. The food (buffet) was at the best average. I would suggest not getting the meal plan for the dinners and going into Puerto Ayora for dinner. Many nice restaurants there.

Room Tip: upgrade to ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 762SueS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our tour was 'Darwin's Footsteps.' Judging from other reviews my comments are not unusual, but perhaps a little more thorough.
Nice hotel in Puerto Ayora, OK hotel on Isabella, but generally an unhappy experience as a tour operator.
First the tour part: because that’s why everyone goes to the Galapagos Islands – to see the wildlife and immerse in the culture. We arranged our tour with Red Mangrove before we left home. The gentleman who took my call and made (or directed) our arrangements knew our incoming flight schedule, and said he could work with it. His intent was to put us on a later flight with another carrier rather than their usual carrier. We had several phone calls back and forth. We prodded him for information about how to get to the hotel after we got to the island and finally received an email – take the bus to the ferry, then a $30 cab to the hotel. Not exactly full service, but manageable after we got the information. But it wasn't forthcoming. We eventually felt comfortable that we were in good hands. Our mistake!
Our flight into Quito and his scheduled departure from Quito to Guayaguil and onto Galapagos was actually an illegal booking in that it was only 35 minutes between flights. It did not leave enough time in Quito to claim luggage, purchase the $10 forms, get luggage x-rayed and rechecked, get boarding passes and get to the gate. Some one whose business is arranging tours should have known this! The result was an unanswered call to the Red Mangrove, but a successful call to the airline ticket provider who changed our flights (both to and from Galapagos) and shifted our stay on the islands by a day. We overnighted in Quito and flew out the next morning. Their only concession to us: someone did meet our flight in the Galapagos and handled our baggage and ushered us from airport to ferry, to cab, to hotel. Probably an hour process in total.
When we arrived at the Red Mangrove, we were given lunch and quickly scooted out to join our original tour. We were not given a chance to change out of travel clothes. A shorter ride to the pier for a 3+ hours speedboat ride to Isabella Island. The boat was OK, but poorly equipped in that the seat cushions did not fit the benches and was generally uncomfortable. Our tour guide #1 joined us on this boat trip and was engaging and nicely chatty. On Isabella Island the group (12 of us, all Americans) was ushered to awaiting cars and the luggage handled for us. We were taken to the next Red Mangrove facility where the entire group was housed and fed for the next two days – except us because our room was in the next hotel four doors down. Manageable, but lacking on their part. Day One is over, but it was spent entirely in transiting — Quito to Baltra, to Puerto Ayora, transferring to a boat and to Isabella.
Day Two was wonderful. Our guide met us at breakfast and we had a wonderful day. He got our snorkeling gear organized and transferred, waded into the water with us, discussed all the things you expect from a tour guide, snorkeled with us and we had a wonderful day. Wall of Tears was OK, but not a prime stop. The guide even played soccer after lunch with the younger set.
Day Three was much less satisfying. The group split because we had different itineraries and different lengths of tours. Here I found out that other members in our group were given individual daily itineraries – we were not. I could have asked for one at the Red Mangrove, but I didn’t know. Our tour guide #2 was far less engaging. He didn’t even ask our names. We were responsible for finding and transporting our own snorkeling gear. He took us on a boat to see marine birdlife and a walk to see marine iguana, then to a lava rock 'beach' where he gave us a total of 30 minutes to get into wetsuits and snorkel. Several in the group were unwilling comply with his timeframe. His only comment: ‘I have a schedule to keep.’ The afternoon was spent transferring back to Puerto Ayora in the same uncomfortable speedboat. This time a 4+ hour trip, but our guide chose to spend it with the captain up top, rather than engaging with his charges. Very unsatisfying.
Day Four was a short morning visit with tour guide #2 to the Darwin Center – a very specialized zoo/research center and quite interesting. Then the hour long trek back to Baltra for the flights out.

The hotel part: Red Mangrove Lodge in Puerto Ayora has a beautiful setting, on the water, with iguana and sea lions sharing the patios, sidewalks and benches with us. It was an easy walk to the commercial area, including some great art galleries mixed in with the souvenir shops and other restaurants/nightspots. Our room was delightful — large, nicely appointed, air conditioned and most important, clean. The bed was firm and comfortable. The bath was large and had double sinks. Many rooms had outdoor seating. Our particular room had an outdoor lounge area and a small table with chairs. BIG negative: No hot water. Cold showers are terrible! Not acceptable!!!!
Staff was friendly, some with good English skills, some more limited, but not an issue. Elizabeth certainly tried to make us comfortable, but we were in a hurry to put the experience behind us. Food was always buffet style, but varied and generally tasty.

Red Mangrove Lodge on Isabella Island had a more beach-y setting. Again, staff was friendly, more limited English skills. Food was always buffet style and again varied and tasty. Our lodging down the road was small, clean, sparse, air conditioned and adequate with a small bath (shower, no tub) and a pedestal sink with no place but the floor to put your toiletries. We asked for, and were given, a flashlight so we could walk between properties in the dark.

As a lodge, Red Mangrove does an OK job, if you overlook the lack of hot water. As a tour operator, Red Mangrove fell way short in our experience. Luckily we had the flexibility in our schedule to shift our Galapagos excursion by one day. But I don’t think the people at Red Mangrove understood the mix-up in our flights was actually caused by their staff/travel agent. Our final bill included a fee for rescheduling the flights, which we declined to pay. Better organization, better guides and some communication would be significant improvements!

My next Galapagos experience will be on a cruise so I don’t spend 7 hours in an uncomfortable speedboat. I’ll choose one of those I saw in the airports – chaperoning their charges through the airport lines and mess! And I’ll spend the time cruising between islands while I eat or sleep or chat with my travel mates!

Tip 1: Quito airport is not very well organized for Galapagos passengers. First go to the Galapagos passenger window and purchase your $10 coupon (CASH REQUIRED!). Then get your luggage x-rayed and then go to the airline ticket counter. Lines are long. Staff is not very helpful. You’re expected to know what to do. So follow your nose and other passengers. And plan for a full two hours to accomplish this!

Tip 2: Arriving in Galapagos (Baltra) is another opportunity to stand in line! Here you purchase your required $100 entry for the islands. (Again CASH REQUIRED!) Then you retrieve your luggage and join the masses for the buses to the ferry. Bus ride is very crowded, very uncomfortable and don't let anyone tell you it's only 5 minutes!

Tip 3: Forget about trying to check your luggage from home (or even another Ecuadorian city) all the way through to Galapagos. These airlines do NOT have reciprocal agreements. And your luggage must be x-rayed to assure that you are not introducing banned items to the island. Plan extra time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank SHVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucorodas, Owner at Red Mangrove, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest
We are really sorry you did not enjoy our country and the beauty of the Galápagos Islands. Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate them and we are working day by day to provide the passenger the greatest experience. We have had checked all the information with our sales department, and we are also applying new policies with the national park guides to offer only the best. You have to understand that in order to keep the balance in the fragile Galápagos ecosystem, many of the normal things we use or have in mainland are restricted to the islands and that is because some strict baggage control is required. Red Mangrove is not responsable for the service provided by the airports or any airline in the country
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our experience at Red Mangrove was ok. Elisabeth was very friendly and very helpful. So was the rest of the staff. The buffet was good and the view was very nice. Our first tour to see the tortoises in the wild and the lava tubes was great. The other tours including climbing the volcano, kayaking, and snorkeling were all enjoyable. We had to check out at 11:00 and had to leave our luggage behind while we toured. I wasn't thrilled about this, but we returned to find our luggage safe. Our room was adequate, but be ready to spend the night with ants and lizards. Personally, I didn't mind, but some people may. Afterall, you're on an island. If you have any problem with sea sickness, stay on land rather than on a boat. Make sure you take Dramamine when traveling between islands. The boat ride was 2 hrs. long and brutal

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoePMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Venezuela
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Traveling to the Galapagos was going out of my comfort zone..and I am glad I arrived to this location. This place is not only beautiful but very well located. Staff is SUPER! Thank YOU Elizabeth, Sandra, Diana, Fernando, Carolina, Roman, Rodrigo, Marialena, Henry, every associate went out of their way to make my days unforgettable. If you like adventure, expedition, fauna, nature at its best, volcanos...good food, and fiendly people..this is your destination.

Room Tip: Rooms are charming. if you have a view much better...but they are all very well located. Very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Ayora
0.7 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
5.9 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
7.7 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#12 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
8.7 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
#11 of 24 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mangrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mangrove

Property: Red Mangrove
Address: Avenida Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora EC010110, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Mangrove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Red Mangrove is an oceanfront hotel with the best views of Academy Bay, located in Puerto Ayora. The hotel is the perfect place for Galapagos visitors to stay considering many activities like snorkeling, hiking, beaches, swimming, kayaking, and visiting the Charles Darwin Center are just minutes away. Why else is the Red Mangrove a good decision? For those who are prone to seasickness the hotel gives you a stay where you feel just like you're on the water with the option to choose different packages with the activities mentioned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Mangrove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mangrove Aventura Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Red Mangrove Aventura
Red Mangrove Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing