We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mainao

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Ayora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Mainao
Ranked #16 of 54 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

We stayed at the Mainao Inn with our tour group and found it to be lovely and unique. The inn consists of several connected 2 to 3 story buildings around a courtyard.

There are several sections and each room appears to be different. Some are small, while others are quite large. Many are on the 2nd or 3rd floor, accessible only by stairs.

My daughter and I had a very large room with twin beds, a kitchenette and a tree table. The curved staircase to access it was a bit steep, but it added to the charm.

The air conditioning was effective and, unlike some hotels in Puerto Ayora, we had hot water in the shower (but not in the sink.)

Breakfast was fine: juice, cereal with yogurt or milk, eggs and bread.

There a computer in the courtyard that was slow, but it was convenient and free.

The family that runs the inn were very friendly and always willing to get us extra towels or bottles of water.

The inn is a block off the street that goes along the bay so it is convenient to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJtraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    66
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
27
56
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2009

We had a very comfortable stay both before and after our visit to Isabela. The staf was very helpful both while I was making the arrangements and during our stay. Everything was very clean. Nice shower and comfortable bed.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mj_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2009

NIce hotel and good brewakfast. Rooms OK. No TV.
Unfortunately from a group of 9 business man two cell phones and one Sony Cyber Shot camera was lost during our stay. We are sure we left them in the rooms but the owner avoids his responsibility. If you go there do not leave any valuable things in the the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Escalesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

Ok hotel, good location, friendly staff but not very exciting rooms. very cheap to get your clothes washed.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolaj_and_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights after completing a one-week Galapagos cruise. It was a quiet and relaxing interlude after a very busy week on the boat.

The place has a charming design with several very nice public spaces for hanging out. The bed was very comfortable (firm!) and hot water was excellent. No TV or phone but that's not what we were looking for. There was a public Internet computer in the patio area, though.

The location was very good, only a block from the main street but very quiet. The price was much lower than the bigger resort-style hotels.

  • Liked — Interesting design, good location
  • Disliked — Poor lighting in room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurieB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2007

A local volunteer coordinator connected us to this unique little hostel. The name hostel is not really appropriate, since rooms contain one to three beds. Each room has its own full bath, including hot water.

The location is convenient, one block off the water, near the center of this small town. There is a lovely courtyard, interesting architecture, and real charm. Rooms are clean and well appointed in local furniture. All seemed safe and secure. Each morning a simple but fine breakfast and hot coffee were served by a cooperative staff.

We were in Puerto Ayora in the cool season, so the lack of AC may be a problem in the hottest months. However, the rooms were well ventilated through large, attractive windows. Don´t expect any language other than Spanish.

While this is no resort, the price is excellent for this convenient, well-serviced hostel/hotel - a real value.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
14 Thank Joseph58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.6 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
#7 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silberstein
Hotel Silberstein
#8 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#9 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mainao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mainao

Property: Hotel Mainao
Address: Matazarnos and Indefatigable Street | Acacias neighborhood, Puerto Ayora EC00000, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mainao 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAINAO HOTEL offers its customers a range of services with a green vision that suit their requirements and needs, giving our guests the best quality experience in the Galapagos Islands.  We present 19 comfortable rooms with private bathroom, hot water, TV and air conditioning.  As well as 3 comfortable suites with mini fridge, writing desk, chair and a private balcony overlooking the sea. It Includes 1 complimentary wine and soft drinks in the room.  Ability to normal accommodating 54 people and up to 61 guests in multiple accommodation.  bar-lounge with a map of the islands for talks.  Library with free internet.  Wi-Fi in our facilities.  Safety deposit boxes in the rooms.  Luggage Storage.  Reception / 24 hours.  Laundry.  pleasant areas for relaxation in a comfortable and cozy atmosphere in harmony with nature.  We support the environment by using biodegradable products We also have a room especially suitable for people with disabilities, it has all the doors; both entry into the room and the bathroom and closet doors that open horizontally sliding for easy access to a person in a wheelchair. So the bathroom has all regulatory measures to facilitate access and provide all the bathroom fixtures and assurances to facilitate the experience for our guests with special needs.  We have all access to social areas and restaurant, it´s arranged for easy wheelchair mobility .  This room is for 2 people and the rate is identical to a standard room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Mainao Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing