We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, good location, birds in the pool”
Review of Hotel Solymar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Solymar
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here two nights as part of our REI Adventures tour. It is located right in the center of Puerto Ayora on Santa Cruz Island, so we have great views of the inlet, easy walking to all the restaurants, shopping, and Charles Darwin Station. The pelicans sit right outside (and sometimes bathe in the swimming pool...) Lovely outdoor bar area, and an enclosed dining room for breakfasts and dinners. The food is quite nice, if not fancy or special. Ask for a Mojito at the bar, and the bartender will go pick the mint from their garden! Nice service; very kind and helpful. Large containers of water in the hallways so you can refill your water bottles with drinkable water. The blue glass in the windows adds a lovely tint to the view, even on cloudy mornings. Not luxurious, but clean, safe, nice,

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have an outdoor balcony, except 205.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSolymar, Owner at Hotel Solymar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear JC,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our prime location, nearby to shops and other restaurants. Our guests do enjoy visits from Lava gulls, Lava herons, Darwin finches, Brown Pelicans and Blue footed boobies, just to name a few. Our pool is cleaned every morning and ph checked to assure the cleanest water for our guests. The Pineapple mojito is my personal favorite, a creation by our head bartender, Jorge, many of our guests enjoy our Passionfruit mojito as well. Thank you for choosing Hotel Solymar!

Safe travels,

Allison de Perez
Social Media/Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

Hotel Solymar promises much more than it can offer. Rates and stars do not relate to the actual status of the hotel. It urgently needs a renovation!

Rooms are furnished very rarely and without any atmosphere – reminding of a hospital room. The breakfast restaurant has the charm of a crowded waiting room at the railway station. A sea lion that sleeps every night on one of the sun chairs is for sure nice but cannot feint over the missing quality of the rooms and other facilities.

If the room rates were 50% less it would be a fair deal. As it presents itself today Solymar feels like a total rip-off.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSolymar, Owner at Hotel Solymar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear PE01,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

You'll be delighted to hear that we have renovated Hotel Solymar. We have updated our furnishing in all ocean front rooms and intstalled flat screen televisions, which were requested by many guests.

We hope you would consider visiting again, we'd love to welcome you back!

Sincerely,

Allison de Perez
Social Media/Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We absolutely love the location and the great service. The hotel was very clean, and very refreshing specially after an exciting day trip. We woke up to a beautiful sunrise and ended the day with a gorgeous sunset!!The breakfast buffett was well stocked with local and continental staples.The staff was always professional and courteous, always eager to help and be our friends!! Our youngest daughter left her stuffed dog "Sunshine"as we flew back and the hotel graciously expedited our overstaying toy!Our kids all enjoyed the sea lions, the iguanas, bluefooted boobies just outside our balcony.The location was just perfect for immersing with the locals..walking distance to the harbor, shopping, grocery . We would highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exploretheworld53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Hotel Sol y Mar is a very nice hotel with excellent English speaking service, updated clean facilities, excellent location, choice of ocean view, good free morning breakfast by the sea, and a nice outdoor bar area overlooking the sea and pool. As other reviewers note, we saw birds, iguanas and sea lions in the outdoor bar/pool area. We chose to stay here after a 6-day cruise to extend our vacation and have the option of day trips and scuba diving. We were looking for a 'nicer' quality hotel and liked the ocean view. The hotel is centrally located and convenient to everything in Puerto Ayora. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Be warned, if you are a TV addict there was no TV. We were quite happy with our stay and commend it to others who can afford it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgstickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We enjoyed a beautiful view of Puerto Ayora, from our waterfront balcony at the Hotel Solymar. We settled into our pleasantly furnished rooms, and walked down to relax by the poolside bar. While there we encountered abundant wildlife (Sea Lions, Blue Footed Boobies and Iguanas) playing along the shore, without even having to leave the hotel property! During the following days of our visit, the staff was extremely courteous, engaging and helpful. Many of them are fluent in English and can assist you with anything. The food at the hotel was delicious. We experienced it inside the restaurant, lounging poolside and at the bar. The flowers and plants surrounding the hotel were gorgeous and added to the ambiance of this ideal setting. Positioned within walking distance to the fish market, the bustling docks, shops and the Charles Darwin Center made its location extremely convenient.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

An amazing hotel right on the water with a great view. It was very affordable and had the hospitality was literally perfect. Many of the staff are completely fluent in english and can assist you in any way you need. No tv in the room but thats ok because we were outside all the time except to sleep. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and fresh, and we had sushi at the hotel one time which was very good. I would definitely suggest this to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowsquirrel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed a night in another hostel in town that was a little bit cheaper - and then we moved to this hotel. The extra money is worth it. Very clean, great service. We stayed in the tower side, which is not on the water. But we had just spent a week on a dive boat so at that point I really didn't need an ocean view - just a comfortable bed and a hot shower. This hotel also watched our bags for several hours after we checked out, kept them in a locked room. Great place. Watch for rate specials on hotels.com and other sites to save a few off of their advertised rates.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dillon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
363 reviews
5.8 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
920 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solymar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solymar

Address: Ave. Charles Darwin | Thomas de Berlanga, Puerto Ayora 00000, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: £187 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in Hotel Solymar and our New Extension Isla Sol, located 10 steps from the entrance of Hotel Solymar. We are centrally located in Puerto Ayora’s mainstreet, with ocean access, and a beautiful patio for your guests to enjoy the nature that is Galapagos. Galapagos' only Galapagueño owned and operated first class hotel. Our father, a Galapagos tourism pioneer and legend, Jimmy Perez, opened the hotel in 1960 with eight rooms. It was later completely renovated in 2007 to bring the capacity to 17 rooms with ocean front views.In Hotel Solymar we have 17 rooms equipped with LED flat screen TVs, minibars, air conditioning, hot water, private balconies which allow our guests to appreciate a spectacular ocean view. Guests may enjoy a our jacuzzi, pool, and bar in our open air patio area or enjoy a more formal setting in our dining room, all while experiencing the service of our ultra attentive staff.August of this year, we inaugurated Isla Sol by Hotel Solymar; a new building with 14 modern rooms (6 exterior view – 8 interior view). Isla Sol with meeting space for up to 120 people, ideal for hosting any type of event in Galapagos.As former guides, we know our Islands intimately and can assist our guests with their travel plans, whether your desires be to kayak with sea lions or hike through the highlands to encounter the famous giant tortoises.Our staff speaks English, Spanish and Hebrew. We hail from Galapagos, Columbia, mainland Ecuador, Israel and United States. With our diverse international staff we are proud to provide a level of hospitality and guest service that keeps guests returning year after year.We look forward to welcoming you soon at Hotel Solymar - Galapagos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Solymar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solymar Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Solymar Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing