We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Solymar
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cucuve Suites(Puerto Ayora)
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fiesta(Puerto Ayora)
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Laguna(Puerto Ayora)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Silberstein(Puerto Ayora)
US$292
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Pelican Bay(Puerto Ayora)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Red Booby(Puerto Ayora)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$334
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$384
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Mainao(Puerto Ayora)
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel(Puerto Ayora)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
233
146
45
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
146
45
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea lionsfish marketpool and jacuzzimiddle of townsanta cruzthe hotel staffocean viewclamssmall balconytortuga bayresearch centerwould highly recommend this hotelsmall hotelincluded breakfastbottled wateriguanasherons
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We booked an incredible Galapagos vacation through the Galapagos Travel Center (based in Quito). We chose an oceanfront room at the Solymar, and I have no idea how much of our total cost was related to lodging. We were pre-paid for scuba diving, dinners at several restaurants, and our room at the Solymar. We greatly enjoyed this hotel - and, in fact, loved the fact that there was no television. We do understand that management will be installing TV in the future, based upon customer demand. I echo the kudos for the hotel staff - I can't say that I've ever stayed anywhere in the world where customer satisfaction was not the highest priority of the staff - beginning with the reception desk, housekeeping, bartender & the breakfast buffet servers. We enjoyed the view of the sea from our room and the relaxed sea lions who joined us at the bar each afternoon. Location was particularly ideal for our dives out of Scuba Iguana, and for visiting the Darwin Center & shops downtown. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. We wish them well!

Room Tip: select ocean view
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IPU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Very helpful staff, location close to everything. Sea lions and iguanas right next to the pool. Warm breakfast everyday. We loved our 6 day stay over Thanksgiving! They helped us with planning our trips and answered all questions. They got in touch with our hotel on Isabela when we had some questions. Nice, relaxing place. We hope to visit again some day. Galapagos is wonderful and Solymar made our visit all the more memorable.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Slodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

But were received efficiently and friendly, our slight irritation due to tiredness neutralized. We weren't very nice, they were. Whatever we needed, the hotel staff tried to provide it. They were courteous, charming, reliable and helpful throughout.

We stayed in the Isla Sol part of the hotel which was a little less fun because there was no view of the sea, but the terrace giving to the sea was always accessible, the jacuzzi just the right temperature, and the iguanas happy and relaxed. Breakfast was plentiful and a couple of fried eggs were prepared BY HAND on request.

Your agency offers you the Solymar? Grab it!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sea view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosemaryLima_Peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSolymar, Owner at Hotel Solymar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear RosemaryLima_Peru,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

We were so glad that your check in experience helped change the tone of your day. Our receptionists understand that our guests travel from far and wide to arrive here and that can be tiring.

Thank you for the comments about our terrace, our baby iguanas have made a little colony on the front deck and the large male iguana has taken claim to his part of the patio as well for mating season.

Hope you can join us again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Allison de Perez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed when the seaside part of the hotel was under construction (so we stayed in the other part). The staff, Jonathan in particular, were super friendly and amazingly helpful! The owners were around all the time, and amazing and helped ensure we had a great time. The rooms are perfect, the food is great and overall amazing experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bxx2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSolymar, Owner at Hotel Solymar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear bxx2013,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Our founder, Jimmy Perez, spend countless hours serving our guests and his sons have the same philosphy. Our front desk supervisor well be so pleased to hear that he made your stay special.

We hope you enjoyed a safe trip home.

Sincerely,

Allison de Perez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We arrived after lunsh and left after an early breakfast. A warm and friendly welcome, a very good room with seaview (close to the outdoor bar - but no noise during the night!) and a very good breakfast. We would have liked to stay longer ---

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jens Christian ... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews