We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and amenities”
Review of Hotel Solymar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Solymar
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Paramus, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and amenities”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the Solymar for 3 nights during Christmas. Given the high season, it was an affordable but very nice option. The ocean front view rooms were already booked so we stayed at the sister property across the streets and while it would have been better to have an ocean front room with balcony, our room was still very nice. The only gripe was low water pressure in the shower, but at least there was ample hot water for all of us. We booked part of our tours directly with the hotel prior to arriving which probably is not the most cost effective way of doing it but it took some of the hassle off of our vacation. All of the staff was very friendly, the pool/bar area was great for lounging, there was wifi and the location was great - very close to different amenities and the malecon for boat tours. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: go for ocean front if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyjp531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    136
    45
    14
    12
See reviews for
107
177
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This is more like a two and a half stars than three (but we often round up, right?). We had a great time in the Galapagos and Solymar hotel itself was comfortable, had a nice view (we had an ocean view room on the second floor) and a decent breakfast. However, some of our experiences left us with a bitter taste. We were a group of 9 people and made our reservations well in advance. We also decided to book our tours through the hotel (…bad idea). Making the reservation was quite awkward having to email copies of our credit cards, and then again to book the tours. Once we had booked the hotel, we received an email explaining what to bring and some info about the weather. Unfortunately, we failed to ask (and the hotel failed to volunteer this info) about transportation from the airport to the hotel. When we arrived, we were completely lost and called the hotel. Initially, we were told that after taking the bus and then the ferry someone would pick us up upon arrival to the island of Santa Cruz. After crossing to Santa Cruz, nobody was waiting for us. Once everybody from our ferry left, we called the hotel and they told us they couldn't pick us up. At that point, the only option available was a bus that would charge each of us US$8, as opposed to the regular US$6 per person. US$2 per person is not so bad, but it left us wondering if we were being ripped off, particularly when our tour guide for the afternoon happened to be there and took the same bus. We finally arrived we had to wait for our rooms.
The tours were good, but pretty standard and a bit more expensive than booking elsewhere. When arriving at the dock to take the first boat trip and we were asked why we hadn't picked up our snorkeling gear. This felt insulting, given that the hotel had failed to inform us that we needed to pick our gear the night before. Some of the flippers we got were really old and ripped. The conditions of the equipment may not be the hotel’s fault, but we booked through them.
The hotel itself is Ok, though it seems a bit too expensive for what you get. Location is great and our room was clean and had what we needed. Internet was only available in some areas of the hotel and it was not very reliable. One night that we decided to snack in the hotel’s restaurant, we got good food and drinks and the wait staff was nice. Looking at the stars after the power went off was amazing. People working at the front desk were polite, but not particularly helpful. In summary, a reasonable hotel but we expected more from the services offered.

Room Tip: Water view in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thiscarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSolymar, Owner at Hotel Solymar, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Thiscarolina,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Our sales agents all use a standard first email for all guests and agencies, explaining that we offer transfers to and from the hotel, tours and other services requested by the guest. Unfortunately your group had not contracted transfer services with our hotel, luckily a driver that usually works with our hotel was in the airport and he was able to coordinate your group's arrival to our hotel. The next day our operations manager met with the group to clarify what had happened as the group had not contracted a transfer in with us.
Our apologies for the failure to communicate the information about snorkeling gear, we have since requested that all passengers meet with the daily tour company beforehand to coordinate equipment fitting. We understand that some of the discomfort is caused by the fact we were unable to change islands for your groups daily tours. As this is a National Park there are few permits to perform daily tours, these boats have a strict itenerary that they must follow and boat companies are unable to change their destination if requested by guests.
During the entirety of your stay our operations manager was in constant contact assisting with any requirements that there were. Wishing you the best in 2014.

Sincerely,

Allison de Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was a comfortable but not luxury stay. From the photos and the reviews, I expected slightly more. The bathrooms are pretty dated and have a motel 6 kind of sound (the fan) and feel but the bedrooms were updated and nice. It is wonderful to have the ocean outside but depending on the other guests, can be noisy since the bar is directly under your room/window. Overall, this is a good stay with reasonably good service, right on the water. We paid a lot for the room, probably because it was a high demand time so if it was more reasonably priced it would be a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The Solymar hotel in Puerto Ayora has a water side frontage which attracts much of the wildlife for which one goes to visit the Galapagos islands. In fact at the swimming pool we saw iguanas and birds we had travelled far to see during our visit! The hotel provides comfortable rooms ands if it keeps the hot water system going to all rooms is well worth staying at. The food it provides ranges from good to average (ask for eggs for breakfast if you want them) but the consistently cheerful and helpful staff made up for those shortcoming. They also make a very good pisco sour.
Be careful crossing the road as the both-ways bike track can be a trap.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietraveller36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We booked an incredible Galapagos vacation through the Galapagos Travel Center (based in Quito). We chose an oceanfront room at the Solymar, and I have no idea how much of our total cost was related to lodging. We were pre-paid for scuba diving, dinners at several restaurants, and our room at the Solymar. We greatly enjoyed this hotel - and, in fact, loved the fact that there was no television. We do understand that management will be installing TV in the future, based upon customer demand. I echo the kudos for the hotel staff - I can't say that I've ever stayed anywhere in the world where customer satisfaction was not the highest priority of the staff - beginning with the reception desk, housekeeping, bartender & the breakfast buffet servers. We enjoyed the view of the sea from our room and the relaxed sea lions who joined us at the bar each afternoon. Location was particularly ideal for our dives out of Scuba Iguana, and for visiting the Darwin Center & shops downtown. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. We wish them well!

Room Tip: select ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IPU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Very helpful staff, location close to everything. Sea lions and iguanas right next to the pool. Warm breakfast everyday. We loved our 6 day stay over Thanksgiving! They helped us with planning our trips and answered all questions. They got in touch with our hotel on Isabela when we had some questions. Nice, relaxing place. We hope to visit again some day. Galapagos is wonderful and Solymar made our visit all the more memorable.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Slodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

But were received efficiently and friendly, our slight irritation due to tiredness neutralized. We weren't very nice, they were. Whatever we needed, the hotel staff tried to provide it. They were courteous, charming, reliable and helpful throughout.

We stayed in the Isla Sol part of the hotel which was a little less fun because there was no view of the sea, but the terrace giving to the sea was always accessible, the jacuzzi just the right temperature, and the iguanas happy and relaxed. Breakfast was plentiful and a couple of fried eggs were prepared BY HAND on request.

Your agency offers you the Solymar? Grab it!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosemaryLima_Peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSolymar, Owner at Hotel Solymar, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear RosemaryLima_Peru,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

We were so glad that your check in experience helped change the tone of your day. Our receptionists understand that our guests travel from far and wide to arrive here and that can be tiring.

Thank you for the comments about our terrace, our baby iguanas have made a little colony on the front deck and the large male iguana has taken claim to his part of the patio as well for mating season.

Hope you can join us again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Allison de Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
851 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
346 reviews
5.8 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solymar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solymar

Property: Hotel Solymar
Address: Ave. Charles Darwin | Thomas de Berlanga, Puerto Ayora 00000, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in Hotel Solymar and our New Extension Isla Sol, located 10 steps from the entrance of Hotel Solymar. We are centrally located in Puerto Ayora’s mainstreet, with ocean access, and a beautiful patio for your guests to enjoy the nature that is Galapagos. Galapagos' only Galapagueño owned and operated first class hotel. Our father, a Galapagos tourism pioneer and legend, Jimmy Perez, opened the hotel in 1960 with eight rooms. It was later completely renovated in 2007 to bring the capacity to 17 rooms with ocean front views.In Hotel Solymar we have 17 rooms equipped with LED flat screen TVs, minibars, air conditioning, hot water, private balconies which allow our guests to appreciate a spectacular ocean view. Guests may enjoy a our jacuzzi, pool, and bar in our open air patio area or enjoy a more formal setting in our dining room, all while experiencing the service of our ultra attentive staff.August of this year, we inaugurated Isla Sol by Hotel Solymar; a new building with 14 modern rooms (6 exterior view – 8 interior view). Isla Sol with meeting space for up to 120 people, ideal for hosting any type of event in Galapagos.As former guides, we know our Islands intimately and can assist our guests with their travel plans, whether your desires be to kayak with sea lions or hike through the highlands to encounter the famous giant tortoises.Our staff speaks English, Spanish and Hebrew. We hail from Galapagos, Columbia, mainland Ecuador, Israel and United States. With our diverse international staff we are proud to provide a level of hospitality and guest service that keeps guests returning year after year.We look forward to welcoming you soon at Hotel Solymar - Galapagos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Solymar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solymar Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Solymar Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing