We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Solymar
Nearby Hotels
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel(Puerto Ayora)
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Silberstein(Puerto Ayora)
US$292
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Cucuve Suites(Puerto Ayora)
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Laguna(Puerto Ayora)
US$148
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$427
US$415
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Pelican Bay(Puerto Ayora)
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Red Booby(Puerto Ayora)
US$112
US$109
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mainao(Puerto Ayora)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ninfa(Puerto Ayora)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveller rating
231
144
45
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
144
45
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea lionsfish marketpool and jacuzzimiddle of townsanta cruzthe hotel staffocean viewclamssmall balconytortuga bayresearch centerwould highly recommend this hotelsmall hotelincluded breakfastbottled wateriguanasherons
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 447 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We had originally booked to stay at Red Mangrove (for $655+ per night). We had an awful experience and as a result ended up finding a new hotel - Hotel Solymar. Where we paid $303 per night. My biggest regret was not booking here in the first place.

We stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms were so clean and tidy and so modern. The staff were some of the friendliest staff I have come across (especially Jonathan on reception) and when they realised it was my birthday everyone would stop to say happy birthday, which was just lovely!! I even had cake and balloons, which was fantastic at such short notice.

The breakfast selection was suitable. We had lunch by the pool and the food was great. I would highly recommend the coconut prawns!

The pool was lovely and so funny seeing all the iguanas lined up and sunning themselves across the edge!

Great location, in the centre of Puerto Auora with the port not far in one direction and the Charles Darwin not far in the other.

A lot of galapagos hotels are expensive, but based on what we have seen, this was a lot better value for money. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and would choose over Red Mangrove any day.

Thank you Solymar!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MeetTheEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

From the time we stepped foot in this hotel the staff were welcoming, courteous, informative, and accommodating. Within the first hour of our trip to the Galapagos we had already seen tons of marine iguanas and blue footed boobies, swam with sea lions, and had amazing views of Pelican Bay, all from the hotel. Rooms were clean, modern, comfortable, and spacious. Lounging poolside is an adventure on its own. The surprise visits from various Galapagos specific species (e.g. boobies, pelicans, sea lions, iguanas, etc.) made every second a true Galapagos experience. The bar drinks were exotic, thirst quenching, and impressive. But not as impressive as the food! I felt the seafood and sushi were the best on the island and my theory was supported by all the locals that came to enjoy alongside. Breakfast was graciously offered complimentary which offered a generous buffet, fresh fruit, tropical juice, tea and coffee.

Overall a HIGHLY recommended visit for anyone visiting the Galapagos. Book now, thank me later!!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms in Hotel Solymar.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We were booked into the Hotel Solymar for a few days while we took excursions to a few of the islands in the Galapagos during the day. the hotel is in a beautiful setting, looking out on the water and with a beautiful pool complete with marine iguanas and the odd sea lion hanging around. The hotel was very clean and modern. They had a laundry service which we appreciated when we arrived as many of our clothes were salty and stinky after spending a week on a dive boat. Our main disappointments were that the wireless internet was terrible unless you sat outside on the balcony and got eaten up by mosquitoes or you went out to the lobby to sit on the one couch that was there. Also, there was not a single english- language channel on the TV - not even CNN. The drinks at the bar were very pricey (standard for the Galapagos I guess), and the meals (one lunch/one dinner) we had there were nothing special. Breakfast was very nice with hot and cold buffet and also individually prepared eggs available. Great location along the main drag in town - lots of shopping - yet surprisingly quiet.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk if some rooms have better wireless than others. Also, eat your lunch and dinner elsewhere.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smt499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSolymar, Owner at Hotel Solymar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear smt499,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our privileged location and laundry service, which is espcially helpful when one is travelling.

The internet situation in the Galapagos is quite unfortunate, as the islands recieve internet via satellite the internet strength island wide is quite weak and slow. Though our hotel pays for the fastest internet available we provide it complimentary, as it doesn't compare with the internet in mainland Ecuador. As mentioned on our website, we provide internet in our public areas, our room walls are quite thick and make for a good nights sleep, but do not permit the wi-fi signal to travel through.

We can appreciate your comments about the drink prices as the government in Ecuador charges per percentage of alcohol during exportation, which makes a bottle about 3 times more expensive here, than in the US or Canada.

Our chef will be delighted to hear that the breakfast buffet was enjoyable, its hard to beat with the ocean view and great variety of international and Ecuadorian favorites.

Sincerely,

Allison de Perez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We were so excited when we arrived and saw a sea lion, iguanas and birds all enjoying themselves next to the hotel swimming pool - it was kinda surreal!

We stayed 2 nights at the beginning and 2 nights at the end of our Galapagos adventure. We were a group of 3 adults and 1 child and found the hotel to be exceptionally good. Great location, very clean and fully equipped.

Thanks Allison for your help with our reservation. We really enjoyed the hotel, Puerto Ayora and the Galapagos. Until next time!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JlcECAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My family (2 kids and 2 grandparents in their 80s) recently spent a terrific 4 days at the Hotel Solymar. Great view. Great restaurant. This hotel is clean and kid/grandparent friendly. The pool helped cool us off after a day of touring with the informative guides the hotel provided. Best of all the hotel has a stellar staff - friendly, courteous and accommodating at every moment. An example of the sort of above-and-beyond service we received was that the manager's wife sent us a recipe for one of the dishes that we loved after we left. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews