We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning !!”
Review of Hotel Fernandina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Fernandina
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This hotel was booked as part of an organized trip. Despite a rather positive first impression, agreeable surroundings, little inside courtyard set with plants, tables and chairs, good location between the town center (10-15 min walk) and the Charles Darwin Foundation, use of the swimming pool and the bedrooms were spacious and clean, we were disappointed by what follows.
Indeed a few people in the group had things stolen from their rooms, cash, i-pod, watches as well as personal belongings and sometimes locks on bags were forced.
The hotel manager wasn’t interested in taking any responsibilities whether the actions were done by his employees, others clients or visitors to the hotel. So since his help wasn’t forthcoming the guests concerned spent their last afternoon in the Police Station to report their stolen goods. So if you wish to enjoy your stay on the island do not go anywhere near this hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Stéphanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013
Google Translation

Lamentamos el incidente y hemos tomado las medidas necesarias para que algo asi no vuelva a ocurrir. Nosotros garantizamos nuestro personal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

I stayed here one night before joining a cruise and I'm really satisfied with what they offer. The room, mine at least, is really spacious and clean, containing 2 single beds, arm chair and a table with chairs. Shelfs to put your stuff away and a spacious and clean bathroom with a good hot shower. The decoration is basic as I prefer. Shampoo etc is provided, free wifi and a really nice outside area. I didn't use the swimming pool but I stepped by and it definitely appealed to me.

All the staff members speak English and that's what the kept talking to me, even while I responded every time in Spanish.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boyd_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This was my favorite hotel on the islands. The staff here were friendly, helpful and they all spoke English! The room, while it was very basic, was clean and had everything you really needed except a TV. I don’t generally watch TV on vacation anyway, so this was no big deal. The grounds are neat and tidy as well. And the internet connection was very good, which was great for updating friends and family on my trip.

The food here was the best of all the places I stayed as well. You do not get any real choices, so if you are a picky eater, you want to make other arrangements. But for me, it was just right; fresh fruit, lean meat, rice and veggies. I thought it was very healthy, but still filling and tasty.

I actually passed through here again for breakfast on my way home after visiting other islands and the staff there remembered me by name and welcomed me back. I thought that was really nice and not the kind of service you get just anywhere. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank Jenn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel. It's very clean and neat and have the best aircon. Trust me you will need aircon!

There is a lovely outside area to sit and a pool.

It's run by n family, which adds a nice touch. Their friendliness is very welcoming!

It's not on the water, about 5 min walk from town, but a taxi is only 1 dollar, if the heat get's too much for you.

I'll stay here again when I come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cautiousglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Our tour company arranged for our stay. As previous reviewers have commented, the rooms are large but offer no ammenities whatsoever - just a bed and two end tables. The bathroom had an impractical pedestal sink which meant there was no place to put your tolitries. While shampoo was provided, there was no soap. Breakfast was included, but if you didn't early early there wasn't much food left. The selection of food was poor and the food wasn't all that good either. It seemed that they cooked only a fixed amount of food and after it was gone you were out of luck. The pool had a murky green color during our visit and we choose not to use it. The hot tub wasn't much better. It was only half full and didn't look like it got much use. There were wi-fi signs posted all over the place, but for the three days were were there it was useless. The front desk reset it a couple of times and it would work for a few minutes and then go down. The location was convenient.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed for a few days after touring the islands by yacht. The rooms are fine, very clean and quiet. It was great that they can turn around your laundry in a few hours for just a few dollars. Everything in town is a short walk away, or you can take one of the local cabs for $1.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nycger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

This is a decent hotel for the Galapagos. The room is an ok size, but no TV though and it is a bit dark.
There is a safety deposit box and the WIFI is free. The restaurant food is good.
I did not use the pool (across the street) but saw that it was quite busy.
the hotel is 2 blocks away from Charles Darwin street, the main drag with all the tourist shops, restaurants etc..

Laundry does take 2 days to do, not sure whether it was because I checked in on a Monday.
Chilled water is available free from dispensers.

There is alot if stairs, a bit of a problem if you have suitcases.

In summary, a decent hotel in a good location - nothing spectacular but all the important services are catered for.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank austraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#13 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
98 reviews
3.9 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#11 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Galapagos Tortuga Bay
Galapagos Tortuga Bay
#16 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fernandina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fernandina

Address: Av. 12 Noviembre y Piqueros, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: £140 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Fernandina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Fernandina is a warm and welcoming place where you can stay either alone, with family or friends and enjoy your visit to the Galapagos Islands, allowing us to provide you an excellent service as you deserve. We offer 22 rooms with air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water and WiFi. We are located in a very quiet residential area just 10 minutes from the Charles Darwin Station and few minutes from the main attractions of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Fernandina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernandina Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Fernandina Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing