We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel but not perfect”
Review of Hotel Fernandina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Fernandina
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent hotel but not perfect”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

After staying in La Laguna on Isabela for 3 nights (which is gorgeous by the way) we were a little disappointed with our 2 nights in Fernandina. The food was good and decent portions. I was given a twin room on the ground floor and my parents a king room on the first floor. I immediately asked to be moved rooms as it was mouldy and smelled musty. They took this on board and moved me to the biggest room on the top floor, which was pretty nice.
The seating areas were quite nicely decorated; however the pool area of the room was shabby. We intended to use the pool but quickly decided against it when we saw the state of it - it was filthy and there were loads is floating particles of dirt in the water and dead bugs. Also, sadly, no decent sun loungers. There were a few but most of them broken.

Overall, this hotel made a decent stay for 2 nights but I wouldn't really recommend staying there for a longer stretch.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
On behalf of Fernandina Hotel, please accept our apologize for the inconvenient with the pool area during your stay in our hotel. I´m glad to hear that our reception staff help you to change to a new room and that you were happy with our breakfast service.
Please be informed that we have been working with the pool area to provide better service to our guests and if you decide to visit again the galapagos islands I invite you to contact us to info@hotelfernandinagalapagos.com for arrange your next saty and give you a pleasant stay as you deserve.

Sincerely.

Luis Ruiz
Hotel Fernandina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    63
    34
    11
    8
See reviews for
28
47
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here for a few days after being spoiled rotten with the service on an 8-day cruise. When we checked in, we were told that we were booked into a small room with a twin bed. Ha! We asked to be put into a bigger room; the only one available had 3 beds (a queen and two twins). Unfortunately, when we checked the beds, all of them were dirty or had spiders and ants under the sheets except one of the twins. Worst. Two nights. Of our lives. It was almost impossible for my husband and I to be comfortable on the tiny bed, but at least we were in a bigger room! The ac did work well for us, though we closed all the windows before turning it on for the day. There are gaps under a lot of the doors where insects could get in. Breakfast was somewhat basic and so-so in flavor and quality, as would be expected in a low-budget motel breakfast in the US.

Bottled water is available warm, lukewarm or cold at the end of the hallways. We did not have problems with hot water, of which there was plenty. However, we did ask the management, who said that technically the water used in showers, much like in most of Ecuador, should not be drunk. The internet is pretty slow; it takes several minutes to even pull up a light email client. Yes, the hotel is a short walk from the waterfront in a not-so-pretty area of town, but we did enjoy the walk in the mornings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amr_ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thanks for your comment, I do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay with us.
It is a shame that your trip was in winter season where insects come because of the rains. Let me inform you that we take seriously all the comments and we have taken the precautionary measures for each department making improvements to our breakfast service and with the guest areas cleanness.
Our mission is to provide the best experience to our guest.
As a token of apology let me offer you a night stay with nosotos assure you that we will provide the best service as you deserve to info@hotelfernandinagalapagos.com please write me to arrange your next visit.

Best regards,

Hotel Fernandina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were booked at this hotel by our tour company. When we checked in , we noticed that there were flies in the room. Hotel is located 2 blocks from the sea, so no sea view. On an island, i guess you would expect some sea view or to be closer to the beach. Our room was at the third floor and there were no elevator. The steps were steep. Breakfast was poor. I could only eat a few slices of fruit. The front desk was closed when we returned from dinner at around 9pm, so we could not ask for an extra pillow. So we checked out the next day and moved to another hotel with a sea-view room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for your comment, I do apologize for the inconvenient that you had during your stay.
Let me inform to you that our staff always check the rooms before each check in, unfortunately with the change of season, the arrival of insects are unpredictable, however these are not harmful to health, about the lift we don´t have one because our hotel is eco therefore we try to use equipment to a minimum.

I reiterate my apologies for the inconvenience and invite you to visit our hotel again with a free night as compensation for the last experience, I assure you that I personally take care of your stay as pleasant as possible, if you decide to come please contact to info@hotelfernandinagalapagos.com to arrange your next stay.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I loved pulling up to this place and seeing the two parts of the hotel across the street from one another , and we loved the turtle keys for each room. We had reserved 14 rooms for a school trip and everyone seemed very happy. The water pressure was nice, the towels were nice, and the AC was great! The pool area was dirty as was the area around it but it seemed to be under construction. The breakfast was nice in the morning, and when we were there it seemed super busy all the time. Wifi was not so good in any part of the hotel. I loved how they had water and glasses in the rooms for when we returned from a long day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chs29401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

In order to post this review I had to give this "place" one star. Zero rating is the proper one! Recommended for persons that need a room to stay if they can tolerate, rat droppings, no hot water, dirty bed coverings (what looked like,urine stains, hairs etc.) limited lighting, no A/C, small to no windows in the rooms. Multiple stairs to get to the rooms (second floor) carrying luggage up to rooms. One look at this room and we decided to find other accommodations even though we had prepaid. We would not spend 3 nights in this dirty (potential disease environment) "hotel". Staying on the street would have been a lot cleaner, and more comfortable. Attempts to remedy this situation with management fell on " deaf ears". A woman that claimed to be in charge when confronted about conditions stated " don't like it here then leave" and leave we did!
Fortunately, we were able to find space at the Hotel Solymar in addition to the fees we had already paid to the Fernandina.) The Solymar is waterfront, center of town, has A/C, clean comfortable rooms, excellent service. You can see animals, birds from your room on the deck, where a pool and jaccuzzi are located. BTW the "pool" for the Fernandina is across the street from the living quarters surrounded by what appears to be a jungle of plants.
Can not understand other reviews praising this facility. Question: could this be persons some how related to the owners or management? Seeing is believing! Being an experienced traveler as I am, over the years I am qualified to assess and rate a property and this one goes down as one of the worst I have ever been to.

Room Tip: not recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Attyev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario, nos es grato saber que disfrutó de una cómoda estadía con nosotros.
Le invitamos a que nos visite nuevamente, ya que será un verdadero placer tener la oportunidad de recibir su visita en una próxima ocasión.

Saludos cordiales,

Hotel Fernandina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Ayora hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I continued to reassess my opinion of this dump in light of comments of others. Maybe there is another Fernandina in another galaxy. Consider these facts and draw your own conclusions. We (all 8 of us in 4 rooms) found the following: pubic hair on sheets; what appeared to be urine stains on blanket; no air conditioning; warm tap water in a pitcher in the rooms with no availability of bottled water, even to buy; black mold in the room and bathroom; some rooms so small only two single beds, at different directions, and 4 small suitcases were all it could accommodate, plus two people...i.e. no room to walk around each other; trash in the wastebasket; a general feeling of dirt and uncleanliness. No phones either. The courtyard is a joke. The "pool" and "spa" (if you are brave enough to use these facilities) occupy most of the space with the usual overgrowth of jungle like vegetation accompanied with soil and green vegetation encroaching everywhere. A dining room encased in the environs so dark and drab we found it unthinkable to eat in it. God only knows what the food would have been like. It took us about 3 minutes after reaching our rooms to decide that sleeping on the street would be a better choice, and removed ourselves to the Solymar: right on the water in the center of town with excellent service and nice rooms with air conditioning. TripAdvisor pizza restaurant across the street for edible food. For a few dollars difference it was going from a minus 10 to a 3+ star hotel. Parenthetically, each tour member has travelled extensively across, up and down this planet, and this dump qualifies as one hotel which in our opinion should not be considered. Finally, we have seldom found a hotel owner more hostile to guests as this woman (first she claimed to be the owner, then she said he is the daughter of the owner, then she said she was the owner). Hard to really know, and I don't care. I was just glad to be out of this dump. The three other reviewers seem awfully easy to please in light of our perceived experience. If you want a budget hotel, and we did not...we were "snookered" in, try the Grand Hotel 100 yards from the Solymar.

Room Tip: For a good room..........go to Solymar or the Grand Hotel, unless of course, you are a Bohemian back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anropn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
On behalf of Fernandina Hotel, please accept my apology for your inconvenient.
I am certainly disappointed by the lack of cleanliness you experienced in your guest room. Your experience falls way below our standards.
We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time.
As an apologize for your inconvenient let me offer you a free two-night stay. Before booking your next stay please contact me to info@hotelfernandinagalapagos.com so we can go above and beyond your expectations!
We hope you will see the improvement and enjoy your time with us in your next visit. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions or comments concerning your stay.

Thank you

Sincerely


Luis Ruiz
Hotel Fernandina.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

WE spent a week in Puerto Ayora, and Hotel Fernandina. The courtyard is beautiful, and the office staff was very friendly! We were in room 13, tucked away from most of the rooms, but it was very large, clean and offered excellent internet access. The breakfast buffet was fresh and delicious every morning! The pool and hot tub are right across the street from the main lobby area, and the downtown area is a short three block walk! I would definitely return to the property!

Room Tip: Room #13 offers a good breeze through the windows, and great, uninterrupted internet service. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos su comentario, será un placer que se hospede con nosotros nuevamente.

Saludos.

Hotel Fernandina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
650 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#14 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberstein
Hotel Silberstein
#7 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fernandina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fernandina

Property: Hotel Fernandina
Address: Av. 12 Noviembre y Piqueros, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Fernandina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Fernandina is a warm and welcoming place where you can stay either alone, with family or friends and enjoy your visit to the Galapagos Islands, allowing us to provide you an excellent service as you deserve. We offer 22 rooms with air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water and WiFi. We are located in a very quiet residential area just 10 minutes from the Charles Darwin Station and few minutes from the main attractions of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Fernandina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernandina Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Fernandina Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing