We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above and beyond over and over”
Review of Hotel Fernandina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Fernandina
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Berkeley, California
1 review
“Above and beyond over and over”
Reviewed 26 January 2011

The staff at Hotel Fernandina are a family. When my girlfriend got the flu there with a very high fever everyone went far above and beyond to help. They told us about an english-speaking doctor less than 2 blocks away and when we started walking there the owner showed up in his pick up truck to offer to drive us the rest of the way. We had originally requested a quiet room and they gave us a family-sized room for the same price as the regular double. Everyone kept asking how she was feeling and how they could help, and just kept going above and beyond to help, and when we kept having to change our plans due to sickness, they were still so helpful.

A little more about the hotel-- it's in a very quiet part of town (which was exactly what we had wanted), a ten-minute walk to the downtown tourist area. But there's a laundromat next door, a pharmacy 2 blocks away, it's a few blocks to a bakery and market, etc. It's really quite accessible.

All in all, it's a comfortable hotel, amenities were great, staff were awesome, and I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mereours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    62
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
27
46
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duvall
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We made a 3 night reservation at the Hotel Fernandina. We had to cancell our reservation and the hotel did not refund any of the $670. U.S. dollars we paid for 3 nights.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barclat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Ayora hotels

Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

The rooms are spacious, the hot water in the morning is iffy (but this is standard for Galapagos as far as I can tell), and the breakfast is healthy & average. But dang -- the personnel here really stand out for helping! From knowing EVERYONE they might need to call, calling them, making you aware of things, and making sure that the taxi that mysteriously shows up is, in fact, the right one for you, they do everything to add a personal touch to the stay. That makes them a pleasure to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WPHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Perhaps we were expecting too much after reading all the previous good reviews for the Hotel Fernandina but we were actually a little disappointed with this hotel.

The Hotel is situated in a quiet location away from the main town area but still within an easy 10 minute walk to the shops/restaurants and the Research Centre. Next door is a launderette which is handy for those staying any length of time.

Our room was spacious and very clean although the bed-covers had clearly seen better days and there was no mattress cover. The room had air-conditioning which worked well but the water supply was a problem. Now it may be the case in all Galapagos hotels but there was very little cold-water pressure which meant it dribbled out of the tap in the bathroom and there was no hot water from the tap at all. There was plenty of hot water in the shower but because the cold water pressure was so low the hot water had to be turned right down in order to get the temperature right which meant there was very little water coming out at all - you almost had to run around the shower to get wet !!

Breakfast was uninspiring and dire - quite the worst we have experienced at any hotel. No toast and the same rolls every day, and on more than one occasion there was no fresh coffee which is inexcusable.

Where the hotel does score points is with the attitude of the staff who really could not have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were more than happy to arrange trips, taxis etc. It's just a shame that a few basics let this hotel down.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We arrived here expecting to stay for 4 days but ended up staying 3 weeks. The commitment to serve was remarkable. These people have the quality of of any 5-7* Hotel and in fact put many of them to shame. They were so helpful and made our stay one that will forever be on the top of our list as special. The rooms were well prepared and clean and whether long or short term I recommend it. We plan to return again and will stay no where else. There was nothing too great for them to do all you had to do was ask and they had someone who could help.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psmartin737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheeseland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

This is a nice hotel. The beds aren't the greatest, but they're good enough. The air conditioning was reliable and the showers were good. The breakfast was satisfactory as they opened it early for us every morning as we were up and out early for diving every day. The hotel staff always had a smile and the hotel was clean for remote, average Ecuadorian standards. I would recommend this hotel, but can't say it's 5 stars. Book with confidence. Yes, it's a walk to town, but you're 1 block away from the research park. Stretch your legs, it's really not that far if you're ambulatory.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runin_in_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Impeccable rooms and staff smiling, chatting with you and CARING about your trip.
Paul

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank platonov909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
7.5 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#12 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Galapagos Garden
Hotel Galapagos Garden
#15 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#10 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fernandina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fernandina

Property: Hotel Fernandina
Address: Av. 12 Noviembre y Piqueros, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Fernandina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Fernandina is a warm and welcoming place where you can stay either alone, with family or friends and enjoy your visit to the Galapagos Islands, allowing us to provide you an excellent service as you deserve. We offer 22 rooms with air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water and WiFi. We are located in a very quiet residential area just 10 minutes from the Charles Darwin Station and few minutes from the main attractions of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Fernandina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernandina Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Fernandina Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing