We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too much over rated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lun Fun Manta
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Manta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Too much over rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

As many said, the staff and the restaurant are very good. The room has a good size too.
The main problems here are poor location and cleaning (we found insects in our bed). Wifi was not working in some rooms (including mine).
Too much over rated (being #1 at Trip Advisor for Manta); I will not return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmg1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    6
    18
    2
    6
See reviews for
12
10
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

We had the most ideal stay at Lun Fun Hotel. It was an easy distance from the airport but only blocks away from the Bus terminal as well. When you arrive you leave the dark streets of Manta and enter the comfort and warmth of this hotel. The family who own the hotel are friendly and welcoming, we had the pleasure of meeting Celia who spoke great English and made us feel so comfortable and at home. The room and the bathroom were clean and spacious and the shower was such a warm relief. The bed was really comfortable but most of all...dinner at Lun Fun will not disappoint. The asian theme of the menu and the quality of the food was very impressive! We enjoyed the delicious selection of asian broth soups, delicious ribs and then the most exquisite tiramisu and the house wine was a nice surprise from everything we have had in south america! Breakfast in the morning was great also, fresh fruit and squeezed juice, coffee and tea and eggs, ham, cheese and good bread. Thank you Lun Fun for providing us with the quality and service we have been craving and were able to enjoy so much!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caitlyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

I only have two requirements for staying in a hotel when traveling abroad...a clean room and an attentive front desk. I could not have been more pleased with the attention at the front desk. Celia is great! She provided all the information required to get around in Manta and even set up a tour that was memorable. If you have any problems, just ask for Celia. If I ever go back to Manta, I will stay at the Hotel Lun Fun Manta.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Grant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
208 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

Hotel Lun Fun is a wonderful experience in Manta. The hotel is so very clean and the safety of the guests is a top priority. Celia and her amazing staff all look after your every need. The restaurant offers some of the best Chinese food ever and is a very comfortable place to be. The location is a bit out of the way, but taxis are very easy to get and you can walk to the main beach area in about 15 min. The rooms are a good size but I do suggest you ask for seaview if you are staying any length of time. All in all very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Altagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

I had the opportunity to spend the night at Hotel Lun Fun several months ago and never got around to writing a review. Overall the hotel is great if you need a safe place to stay in Manta that probably won't be sold out since it's not on the beach. The hotel itself is nice and the room was surprisingly well decorated and comfortable as well. I'd say it's over priced as I paid $90 for one night. The staff is friendly and accommodating. There is a restaurant as well that seemed to be popular. I live here so I wasn't hungry enough to pay hotel prices other than the $2.00 I paid for the $.80 Coke. If you are in Manta and need a place to stay for a night, stop by and enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartalemeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Thanks to tripadvisor contributors i found this hotel in Manta. Manta is not the ultimate touristical destiny but a good spot in the city can turn into good your stay. it is located 1km or 15 min walk (i walk fast) to Playa Murcielago.

I had spend almost 2 weeks and during my stay i´m really amazed of how the people in this place look for all the means to serve you. Even the security guy in the front gate help you without request and the great part is that in some places you can find people helping because of tips, but here is because they are very service oriented.

I have not tried the restaurant which many people had suggested have great food but telling more about service, in the morning breakfast which is included in the hotel room rate, the girls serving are even suggesting choices, i feel like in home my mother taking care of me, and believe me, i´m not trying to impress.

I got some internet issues at the begining but Celia, the manager, was so nice and supportive. so far there is not any complaint about this place.

i highly recommend this plce.

Room Tip: Because of pacific sea characteristics the sea view is not amazing but Ask for sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ERRveneno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

I stayed here with a friend for a few days in November 2011. What a Jem this find was, We were treated as we had checked into a 5 star hotel. The owner was very helpful in answering any questions and has picked and trained a wonderful staff. The food is great and local people regularly dine there. At the end of the day we would enjoy our time in the bar with a great bartender. The location is a easy 15 min walk to the beach or the local market. The taxi will take you anywhere in town for $1.00 and a tip would be nice. We couldn't have picked a better place for us in Manta.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AKroamer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manta hotels
1.1 mi away
Balandra Hotel
Balandra Hotel
#1 of 14 in Manta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Manta
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vistalmar
Hotel Vistalmar
#4 of 14 in Manta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Nazo Hotel
Nazo Hotel
#7 of 14 in Manta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#5 of 14 in Manta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mantahost Hotel
Mantahost Hotel
#2 of 14 in Manta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lun Fun Manta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lun Fun Manta

Property: Hotel Lun Fun Manta
Address: Avenida 11 Calle 2 | Manta, Manabi, Manta 130802, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Manta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lun Fun Manta 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In La Ensenadita district in Manta, surrounds this modern and cozy hotel. Its decoration is as much excellent as its location; the 41 rooms as well as the corridors, the front desk and specially the Restaurant, emphasize an elegant style without pretensions.We have taken care in every detail in order to assure that your stay in The LUN FUN Hotel will be relaxed and comfortable. Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lun Fun Manta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lun Fun Manta Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing