We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondeful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Amira in Salinas, Ecuador
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Salinas
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Just returned from Salinas Nov 19, 2011. Amira was a great place to stay. Had a wonderful staff of workers and a fantastic owner that made our stay their so welcoming. Would highly recommend stay at the Amira while in Salinas. Great room & food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony...Very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 795Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2010

We stayed in the Amira Hotel for one night in March, 2010. The hotel is charming with beautiful flowers surrounding the perimeter and a lovely pool. I think it was a private home at one time. Our room was large with 2 small balconies and a vaulted ceiling. We loved the setting but there was no internet in the room and no safe. It is not on the beach but the location is quiet. Our friends were staying in the Barcelo, so we moved there for 2 nights. Bad move! The Barcelo is just another big hotel, 4 times the cost and the pool closes at 7pm! The Amira is a much better choice.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank viastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

This is a great place to stay for a week or so.this hotel is very clean and well kept.the rooms are spotless with good quit A/C.TV programing is all in spanish.The pool area is maintained and nicely landscaped.Great fresh fruit at breakfast.Most meals where above average.Service was excellent,but you"ll need to ask for coffee.1/2 block from beach.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank louienanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

A very moderately priced small hotel one block from the beach. I, traveling alone, paid $42.00 including ALL meals. The attractive hotel features a pool, air conditioning, large rooms with a high 12 ft. + ceiling, TV (only local in Spanish), a one computer business area but also wi-fi Internet access, a helpful staff (Dionicio, the manager I believe, speaks English), and a good sized lobby or lounging area. Most importantly, it's got style and charm, a welcome home type of feeling. Did I mention clean and secure -- unless you need to be right on the beach, I think the Amira is a fine choice.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alanalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Hotel Amira-Salinas, Ecuador

Hotel Amira is an oasis in an otherwise desert of modern accommodations in Salinas.
We arrived in Salinas looking to check into a modest B&B . Having been spoiled by
Casa Ordonez in Cuenca, this proved to be an impossible task.
I first found hotel San Francisco 2, and went to investigate. I found it to be
old and in much need of a face-lift. As with many of the hotels I previewed in Salinas, they tend to live off their “reputations” that were posted eons ago. At $45.00 a night plus taxes for two, it was out of line. I left disappointed.
While walking around the “town” (we will get to that later), we came across the boutique
Hotel Amira, a beautifully restored casa with restaurant located a block away
from the beach.The grounds were professionally landscaped. There were flowing vines of bougainvillea surrounding the property in a rainbow of colors.
We quickly checked in and took the required three meal plan for $35.00pp..
Our room was spacious and sunny with a vaulted ceiling and double French doors.
The bed was firm and comfortable. We had A/C and a modern bathroom with plenty
of hot water. As for our meals, unfortunately, they seemed to be hit or miss.
The food quality and portions were inconsistent. I had originally thought this was due to the owners son (who is the Chef) being on vacation, but he returned during our stay, and it made no difference at all. It was obvious the restaurant lacks a professionally trained chef. This hotel has been up and running for over two years. They have the hotel part down pat, but they need to improve on what they consider a restaurant.
As for Salinas, (unless you miss Mexican fishing villages from the 1980’s) do not go! Besides the small boardwalk, (Malecon), that is dotted with restaurant employees hawking you to eat, there is not much else to see or do. The streets are gaping with holes, broken cement, and debris. Behind the strip ,all the streets are unpaved compacted dirt. The town is made up of half built cement and stick homes. The rains of wealth have certainly not sprinkled anywhere other than the high-rises along the beach. Chipipe beach next to the Naval base is the cleanest because it’s in the residential area.
Unless you have a lot of experienced traveling under your belt, think twice about making a stop in Salinas , Ecuador; it is off, off, off, the beaten track.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MaryElizabeth41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

In May after a very busy trip to Peru we needed a few days to relax at the beach, and booked tickets to Ecuado before doing much research into where we would go after landing at Guayaquil. My bottom line on Salinas is don't go during the off season, and don't go expecting a true cosmopolitan resort town, despite what the guidebooks say. However if you go there, this is a lovely hotel and I didn't see anyplace that looked nicer along the Malecon.

A friend from Quito suggested a few cities including Salinas which he compared to Ocean City, Maryland...fairly accurate! But we went there since it was relatively close to Guayaquil and we didn't feel like another long journey. Late May was the offseason and the town was deserted on a gorgeous Friday afternoon and evening (as Ocean City, MD would be...in November).

The Amira was recommended on Trip Advisor. Not wanting to brave the bus overloaded with luggage, we asked about taxi prices and as they were much cheaper then renting a car, we took a taxi there. We left the address in Peru and had a hard time finding the hotel. It is actually about 5 blocks past the yacht club and not too many people know where it is, although our driver just kept asking until he found another cabbie who pointed the way. We also kept an eye out for the Caridi, but we didn't see that until we were on the way out. It didn't seem to be near much of anything and didn't look like it was beign well kepts, so we were glad we didn't stay there.

First impressions: the staff at the Amira were incredibly helpful, the outdoors and our room in the hotel were beautiful, and we would have loved to stay, but we wanted to get out of Salinas. The pool area had plenty of chairs and was very relaxing. We watched teams of skydivers who were landing nearby (the military base presumably). We ate dinner at a seafood place on the Malecon designed like a boat...it was ok but underwhelming considering what we paid (US prices). So while we thought we were just getting a sales pitch from one of the employees that the hotel restaurant was the best place to eat, that very well could have been a true statement. We didn't eat breakfast in the morning because we wanted to move on to Montanita instead. A review of the Baja Montanita will be posted under the Montanita hotels (short answer: that was the right move!)

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WeddingTraveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

A block from the beach, 5 minutes from the Salinas Yacht Club, nice staff, excellent food and price. It is a gem!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TitaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salinas hotels
146.3 mi away
Chescos Hostel & Hotel
Chescos Hostel & Hotel
#2 of 15 in Salinas
154 reviews
145.9 mi away
Hotel Palmira Inn
Hotel Palmira Inn
#3 of 15 in Salinas
30 reviews
146.1 mi away
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Hotel
#12 of 15 in Salinas
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
145.1 mi away
Greenfield's Hotel Spa - Eventos
0 mi away
Hotel Marvento II
Hotel Marvento II
#9 of 15 in Salinas
80 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Caridi
Hotel Caridi
#6 of 15 in Salinas
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amira in Salinas, Ecuador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amira in Salinas, Ecuador

Address: Eloy Alfaro, b/w 4th & 5th St in Chipipe sector | diagonal to the El Tiburon building, Salinas 241550, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Salinas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range: £65 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New, beautiful boutique hotel only one block from the best beach in Salinas, Ecuador. We are a cozy, comfortable, yet quaint villa-turned-hotel with 22 guestrooms. You can enjoy and relax by the pool, in your air-conditioned room or while dining in our distinguished restaurant. Enjoy our personalized service in an elegant setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Amira in Salinas, Ecuador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing