We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Agee with most of what, "very nice but" said with a few differences” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amira in Salinas, Ecuador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Amira in Salinas, Ecuador
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Salinas
Manzanillo, Mexico
Level Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“I Agee with most of what, "very nice but" said with a few differences”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I do not think the hotel is well located. It is a 20 minute walk to the Sanias Malecon. There is no place to eat near at hand. It is two blocks from the beach and noisy as all heck. I checked the rates at an hotel right in the heart of the action and they were the same - hotel bleu. The bed is not firm and sags badly so sleep does not come easily. Breakfast was good, and they offered me real coffee, unlike the other reviewer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p0liner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    29
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
28
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpine, Wyoming
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This small hotel is vey pleasant. Beautiful grounds with abundant flowers; very nice pool area, and although the breakfast features instant coffee and juice, it was plentiful and filling. The rooms are very basic ( only one straight backed chair, for instance), no cups or glasses provided, but clean and the bed was comfortable. It is well located a short distance to the beach. BUT... Vey noisy as it sits between the two main streets in Salinas and traffic noise is an issue. Also, be careful if you want to enjoy a cocktail or glass of wine in your room. As are no cups or glasses in the room, when we asked the front desk for some in order to enjoy a glass,of wine, we were told that drinking alcohol in the room was not permitted (even though this was not posted with other room regulations) and if we wanted to bring our wine to the public area, it would cost 6.00. In addition, the front desk staff (3 different employees) were much more interested in their computer screens that the guests standing in front of them. All in all, a beautiful, small hotel that was unable to meet expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wydafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This a lovely place located away from the noise of the Malecon which is still within easy walking distance and the restaurants. The hotel is fronted on both sides by two busy one-way streets which can be a little noisy but if the air-conditioning is working, that knocks the noise right down. The wi-fi only works in the lobby and if it's after breakfast, it's standing room only in there. Breakfast was excellent with freshly squeezed orange juice, eggs, freshly baked bread with cheese, and a fresh fruit salad. We had only two gripes and one was the pricing which consistently showed $35-$40 per night, however when the gringo's showed up it went to $40/PERSON/NIGHT. A little high considering the season. The other problem was at check-out and guess what, the credit card machine wouldn't work, so cash only. We got a slight discount for cash but that was it. Next time we'll have our friends there make the reservations.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SailorBruceSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

We were surprised as how few hotel options there are in this town, and the few there were weren't too appealing. We settled on Hotel Amira even though it is located a ways south of the main section of the malecon, and there were no restuarants close by. The hotel grounds were surrounded by a high wall that included a secure parking area for our truck.

Our room was very plain, cracks in the wall and paint peeling. The air conditioning was completly ineffective. The Wifi was very poor, although we were only 20 feet from the router.

The lobby area was nice, as were the grounds with lots of flowers, and the pool was nice as well. The 3pm checkout was great, allowing lots of time to enjoy the beach a block away without worrying about the clock.

The included breakfast was OK, but I don't understand why in a country that grows coffee, most places serve instant. The staff was helpful, but not particularly friendly. Overall, not worth the price, but not much to choose from.

Room Tip: Make sure the AC and Wifi work in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rbyrnes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

The grounds and rooms at Hotel Amira are very nice. The rooms are big, with A/C and hot water. Even though my room was on the street side, with the a/c on, and after 11 pm, noise was not an issue. The staff were attentive and polite, although they spoke little English. As others mentioned, the hotel is at the Chipipe end of the malecon and a bit of a walk to the restaurants and the main beach area. The breakfast was the same everyday and often cold. Overall, this is a very nice, quiet hotel near the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmOPKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

This little hotel is located less than a block away from the best beach in Salinas, next to the naval base. You can hear the ocean, but it is, unfortunately, blocked by the monstrous high rise buildings with no more than the 2-3% occupancy rate.

The hotel has a very clean and pretty large swimming pool, and 2 portable steam baths. The grounds are wonderfully maintained. The rooms, all with private bathrooms/showers are spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. The stuff is very friendly and obliging. Their breakfast is WONDERFUL - fresh fruit, different every day: the eggs cooked to order, freshly squeezed juice, freshly baked bread, cheese, and GREAT coffee,

The owner, Dionisi, who speaks Enlglish, goes out of his way to make sure that his guests are comfortable. He offered to drive me to the bank machine, took me to the bus station, gave recommendations for good restaurants, etc.

I first came to Amira, thinking that I would stay there for 2-3 nights and then move on to Olon, which I did, to discover an awful hotel, in which I declined to stay and fled to Montanita. But my good memories of Amira brought me back to there, for another five nights. Most certainly will be back soon!

In off season, and if you pay cash, the rate was $28/day, for a single person, all inclusive. Check the hotel site for special offers and remember that, in Ecuador, there are discounts for the cash payments, which they call "effectivo"

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank movingtoEcuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed here with friends while traveling the Ecuador coastal region. After looking at several others we selected this one and we are very pleased we did. The hotel is small, but very friendly with a great building and beautiful grounds. The flowers are growing all around the entire perimeter and are well tended and maintained. Even on a rather cool evening sittiong out by the pool for drinks was great. Price is also right for off-season. Definitely would return to this little charmer!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are better. The hotel is far enough from the beach itself and from the center of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salinas hotels
146.3 mi away
Chescos Hostel & Hotel
Chescos Hostel & Hotel
#2 of 17 in Salinas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
145.1 mi away
Greenfield's Hotel Spa - Eventos
145.9 mi away
Hotel Palmira Inn
Hotel Palmira Inn
#3 of 17 in Salinas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
146.0 mi away
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Hotel
#10 of 17 in Salinas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marvento
Hotel Marvento
#9 of 17 in Salinas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
146.4 mi away
Cocos Hotel
Cocos Hotel
#16 of 17 in Salinas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amira in Salinas, Ecuador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amira in Salinas, Ecuador

Property: Hotel Amira in Salinas, Ecuador
Address: Eloy Alfaro, (b/w 4th & 5th St) in Chipipe sector | diagonal to the El Tiburon building, Salinas 241550, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Salinas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New, beautiful boutique hotel only one block from the best beach in Salinas, Ecuador. We are a cozy, comfortable, yet quaint villa-turned-hotel with 22 guestrooms. You can enjoy and relax by the pool, in your air-conditioned room or while dining in our distinguished restaurant. Enjoy our personalized service in an elegant setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Amira in Salinas, Ecuador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing