We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hosteria Ecologica El Faro
Ranked #1 of 43 Salinas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Gabriel was super helpful and the place was awesome! We didn't expect to be able to actually hang out with the animals, but we were pleasantly surprised. We were the only ones present at the hotel, so Gabriel showed us around Salinas and actually took us to a yacht club and private beach. He made us feel terribly special! Haha. It was a little pricey, but it was well worth it after staying in a lot of dodgey hostels. Stay here and you won't regret it! A lot of care goes into the guests and their time in Salinas.
-Petra, Kamille & Peter

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    19
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
67
38
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We spent two nights at el Faro toward the end of June and got more than we bargained for. The owner, Gabriel, went out of his way to show us around and take us places. We got to see things we didn't even know about, we were taken to a beachfront restaurant for the best seafood I've had in recent memory, and he even arranged a last-minute whale watching trip and drove us to meet the boat. Gabriel shared a wealth of information that helped us have a great time in Salinas. The breakfast each day was wonderful with fresh bread, eggs cooked to order, fresh squeezed juice and the best coffee we've had in Ecuador. And finally, the animals: We were met at the door by one of 5 friendly dogs that live there. In addition there is a tortoise couple and their 4-week-old hatchlings, birds (lorikeets, peacocks and peahens, geese, a macaw, toucans and more), and the playful little squirrel monkeys. Those monkeys could entertain you for hours. All in all, it is unique and one of the best places we've stayed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mudge2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A fantastic place to stay. The owner, Gabriel, makes you welcome from the very start, showing you around the lodge and the various animal occupants. Some animals are caged but all are fantastically looked after - Gabriel has taken them in when unwanted or ill and cared for them from that point onwards.

Where it is possible for the animals to be released (for example, monkeys), then the right time will be chosen and the animals and birds then roam free around the lodge. When eating breakfast in the courtyard, the occasional monkey, peacock, tortoise or beagle will come to say hello. Toucans sing in the background, whilst the more vocal parrots shout "Hola!".

Whilst we were at the lodge (6 days), 4 baby tortoises were born. Gabriel and Julio were delighted with this and spent a day putting up a substantial enclosure for them - large, with shrubs, bark chippings and shade - to give them maximum protection. This sums up the ideals of the lodge - investing income to improve the surroundings of the animals.

The rooms are excellent - spotlessly clean, spacious, well decorated and private. Breakfast is also good - Ecuadorian bread and coffee, eggs and freshly made fruit juice - a different one every day.

Gabriel is fantastic - he gave us a tour of the town to enable us to get our bearings. He gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants and used his undoubted local influence to get us into one of the best spots in town. Nothing was too much trouble for both he and Julio (his assistant) and our time at El Faro was a delight as a result.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cockers78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

El Faro is located along the beachfront a few kilometers away from the "Malecón" where you find the main beach and most larger hotels in Salinas.

This means that you'll need to take a cab ($2) or walk to get there, but what you lose in distance to city center you win in charm and energy.

The place is small with a beautiful garden full of trees, plants, and animals. There are turtles, monkeys, peacocks, parrots, tucanes, dogs, etc. At the end of the garden their is a two stores outdoor bar with self service (at least when I was there out was self service). Sitting there or lying in the hammock with a beer and a book, while listening at the waves from the Pacific Ocean is probably among the most relaxing things you will ever do.

This for sure is a place to relax rather than party.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I am the manager of the British Junior surf team and we came to Salinas to compete in the international surfing association world championships. We stayed at Ecologica el faro as our team hotel for two weeks during the event. We undoubtably had the best accommodation out of any of the 33 nations competing at the event. From the minute we booked, Gabriel who owns the hotel was a tremendous help. He sorted out anything the team needed before we arrived in Ecuador, and the whole time we stayed at the hotel he made sure our stay was incredible. The hotel is beautiful and a perfect place to hang out and relax. Its unique surroundings of trees, flowers, plants and lots of beautiful animals make it a fantastic place to stay. If you are coming to salinas i would strongly recommend that this is the place you choose for your accommodation. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Rarely do you come across such a remarkable place. Located on the beach, but secluded in all of the flora planted and preserved by the owner Gabriel. The rooms are large and wonderfully furnished and maintained. Pride in his work and Hosteria is evident everywhere. The animals that he cares for are very accessible to guests and you can find no better host than Gabriel and his staff. This is a must destination if you are visiting Salinas and not wanting to stay on the Molecon or in the larger hotels. However, if those are your preference you must take some time to visit and have Gabriel show you the grounds. Meals are prepared for Hosteria guests, but if you call ahead you can enjoy a wonderful menu. One of the high points of our stay in Salinas.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was our first stop in Ecuador and it was a nice, soft landing. The host, Gabriel Faidutti, was incredibly gracious and accommodating, going so far as to provide a brief tour of Salinas, excellent restaurant recommendations and share his personal knowledge of the area. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable with hot water and air conditioning. The exotic and domestic animals on the property were a nice touch, as was the location on the beach. The food was delicious,too, - GREAT breakfasts and a delicious lunch and a cold beers overlooking the ocean. If you're in Salinas, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank llcoolbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salinas
2.6 mi away
Chescos Hostel & Hotel
Chescos Hostel & Hotel
#2 of 16 in Salinas
116 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Palmira Inn
Hotel Palmira Inn
#3 of 16 in Salinas
22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Greenfield's Hotel Spa - Eventos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Royal Decameron Punta Centinela
2.8 mi away
Cocos Hotel
Cocos Hotel
#15 of 16 in Salinas
95 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salinas
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Ecologica El Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Ecologica El Faro

Property: Hosteria Ecologica El Faro
Address: Ciudadela La Milina | Mz. G entrando por la UTE, hacia el mar, Salinas, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Salinas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hosteria Ecologica El Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing