We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much potential”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Barcelo Salinas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barcelo Salinas
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Salinas
Certificate of Excellence
Beaverton OR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So much potential”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This hotel should not be rated 5 star or even 3 or 4. The building is poorly maintained, looks tired and worn out. Thankfully, the bed was comfortable and the view was great. The food was poor quality, all tasted the same and was served for several meals. In our first room, several things did not work, ie. the remote, the safe. My husband spend a couple hours getting things fixed only to have us move to another room. Then the day before we checked out, we were told we had to move to yet another room because that room was booked. Other than a good night's sleep, this whole experience was bad.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    152
    99
    53
    35
See reviews for
269
159
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakbank
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Neither my wife or I speak Spanish. Maybe that was a problem? Not sure. From morning coffee to wine with lunch to afternoon at the bar, it always seemed like we were bothering the wait staff. We are not big drinkers but found it annoying and often gave up and moved on without a drink. The food was decent and restocked buffet often. Never had much luck ordering an omelette as the cook did not seem very interested. There was plenty of different local dishes to try so no problem there. AC, showers and bed were all good. Only complaint about the shower is that if you are more than 5'2" you would not be able to stand under it!
The hotel looks in bad need of paint and general upkeep overall. Walking down the hallway to the room looked very dingy.
The pools seem to be clean and well cared for, never a problem to find a chair on the beach or poolside. If these guys would do a bit of maintenance, renovation and some staff training in how to care for guests needs it could be much better. As it stands it is an average 2 1/2 Star.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank badavy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashdod, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I stayed in this hotel few times,room is big but noisy,bed is not so comfortable.
hotel is all inclusive but food was terrible.Service was average ,but maintenance of hotel is horrible. for 3 star hotel may be this is good value but not for 5 star...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markrosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The hotel is fine, but can do better if they improve the quality of food. The location is amazing, in front of the beach, good rooms, two pools and good spa. Don't expect to be served international cuisine, but I think all inclusive hotels are similar. The beds are great. If you dont like noise ask for rooms on 6th floor or above. Great A/C

Room Tip: 6th floor and up, 615, 611,are oceanfront really nice view. Corner suites on the left are larger bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDD1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

I just came back from the barcelo, was amazing, the staff was super friendly, the system all cinclusive is perfect, great tours and good variaty of food in the buffet and the best thing that you can see how fesh the food is, the price was excellent"great value "

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Renzo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Over priced for the area, the food was horrible, and unless you voiced displeasure the service was the worst I have had at a hotel. We were given the wrong room key, followed by an occupied room, followed by a room with double beds, then our key stopped working half way through the trip. All of this was followed up by a laugh and a sorry again from the women working the front desk. The casino was shut down by govt order but it was still being advertised so we did not know this, several bars and restaurants in the hotel were closed since it was not high season yet we were never told this, and half of the lights in the lobby were always off possibly to save on electricity. Lastly the pool was not heated and I caught the bartender giving me a drink with no rum since he was out.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NY2001NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

we visited Ecuador, in August this year (2012) We saw the Amazon River and the Cloud Forest, and decided to finish our holiday with a 'chill-out' few days at the pacific coast.
The first sight of the Hotel is quite impressive, a towering edifice overlooking the sea, however it soon becomes clear that only the first few floors are in fact the hotel ,,, the rest is for luxury apartments that do not even share the entrance.. We were checked in and shown to our room, the paint was peeling from the door frames, the net curtains were mouldy, there were no towels in the shower room, The whole room seemed very tired and uncared for, we returned to the reception and said we wanted another room. The only way we could move was to upgrade. We had no option but to accept this as we didn't want to be traipsing round Guayaquil searching for another hotel. The internet was a constant battle, while its not usually important to have this connection , we needed to touch base with home as we had elderly parents that were alone while we were on holiday. It is important however to point out that the staff in the hotel were a lot better than the Hotel itself, pleasant and courteous, happy to help and always had time for the guests, the food was good and plentiful, the bar at the poolside was convenient for drinks and snacks.
The advertised 'Entertainment' at night however never materialized, the large hotel bar was deserted from 9pm onwards.
While this is advertised as a 'Five-Star' establishment, anyone looking for five-star surroundings would be advised to go elsewhere.
last year we were so happy with our stay in the Hilton in Costa Rica, we assumed that the five-star award would be similar in this hotel, we were SO!! wrong.
The usual trappings of the up-graded room had to be asked for, I.E. Coffee for the filter machine, cups for the coffee to go in, once again towels for the bathrooms, the fridge in the room sounded like a small jet taking off, the patio doors on the terrace did not lock, leaving the room open while we were else-where. All in all, a seriously disappointing end to what had been a great holiday, the Barcelo chain should look closely at this hotel as it leaves customers determined to never visit another Barcelo establishment. I speak as a businessman that has used the Barcelo in San Pedro, Spain for clients visiting Europe, this hotel is a fine example of the chain.
The Barcelo Colon Miramar, Ecuador Five-Star I think not!!!!!

Room Tip: check your room before signing in, the pool noise is very bad, the air con is incredibly noisy. many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foamdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salinas
0.6 mi away
Chescos Hostel & Hotel
Chescos Hostel & Hotel
#2 of 16 in Salinas
116 reviews
1.2 mi away
Greenfield's Hotel Spa - Eventos
0.2 mi away
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salinas
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palmira Inn
Hotel Palmira Inn
#3 of 16 in Salinas
22 reviews
11.1 mi away
Royal Decameron Punta Centinela
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marvento
Hotel Marvento
#9 of 16 in Salinas
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Salinas

Property: Barcelo Salinas
Address: Malecon Between 38th & 40th, Salinas 9999, Ecuador (Formerly Barcelo Colon Miramar)
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Salinas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Salinas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Barcelo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Colon Miramar Hotel Salinas
Barcelo Hotel Salinas
Barcelo Hotel Colon Miramar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing