We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reborn escape”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windrift Resort Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed here for a portion of the July Fourth holiday. We were able to get a very clean sophisticated suite with a view of the beach and ocean. The Windrift has been totally redone and has a Miami Beach atmosphere. Elegant styling. Not our parents Jersey shore!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north side of the building - no encumbered view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

I am here as I write this. It has been redone from top to bottom. It is gorgeous. For all of the travelers who have always loved this place, now there is more to love. The rooms are now modern and look like a new boutique hotel in NYC. The public spaces are drop dead gorgeous with an level. Restaurants and bars are amazing. Same great place with everything new and very comfortable. Wow!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rozbscoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

The Windrift is and always will be the most fabulous hotel on the island. My family stated vacationing in Stone Harbor in 1964, but ALWAYS DINED AT THE WINDRIFT! So proud and excited each year now that I have my own family, to let them also experience the beautiful shore! EVEN BEFORE MY OWN FAMILY MOVED BACK EAST FROM SAN DIEGO, we would make the trip to Avalon to stay at the WINDRIFT FOR 3 weeks! Nothing compares to the gorgeous beach, fabulous dining, including YUMMY sushi bar, outside dining overlooking the ocean, fantastic wood-fire pizza for the children, the VERY BEST CHICKEN CHEESESTEAKS, my son's comment, and the unparalleled DELICIOUS food served in the dining room in the evening. OUR FAMILY EATS AT THE WINDRIFT EVERYDAY AND NIGHT. THE ENTERTAINMENT HAS LIVE BANDS MOST EVERY NIGHT IN THE SUMMER. WHERE ELSE ON THE ISLAND CAN YOU FIND THAT? The college staff is very courteous and they work their tails off.

Even though we recently bought a condo next door, we visit the Windrift twice daily for lunch and dinner. It is that fabulous!!

Not only would I recommend it to strangers, but I have recommended it to our neighbors in Pittsburgh, that are diehard Outer Banks, NC fans. They visited for the first time last year and fell in love also.

Beautiful new pool/ spa and I can't wait to see the finished result at the resort summer of 2012. It will be gorgeous! Best location on the island, with rec center 1 block away. Terrific family resort!! Doesn't get better than this!!!!

ENJOY!
Diane Mackie
Washington, Pa:)))

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dimitch10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The rooms have been very nicely updated, great bathroom and shower, comfortable beds and reasonable rates. Great location also, right on the beach. Breakfast vouchers for $10 off are a good deal, and breakfast only cost us $3. We left a few items behind which we called about and the staff located them (and another item we didn't realize we left) and shipped them to us promptly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We were lucky enough to spend Easter weekend at the Windrift!

The new rooms are wonderful! Gone are the tiny bathrooms that you could barely turn around in, and instead there is a beautiful tiled bathroom with a triple size shower stall, and updated sink area. Towels, linens, pillows, furniture are also upgraded, and the resort can now take its place right along side Marriott hotels, which we rely on for consistent luxury when we travel. Our bed was so comfortable, I wanted to take it home with me!!

My photo's of our room did not do the room justice, so I will not post them. You will just have to go and see for yourself. The bar area on the second floor of the Windrift overlooking the ocean (the old sundeck) is undergoing a complete transition! I can not wait to see the finished renovation inside and out! We watched the workmen all weekend long finishing up the outside cedar siding! Wait until you see the third floor addition, it certainly looked awesome from the outside. They are working hard to make all ready for a smashing summer season!

The bar area next to the outdoor bar, now sports an open hearth pizza station and comfortable seating, great for family gatherings. The restaurant with Pete overseeing everything is still producing great food, Out favorite entertainers Jimmy and Radar are there waiting for you, providing music for every age group. The Windrift staff, the sun and beach have gotten off to an early start this year because of our wonderful early spring weather. Why don't you stop reading and make your reservations for your own get-a-way, you know you need a break!

Our family is now on the third generation of Windrift vacations. There are many reasons. The staff is well trained, they make us feel special. it is within 2.5 hours of our home in North West Jersey. The food and drinks are great, and you need not get in your car to get them! The pool, the ocean and the park for the younger set are just steps away. The towns of Stone Harbor and Avalon are awesome and provide a variety of world class dining if you wish to venture out. The Back Yard and the Sea Grill are our personal favorites.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank booknanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My group of girlfriends (9 total) have been coming to the Windrift every spring when they open on the weekends before the season gets going. The location is ideal, on the beach, at the end of Avalon and near the shops of Stone Harbor. We have stayed in the 4 bedroom, 4 bath condo which is spacious and comfortable. The staff is friendly and accomodating. The restaurant connected to the hotel has great breakfasts at a very reasonable price. We have never had dinner there, so do not know what the menu is like for other meals. There is a lounge with live music in the evenings. It is a nice place to come back to year after year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathyb17325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We had a wonderful time. The rooms were nice, the maid service was thorough and prompt. The food in the restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced. The service was friendly and attentive. They have recently renovated their pool which is quite beautiful and they have added a hot tub spa at one end. Since the weather during our stay was not great for the beach, the heated pool and spa were a delight. We were there on an after labor day package making for an especially good value. The hotel is nicely situated right on the beach and there are great ocean views from most rooms. We found the staff willing and ready to go out of their way to make our stay special.

Room Tip: The ocean front suites are wonderful! But most rooms have a nice ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avalon
0.1 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
0.2 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#2 of 6 in Stone Harbor
274 reviews
9.1 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,236 reviews
12.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windrift Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windrift Resort Hotel

Address: 105 80th St, 105 80th Street, Avalon, NJ 08202-1037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your dream oceanfront resort in Avalon. Located on the beach at 80th Street. Hotel Accommodations include 72 standard hotel rooms, 6 oceanfront suites, and 10 condominiums. Featuring a zero entry pool with hot tub Dine with your family in one of our 3 restaurants. Our Level 2 restaurant and tiki bar feature the only oceanfront dining on the island. Enjoy our Brick Oven Pizza kitchen, Sushi and Oyster Bar. Our 5 lounges allow for all your entertainment needs, whether that be at our piano bar or by the stage with a live band. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windrift Hotel Avalon
Windrift Resort Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing