We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windrift Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We just returned home from a two night stay at the Windrift and will NEVER stay there again. The room, although recently remodeled, had a rug that constantly felt damp; a refrigerator that did not work; a teeny balcony that was constantly wet due to the drip from the air conditioner from the room above. Also, we were on the first floor, directly across from the kitchen door of the Golden Inn. Every morning, the trash truck came to empty their enormous trash receptacles that were right outside our room! The pool was so dirty with hair and sand that my daughter did not want to swim in it! I could go on and on but you get the picture. If the price was $100 per night, I'd understand the sub-par quality, but $350 per night???? And that was just a basic room. I can't imagine what it costs for an ocean view. Total rip-off. NEVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the beach if not ocean front. If you can't get one, don't book this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    54
    26
    15
    22
See reviews for
73
46
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Overall, had a very good stay at the Windrift. However, we were shocked when we arrived to see that the beach directly in front of the Windrift was closed for repairs!! I wanted to mention this in a review so others would not be as surprised as we were. Yes , we realized, with Hurricane Sandy, we might expect this , it was somewhat upsetting :(

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fruitca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown,pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Warning Beach project makes this hotel not worth the Money.
We stayed here last week and the first day the restoration project was on 83rd. By the last day it was 81rst and is headed to 78th according to the locals. It is a month behind schedule and it makes the beach and ocean noisy and unusuable Black silt in ocean and bad undertow.
Front desk acted surprised by project but everyone knew it was coming. No discount allowed at this already overpriced hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Lots of "no's". No espresso drinks, no orders to go from restaurant, no towels yet (11 am!!!) for the pool. Strange things like wait staff asking for bills to be paid before dinner over because switching shifts, wait staff answering "I don't know" to questions about food and drink instead of going to find the answer. Nothing so egregious but annoyances. Pool doesn't open til 10 am! Being chased after for coffee drinks I purchased because I guess my name doesn't match name on room even though it is my credit card on room. No ice coffee!!!!!!! It's 100 degrees out!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank safarigirlVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester County, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We spent 4th of July week at the Drift in a completely remodeled room. The room was everything we could have hoped for and more including microwave, fridge, super comfy bed and a make-up area apart from the bathroom. Beautiful in every detail and Philosophy bath products. Heavenly! We had most of our meals on-site and never wanted/needed a change of menu or venue as everything from the great breakfasts to sushi to burgers at the pool was delish. The staff could not have been more accomodating or friendly. Thanks to all who made our vacation a memorable one. See you next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmack954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel is located in one of the best beach areas of South Jersey. It is on the beach, and has a pool, several restaurants at the facility, a rooftop sitting area and totally renovated rooms.
The price is way over the top for fun in the sun but worth it if you are visiting your best friend and sisters who live at Jersey shore! They want to come visit you instead of running around visiting them. The new facility is gorgeous and a wonderful location to see Stone Harbour Fourth of July fireworks display! The fireworks are on 81st and the beach.

Room Tip: Ocean view great not as expensive as oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k_madden50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Windrift rennovation is great but it is clear to me that they made a decision to make their money on the adult crowd visiting the restaurants and bars. We had a beach front room which would have been nice if it wasn't for the people literally eating on the terrace right next to our balcony even at 730 in the morning. At night with our sound machines turned up loud you could still hear the loud bass beat of the bands until 2am or so. No kids menu or ability to get room service for the kids at night just adds to my belief that this hotel is not interested in families. The food is so so...Sushi was pretty good other lunch items average. Drinks are expensive but that's a given. It was nice to have pool side service after a long beach day and the staff was great. Cleaning of rooms was just OK. Room was clean when we arrived. I would stay there with the family for a short stay but more than a night or two is pushing it. Another thing is parking if you have more than one car. Be prepared to drive around for ever looking for a space due to the bar crowd. No valet when you check in for your bags. Had to lug the bags up ourselves using the pull carts. For the price, they could at least have a full time baggage guy on staff. A week long stay with five or more would be rough even with the great location and updated ameneties.

Room Tip: get a one bedroom away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spackman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avalon
0.1 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
0.9 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#1 of 6 in Stone Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
9.1 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
12.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windrift Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windrift Resort Hotel

Property: Windrift Resort Hotel
Address: 105 80th St, 105 80th Street, Avalon, NJ 08202-1037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your dream oceanfront resort in Avalon. Located on the beach at 80th Street. Hotel Accommodations include 72 standard hotel rooms, 6 oceanfront suites, and 10 condominiums. Featuring a zero entry pool with hot tub Dine with your family in one of our 3 restaurants. Our Level 2 restaurant and tiki bar feature the only oceanfront dining on the island. Enjoy our Brick Oven Pizza kitchen, Sushi and Oyster Bar. Our 5 lounges allow for all your entertainment needs, whether that be at our piano bar or by the stage with a live band. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windrift Hotel Avalon
Windrift Resort Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing