We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It'se beach”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windrift Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Okay you're at the beach. Keep all this in mind as you read the following. The winddrift is oceanfront. For that you pay $420.00 for a small room. Now this was over Labor Day but still outrageous for what you get. There is a heated pool with a hot tub attached. It was very hard for me to utilize the hot tub. They have a step down but no railing. So if you are like me and a bit handicapped this is an accident waiting to happen. Its hard to sit down in it anyhow for all the young children in it. There is no lifeguard on site to tell the kids to get out of it. I saw no supervision of anything at the pool except for the towels. Oh, about these precious towels, you are given a card at check-in which entitles you to 2 towels at the pool. You have to turn in your towels to get your card back. If you don't turn it in---$25.00 dollars charged to your account. Same with beach tags. You are charged $50.00 for a beach tag. Lose it and you are charged for the tag. At check-out you will notice all the usual taxes on your bill; but a luxury tax? There was a $29.00 luxury tax tagged on there for each night. Why don't they just tell you your room is going to be $500.00 per night? The breakfast is nice if you sit out on the oceanfront deck. It took quite a while to get it however due to the hotel being packed. Prices for other food poolside is very overpriced. A mixed drink was $9.50 for a drink in a small plastic cup. Parking is horrendous. We are handicapped but those spaces are taken by the luxury cars without a handicapped placard or license. No one was there to police this. The rooms are newly renovated but we had no bathtub, which I prefer. You have a small deck but can't see the beach, at least from the 2nd floor. Make sure you don't get room 208 across from the laundry room. Maids are in there at 6:00am waking you up with their chatter and work making noises. They are also knocking at your door before 10:00am trying to make up your room. Hey but your're at the beach. I guess we are to put up with the horrendous charges and lack of supervision of everything but the towels. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Don't settle for 208 across from the laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat16648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

The rooms were ridiculously overpriced, small and had terrible views. Housekeeping staff were amazing, but management was terrible and did not handle an emergency with a guest well at all. No one even checked to make sure the guest was ok after the emergency. Appalled by management and overall experience at the Windrift.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allie123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in F2 in the anchorage building. We come here every year and stay in the same unit. We love the location and the recent renovation of the restraint and bar. However the room needs to be updated. Everything is the same as it has always been. Same sheets, mattress, couch, and rug. But I do recommend staying at the Winddrift. It is beach front and has a nice pool. Also it has a very nice park and recreational center. PLEASE RENOVATE!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepperkreuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Modern appearance and stylish ambiance. Definitely a hot spot on Tuesday nights for their wing and beer pitcher specials- place was packed!! Had a live band and great atmosphere. The rooms were modern and clean. Did have a view of the parking lot, but wasn't bothered by it. It is a bit pricy for what you get, but considering the surrounding area resorts, it's worth the value. Beach was 10 feet from the lobby. Would come back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 588austind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We've stayed in unit A3 a number of times and the whole family agrees that there isn't one comfortable piece of furniture in the entire place. Bed matresses sag and bounce so no one sleeps well, wooden kitchen chairs that are pure torture to sit on and lean back on. Even the newer couches/chairs aren't comfy. We need a vacation from our vacation - we were tired and sore before we even lugged our stuff to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michele_and_Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We just returned home from a two night stay at the Windrift and will NEVER stay there again. The room, although recently remodeled, had a rug that constantly felt damp; a refrigerator that did not work; a teeny balcony that was constantly wet due to the drip from the air conditioner from the room above. Also, we were on the first floor, directly across from the kitchen door of the Golden Inn. Every morning, the trash truck came to empty their enormous trash receptacles that were right outside our room! The pool was so dirty with hair and sand that my daughter did not want to swim in it! I could go on and on but you get the picture. If the price was $100 per night, I'd understand the sub-par quality, but $350 per night???? And that was just a basic room. I can't imagine what it costs for an ocean view. Total rip-off. NEVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the beach if not ocean front. If you can't get one, don't book this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Overall, had a very good stay at the Windrift. However, we were shocked when we arrived to see that the beach directly in front of the Windrift was closed for repairs!! I wanted to mention this in a review so others would not be as surprised as we were. Yes , we realized, with Hurricane Sandy, we might expect this , it was somewhat upsetting :(

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fruitca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avalon
0.1 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
0.2 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#2 of 6 in Stone Harbor
281 reviews
9.1 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colonial Lodge
Colonial Lodge
#4 of 6 in Stone Harbor
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windrift Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windrift Resort Hotel

Address: 105 80th St, 105 80th Street, Avalon, NJ 08202-1037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your dream oceanfront resort in Avalon. Located on the beach at 80th Street. Hotel Accommodations include 72 standard hotel rooms, 6 oceanfront suites, and 10 condominiums. Featuring a zero entry pool with hot tub Dine with your family in one of our 3 restaurants. Our Level 2 restaurant and tiki bar feature the only oceanfront dining on the island. Enjoy our Brick Oven Pizza kitchen, Sushi and Oyster Bar. Our 5 lounges allow for all your entertainment needs, whether that be at our piano bar or by the stage with a live band. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windrift Hotel Avalon
Windrift Resort Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing